Customer Reviews for

The Little House

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was my favorite childhood book. I read it to all of my children, now I am ordering it for my granddaughter. In addition to being a great book to learn about seasons, it's great to open discussions about feelings. How did the little house feel? How would you feel? etc... I just love this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Love this book!

    Have always loved this book. As a teacher, I use it to teach about rural, suburban and urban communities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Every child should have this book in their personnel library.

    I've loved this story since I was 4 or 5 yrs old. When I'm invited to a baby shower this is one of the books I give as a gift. Actually I give 4 of the Virginia Lee Burton stories as part of my shower gift. It's just a great book to have in a child's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    love

    love book sooooo much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    love!

    As a child I read this book over and over. As an adult I have shared it with my children. I will always love the idea that a home loves to be lived in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    A lovely written story

    This book will put a smile on your face no matter what your age. You will just love this beautiful, well written, heart warming story that you can read whenever you're in a bad move and need a smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Big City Vs. Country Life

    A sweet story that brought me back to my childhood when my grandmother read me this story. A great reminder of how much life has changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    Lovely, timeless story

    My daughter and I discovered this book in the library. We both loved it so much, we had to buy it. It is a lovely story about a little house that sneaks in opportunites for parents to discuss change, tradition, values, etc. Wonderful book. A great gift for any child!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Still Relevant After 60 Years

    If your child currently lives in a house, this book will teach them about how advances in technology can severely interrupt, and suffocate a very peaceful environment (e.g. destruction of "rain forest" in the name of "advancement") - but it does have a very happy ending for them!
    If your child currently lives in a city dwelling, (not a house), they may not understand this book, unless they are "dreaming" about the future and saying to themselves, "Someday, my family is going to LIVE in house, away from all the noise of a city". This book would provide them with that hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Sad

    In a way this can be construde as a sad and disturbing book, especially if you grew up in an area where there were once farms and land and then it was all sold off and developed into a more city-like region. However, it has a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    A house within a city

    This is a great book for children to read so that they can understand how a city is built and grows bigger and bigger. The story is of a house that is built by a man who thinks that it is too special to ever be sold so he decides to give it to his children and they can keep passing the small house on. The little house seems happy and content until it is suddenly surrounded by other houses. Will the little house ever become happy again? One has to read to find that out. This is a great book that I have loved since I was a small child. People of all ages can read and re-read this story and never grow tired of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    College Review for Class

    What happens when everything around you changes and you stay the same? That¿s what the house in this children¿s picture book, ¿The Little House¿ a 1943 Caldecott Medal, finds out. ¿Once upon a time there was a Little House way out in the country. She was a pretty Little House and she was strong and well built.¿ Each day she watches as the days go by first the apple blossoms in the spring, then in the long summer days she sat and watches the trees cover themselves with leaves, then in the fall when the days grew shorter and the nights colder, she watches the first frost, then comes the winter, when the nights are long and the days short, she watches the children coasting and skating. But all that begins to change when roads appear, and brings horseless carriages and then trucks and steamrollers. Before long, more roads, bigger homes, apartment buildings, stores, and garages surround the Little House. So, her family moves out and she finds herself alone in the middle of the city, where the artificial lights are so bright that the Little House can no longer see the sun or the moon. She often dreams of ¿the field of daisies and the apple trees.¿ Well Little House see the country again? To find out what happens to Little House, pick up this wonderful book by Virginia Lee Burton. The author was born on August 30, 1909 in Newton Center, Massachusetts. She lived in Newton Corner until she was eight then they moved to California. Virginia Lee Burton was a talented author and illustrator. She died on October 15, 1968 at the age of fifty-nine. She is survived by her two sons. Other books you might enjoy by this author are: Choo Choo (1937) and Katy and the Big Snow (1943) Burton Lee Virginia, ¿The Little House¿, Houghton Mifflin Company: Boston, 1942

