Customer Reviews for

Little Green (Easy Rawlins Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Easy Love

I love the Easy Rawlins series. This one doesn't disappoint! It is a little different from the others but Easy is Easy. Mouse is Mouse and Mosely is Mosely. Enjoy the read. I am about to read it again.

posted by 4881064 on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

At least another ten or more 5 Star ratings from texters/nooker

At least another ten or more 5 Star ratings from texters/nookers that don't mean a thing as far as book reviews go. Please go play your games elsewhere and quit ruining this book review process.

posted by Anonymous on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Easy Love

    I love the Easy Rawlins series. This one doesn't disappoint! It is a little different from the others but Easy is Easy. Mouse is Mouse and Mosely is Mosely. Enjoy the read. I am about to read it again.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Easy is back!

    It is so exciting to read about Easy's return to LA's scene along with his longtime friend, Mouse. I have read all of Walter Mosley's books and he scored a home run again. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fast-paced adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    At least another ten or more 5 Star ratings from texters/nooker

    At least another ten or more 5 Star ratings from texters/nookers that don't mean a thing as far as book reviews go. Please go play your games elsewhere and quit ruining this book review process.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Gator¿s Blood

    “Little Green” by Walter Mosley is the 12th installment in the Easy Rawlins Mysteries. This was the first time I ever read a Walter Mosley novel, so in the beginning of this novel I soon discovered that there must have been quite a cliffhanger from the previous novel, “Blonde Faith.” Nevertheless, I was able to understand what had happened in the previous novel - that Easy was left for dead after running his car off of a cliff.

    Easy is soon found fighting for his life and is in a coma for quite some time. When Easy awakens he finds himself surrounded by family and friends. Although in a lot of pain, he realizes that his life was spared. The questions he asks himself are: why and for what reason? Mouse, his best friend and dangerous sidekick, makes a request of Easy to look into the disappearance of a young black man, Evander ‘Little Green’ Noon. Easy cannot understand what is so important that Mouse would come to him to look into the disappearance, but soon realizes that Mouse has secrets of his own and that Evander’s mother cannot stand Mouse for some inexplicable reason. The question is why? Rising from his bed shortly after coming out of the coma Easy searches the streets of the last known place that Evander was seen, downtown in L.A. where the hippies reside. Easy is about to discover that not only is he searching for Evander but others are too. Why? Will he find him before the ones out to harm him do?

    “Little Green” by Walter Mosley is a very good read. I cannot believe that I have never read anything of his prior to this. After reading the 12th installment in this series I plan to go back and read the series from the very beginning. I have questions about some of his family and other characters. I would like to see how they came to be part of Rawlins’ adopted family. The overall story is interesting because it is a mystery that is set during 1967. Mr. Mosley does a great job in his descriptive narrative of what the streets looked like and the characters during this time frame. It is a very good story and I look forward to picking up more books by Mr. Mosley in the near future.

    Reviewed by: Leona

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Easy is back!

    The story was exciting and suspenseful. The gradual increase of Easy's prowess was realistic. Although Mosley increased the level of vocabulary, I was able to complete the novel in two days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    A great addition to what has become a classic series

    This was like a reunion with long lost friends. It has all the magic of every book in this series: a great plot, wonderful larger than life characters and some Easy social commentary thrown in. I also appreciated more the deft way in which Mosley creates a story with mythic qualities without disturbing the gritty feel of modern life. Easy always has a grateful friend more than willing to help him overcome any obstacle or foe, even death. It has all the magic of King Arthur, The Magic Flute or Harry Potter without our ever feeling we have left our own world. My only complaint is that it ended too soon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Apparently, the author got tired of Easy Rawlins six years ago,

    Apparently, the author got tired of Easy Rawlins six years ago, and had him drive over a cliff on the Pacific Coast Highway in what was either a possible suicide attempt or an accident. But like Conan Doyle, he could not resist bringing him back to life in this fascinating novel, leaving it to Mouse to find Easy and then struggle to carry him up a mountain and to a bed in which Easy lay in a semi-coma for months. When, finally, Easy wakens, still weak, Mouse asks him to help find Evander, whom he calls Little Green, the 19-year-old son of an acquaintance.

    It seems that Evander went up to the Sunset Strip, where he met a “hippie” girl, ingested LSD and ended up in possession of more than a quarter of a million dollars belonging to a gangster. Weak but fortified by a voodoo elixir, Easy finds the boy and then embarks on a beguiling journey to learn just what happened while Evander was in a drug-induced fog and to whom the money belonged, and then eliminate the dangers to the boy.

