Customer Reviews for

Little House (9-Book Boxed Set)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Hours of entertainment

    I received this set of books from my parents when I was a child, and now my daughter enjoys reading them. In fact, they've been read so much over the years that we need another set because we've worn the covers off of some of them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    Wonderful Gift for Christmas or Anytime of the Year

    I always loved the story of Laura Ingalls Wilder. I was able to share these books with my daugters and now my granddaughter. It was a time of love and laughter. These stories will always be a cherished part of my life and now a part of my granddaughters life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    I love these books!I am 13 and in the seventh grade.Laura's book

    I love these books!I am 13 and in the seventh grade.Laura's books have good lessons in them that should never be forgotten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Little Town on the Prairie

    I read these books as a little girl living in DeSmet, SD, "the Little Town on the Prairie". I truly thought they were exclusive to 'our library' because each day we looked out over Silver Lake and passed the big slough when headed home to the north of town. As a youngster, when visiting the library, if our behavior was good, the librarian would bring out Mary's braille Bible and let us 'feel the words', of course it is now kept under secure glass.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Laura Ingalls is timeless

    This was the first set of books I bought when I was 7 years old. I loved them then and I continue to love them now. My old set was worn beyond use because of all the times I've read the books. I have to buy a new set so that I can share it with my younger cousins and in the future with my own children. I recommend this series to everyone. It is an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Great set of books for young excellent readers.

    The Little House series is a connection between generations as well as a great set of
    stories. I read them, my daughter read them and now my granddaughter is reading them.

    We can discuss the stories, history and pure enjoyment together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Great set! Print is easy to read. A great book to read aloud to your family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    I just saw a repeat of the TV-series on dutch TV, we are on seas

    I just saw a repeat of the TV-series on dutch TV, we are on season 7 episode 4. I am a grandfather of almost 68, and I enjoy the series so much that I hope to see the original books come available as NOOK Books to get them across the atlantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    I LOVE THESE BOOKS! I am an adult and have read through the enti

    I LOVE THESE BOOKS!
    I am an adult and have read through the entire series with my 4-year-old daughter. I did not read them as a child so it was my first experience with Little house. We both loved every single one. The stories are sometimes silly, fun, and heart-wrenching at the same time. I loved Laura and her family. They had hardships but were happy to have each other and are a wonderful example of a loving family. I would recommend these for children of all ages. And adults of all ages, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Classic Laura Ingalls Wilder

    These books were in my parents' house when my sisters and I were growing up. We all read them many times. I am glad they are still a staple of homes. I truly believe they helped us become the readers we all are today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    Great Reading for All Ages

    My parents bought me this set as a child 35 years ago and they are still one of my favorite series; I have all my original copies. With all the violence on TV it's nice to see a re-run of Little House and go back to a time when Family was most important. I bought these for my young neice and hopefully she'll enjoy them as much as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    I love these books!

    This is definitely worth every penny! I love these books! Since I was a little child my mother has read these books to me. When I started reading these were the first books I read! I am 14 and still enjoy reading these books! :) Love them and will read them to my children

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    My Own Journey

    Since the time of elementry school to my soon to be married life I have enjoyed these simply unexplainably outstanding books especially the last 4,need I not mention!:). Although shy of my 20th bithday with every word, with every sentence I have grown up much the same way as Laura might have. My lifelong dream is to become a librarian and I couldn't have done it without Little House on the Prairie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Takes you back in time

    I use to watch the show when I was little, when I was 25 I was surprise that the show was on tv and I start all over again, and one day when I was 29 I saw the books and I went crazy. I bought 5 of them and I never stop reading them, now I am 34 and still love them. I love the books, my daugther (8) loves them too. They are good for reading and learning. I love the Little House of The Prairie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    next generation

    I loved the Little House series as a child and now I take great pleasure in the fact that my daughter has passed down her love of the books to her daughter. My granddaughter has come to love the Ingalls family as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    Kid at Heart

    I love these books. I am 21 and still read them. Laura's life has amazed the minds of both young and old and continues to do so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    I LOVE THEESE BOOKS!!!

    I am in 8th Grade and I still read theese! I was introduced to them in a 2nd grade classroom. Got them and read them all! I am at a way higher reading level, and on an unbusy day could read 2 or 3, but it doesn't matter! Theese are things that actually happened and I have read the whole set 5 or 6 times! Read these! Buy these! They may become your all-time favorites, like me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Still love the books!

    I first started to read the series when I was seven and just kept buying the books through my school's 'Scholastic' book catalogue, and here I am 16 years later, still reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    I love these books

    I started reading these books with my teacher and class. Now I love to read them and I'm hoping to,one day, visit the Little House Museum were they display Lauras things and her families things also. I would love to see Pa's fiddle. Is that like a violin? I play the violin. I'm kind of getting tired of that word. Well i'm hoping more kids will start reading thes books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    An Amazing life, an amzing story!

    I have enjoyed these books since I was 4 and learned to read. I can only hope that my daughter holds these stories as dear as I still do to this day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4