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Review

    This wonderful little story is about a little house and how the world grew up around it. At first the little house was completely happy because she lived out in the country and could experience each and every season and how beautiful everything was. However, as time went on the city life kept creeping closer and closer to her, till finally she was right in the middle of it. With a train over her hear, and a subway under her foundation, the smoke and vibrations from it all prevented her from enjoying any of the seasons anymore, in fact she couldn¿t even distinguish between the seasons anymore. Also during the course of this the man that had built her so strong had passed away but he had said that, ¿This little house shall never be sold for gold or silver and she will live to see our great-great-grandchildren¿s great-great-grandchildren living in her.¿ Therefore, true to his word she was never sold, and although she was still a perfectly good house she was beginning to be a little run-down, she needed a new paint job and new shutters. Her life continued until one day someone happened by her place in the midst of the city and changed her life completely. Who do you think found her? Read this wonderful story to find out! The author of this story, Virginia Lee Burton lived in a place called Folly Cove in Massachusetts with her two sons and husband. She not only wrote all of her wonderful stories but illustrated them all too. She won the 1942 coveted Caldecott Medal for this book, The Little house. In her home town she also formed the group known as the Folly Cove Designers, which are an internationally renown group of artisans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Little House

    Let it SNOW! Duvoisin makes the reader start pulling out the winter coats and gloves, bring down the sleds from the attic and bring in some wood for the fireplace. This book was great, it took me back to when I was a child peering out the window on a school night hoping that it would snow so much we could get our front door open. Duvoisin writes as if he is looking through the eyes of a child. He makes you smell the snow in the air, and to form a picture of your own house and streets covered with snow. Duvoisin, describe nightfall on snowy night when everyone is asleep, the snow stops, the bright snow glows into the dark sky, and everyone is waken with the sun shining bright. This is a great book to read in a classroom when the forecast is calling for a chance of snow. Everyone gets excited children with a twinkle in their eye, even the teacher becomes glistened with excitement. Duvoisin, Roger. WHITE SNOW BRIGHT SNOW. New York: Lothrop, Lee & Shepard Co. 1947

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    The Little House

    Caldecott Do you want to a city built? Long ago a little house was built in the country. The man who built her decided that this house, special as it was, could never be bought and sold. Instead, he planned on leaving it to his children, his children's children, and his children's children's children. The house was pleased with the arrangement. It watched the seasons go by. It watched the children that played in it grow up and move away. Things get faster and suddenly the little house is surrounded by houses. Then a city builds up around the house. ¿The Little House was very sad and lonely¿, till!! Please read the book. This is my favorite book of all time and my children liked it too. On August 30, 1909 in Newton Centre, Massachusetts, Virginia Lee Burton was born to Alfred E. Burton and Lena Dalkeith Yates. Virginia Lee Burton received a scholarship to study art and dance at the California School of Fine Arts. In 1928, Burton and her father returned to Massachusetts. She marries George Demetrios on March 28, 1931. Bibliography Burton, Virginia Lee. The Little House. New York: Houghton Mifflin, 1942.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    A childhood favorite!

    I love this book! I think this book is the reason that I have always wanted to take an old house, move it, and fix it up. And at 35 yrs old, I am repairing and rebuilding my childhood home. The pictures are wonderful and it's just a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    Never too old

    My 33-yr-old son asked me if I still had this book that he loved as a child. I do, but I am giving him his own copy of the library edition for Christmas this year. I know it will allow him to recall memories from the past while creating them for his children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    My first book I could read

    I remembered this book from my childhood. Recently while discussing the theme with another teacher she commented that she too remembered the theme/story line as well. No one knew the title though. That week in my childrens literature text book surprise! There it was being discussed. I was so happy, just had to go out and buy a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    This is a book for ALL ages

    I have this book with a copywrite of 1942. It is very worn by me as a little girl, its pages are torn and taped, the tape turning yellow now. But on reading it again, 'The Little House' brings tears to my eyes. A truly great story with a big heart. No wonder I kept this book for 63 years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2002

    my favorite book

    this was one of my very favorite books when i was little and i'm buying it for my daughter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2