    Walter Mosley’s Easy Rawlins mysteries are in a class by themselves, featuring a black PI who is a survivor of the Battle of the Bulge and other World War II battles, in ‘60’s LA just after the Watts riots when the area is rampant with mistrust and prejudice against the minority blacks, irreverent, well-read, and the father of ‘found’ children, one of whom who lives both inside as well as outside the law. It’s wonderful to have him back after a too-long hiatus, and the novel is recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great Read!

    The story moved quickly and held my attention. Did not want to put the book down. Each character is painted with such precision that the reader actually can see and hear them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    I enjoyed this book! I ready for the next Easy Rawlins #13 is su

    I enjoyed this book! I ready for the next Easy Rawlins #13 is sure to be a charm.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    I was very upset with Mr. Mosley when Easy Rawlins went off the

    I was very upset with Mr. Mosley when Easy Rawlins went off the cliff in 2007, but my old friend is back. Reading this book was like
    catching up with friends from the 'old neighborhood' Thank you for saving Easy Rawlins!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    The best thing about these mysteries is that the city of Los Ang

    The best thing about these mysteries is that the city of Los Angeles and the era that they take place in are each characters just as important as Easy and Mouse. Even though Little Green picks up only a short time after the last book, Blonde Faith, ended, it's clear that the times are changing fast.




    Recovering from driving off a cliff, Easy agrees to help his friend Mouse find a missing young man, "Little Green", who has disappeared after a bad drug trip. Easy really should be recuperating, but with help from a strange potion made by Mama Jo, he hits the streets to work on his latest case. In classic noir mystery style, nothing fazes Easy Rawlins. Whether maneuvering through the hippie masses on Sunset Strip, sleeping in a makeshift drug commune set up in an upscale mansion, or helping a friend with a corporate espionage case, he takes it all in stride, in pain, and doped up on that potion. Meanwhile, we, the reader, are on the edge of our seats with worry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    If your a fan it is a must read.

    I love Walter Mosley! His writing always makes think of film noir. I have read pretty much the whole series. I have read his other work. He can be pretty graphic at times but that makes his voice very real.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I knew it, I knew it, I knew Walter Mosley was not going to kill off his most famous character, Easy Rawlins, I also knew Mouse was going to be instrumental in finding & saving Easy, I am so glad Easy and Mouse are back. Way to go Mr. Mosley. And Thanks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    I pre-ordered the hardcover  of the awaited Little Green in hope

    I pre-ordered the hardcover  of the awaited Little Green in hopes of getting one with the author's signature.  Alas, no such luck.  But my disappointment was short lived.  This book grabbed me from the beginning.  What an inventive way to"revive" a supposedly dead character!  I really enjoy the reactions to the changes of the early '60s where even a white man might  be a black man's ally.  I haven't finished the book yet.  I am savoring it, trying to make it last a bit longer--  even though the wonderful writing tempts me to devour it.  A longtime fan of Mr. Mosely's work, M

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Easy and Mouse, my favorite twosome. As usual the two find lots

    Easy and Mouse, my favorite twosome. As usual the two find lots of trouble and deal with it their way. I love that the characters are getting older and Walter Mosley notes that LA is changing. Keep up the good work Walter Mosley, keep giving us the Easy/Mouse combo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    I love the Easy Rawlins series. I was crushed when Easy drove o

    I love the Easy Rawlins series. I was crushed when Easy drove over that cliff in the last book and was so excited to see that Mr. Mosely brought my dear friend back to life. The book was very good. While Easy searched the streets for the missing boy, he also wrestled with being dead and realized that as tough as he is, love was the only thing that took him over that cliff. It was great catching up with the other characters, Mouse, Feather, Jesus, Ma Jo and the others. Excellently written, Mr. Mosely makes you feel like you are living in the book, it was such a smooth read. I really enjoyed it. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    I enjoyed the story very much and am looking forward to the next

    I enjoyed the story very much and am looking forward to the next book. The narrators of the book really bring the story to life and I enjoy listening to the cd as I am commuting or travelling down the highway. I have been a long time fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Little Green = BIG

    He's alive, he's alive!!! Easy is NOT dead. At first that was hard to believe and wrap my mind around, but Mr. Mosley set everything straight with rehashes of what happened after that terrible accident and made me really accept that Easy is living.
    This was a good read. I enjoyed the mystery the chases the fights the characters from the past (that are still dead but gave much clarity to the story at hand). Youngsters in love. Easy still in love with Bonnie Shay. Family love. Mystery-Love-Chases-Shootings-Deaths-Revenge-Closure, this book had everything!!!

    SDCexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Bios

    Bios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Ash

    Brittny you there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3