Customer Reviews for

Little House in the Big Woods (Little House Series: Classic Stories #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I like it.

    Hi. My name is Sam and I'm six. I like this book because it teaches us things that are good and that are bad so we don't do them. There are a few characters who cause trouble and I learn about life in a cabin. At night, Jack Frost creeps through and blows frost on the pictures at Christmas. You need to use all of the manners you have when you go to town. I listen to it at night and it helps me go to sleep. When we were traveling, I listened to it in the car and I like it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Little House in the Big Woods

    This novel is a sure joy to any child that loves to read and brings a warmth that is very hard to capture in many other stories. As i read, the book seemed as if it was glue in my hands. To stop reading was extremly difficult. The detail in the story makes you feel as If your there with the Ingalls Family. Word by word, step by step, if you were to travel back this book would be able to tell you how to preform everyday tasks as if someone was there with you. The story line alone was very entertaining and original. I highly recommand this book to young girls because the story will certianly amaze them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    Recommended by mom

    Get this - I read this book after my mom read it after her mom told her of her grandma's life on the fronteer in the west. This is a book that all children should read of the way America once was when there was something new to discover over every hill and mountain, as well as in every forest and in every field.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2000

    Learn about the pioneers in a very interesting way!

    If you like the pioneers, you should check out this book! It gets you going and once you're done with the book, you're ready to start the next book! CAUTION: DON'T READ THE OTHER BOOKS BEFORE YOU READ THIS ONE, OR ELSE THE STORY WILL BE SPOILED FOR YOU!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    In 3rd grade I had this complete series read to me. Now I am sh

    In 3rd grade I had this complete series read to me. Now I am sharing it with my girls during Lit. lessons as we homeschool. I am so glad they are loving the story. My 7 year old has been reading it on her own and I read it to them for about 15 minutes so that my 6 year old gets the story also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Good Book! LIttle House in the Big Woods, the first in the Litt

    Good Book!

    LIttle House in the Big Woods, the first in the Little House series, covers a small portion of Laura's life from age 3.  You'll find the rest of her story in the other eight books:  Little House on the Prairie, On the Banks of Plum Creek, Farmer Boy, By the Shores of Silver Lake, Little Town on the Prairie, The Long Winter, These Happy Golden Years, and The First Four Years.  This charming book describes the life of a young pioneer girl and is inspirational and sweet.  I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Fantastic Book!

    Little House in the Big Woods, by Laura Ingalls Wilder, is just the beginning of the Little House Series. This story is about Laura Ingalls herself, growing up in the 1870's. Laura's story takes place in the Big Woods in Wisconsin. Laura, her two sisters, Mary and Carrie, and her parents, ma and pa, all live together in a small log cabin. Throughout the story we learn about how Laura lived in this time, and what her family had to do to survive. This is a fantastic book to use with elementary students. As a teacher, I would definitely use this book in my classroom for grades second through fifth. I think it can work great with a variety of subjects. I would certainly use this book as a social studies lesson, so students can learn what life was like back in the 1870's. There are so many things students can learn about living on the frontier. While reading, students can compare and contrast Laura's life to their own life. Do they each have to work on the farm every day? Do they each have to make homemade gifts for Christmas? Do they each play outdoor games when they are done with working? Along with social studies, a science/cooking lesson can be used to learn how Laura's family made butter and cheese. I would also incorporate art into the lesson when students learn about handmade quilts and writing with a quill pen. Little House in the Big Woods is a great book that many students can enjoy. It is a wonderful book to use that can incorporate many subjects. I would also use this as a teaching book so students can see how far life has come for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book About the 1870's

    This book was about two children named Laura and Mary. Their father hunts for their food. Laura had brown hair, liked bear meat, had a doll and lived in the big woods.
    I liked this book because Laura is sweet, kind, beautiful and sensitive. Children should read this book because it is a non-fiction book that teaches you about what happened in the 1870's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    makes you want to sit by a fire and get cozy!!!

    This book was so interesting. I love how the book told you every thing that the Ingalls family did, like making cheese and cleaning. It was all so fascinating to see how they did things back then. I can`t wait to read the next books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Always a Classic

    This are my favorite childrens books. I have the original set my grandmother bought me when I was 7 years old, and I am now reading "Little House in the Big Woods" to my 3 and 7 year old boys. I recommend these books to every parent and child to learn valuable lessons about life, as well as the history of the American frontier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    It's a classic

    A great story - my 4 year old is enjoying it very much. A great way of illustrating that not everyone has always had lots of toys, TV, grocery stores, and that folks used to have to find, kill, and preserve their own food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Little House Series

    I recommend parents to purchase these books for their children. My 8year old daughter absolutely loves these books. She can explain every detail of Laura Ingalls life. These books teaches children about life was during the 1800's. It's teaching them history and Laura Ingalls life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Story About America's Favorite Pioneer Family!

    Little House in the Big Woods is a great story about life a long time ago. It teaches children what life was like back then and how hard farmers worked hard to live. It is a wonderful story that I have read many times and enjoyed very much. Little House in the Big Woods is a great story for anytime at all! Through the years I have spent much of my time reading all the Little House books I can find. My mother got me the first Little House book in when I was in first grade. I thought I wouldn't like the story much but the moment I read the first word I knew I had found a great book. Little House in the Big Woods inspired me to read more of the Little House books and I have enjoyed them all very much! I highly recommend this book to any one who can find it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    wonderful book

    I loved this book as a child. After finishing it, I quickly gobbled up the entire series. It turned me into a reader for life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Classic reading

    Great book for middle-elementary age kids, classic for adults too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    Stories I started reading at 7 and still re-read at 35....

    I started reading the Little House books when I was in 2nd grade. I suppose it helped that one of the most popular shows on TV was "Little House on the Prarie" and that my name was Laura too. From the day I found out that I was going to have a niece, I've anticipated the day that I could buy this set of books for her. She has just turned 8 and I am here to buy "Little House in the Big Woods" as a Christmas present. To me, these stories are timeless, but I wonder if kids of today with their video games and Hannah Montana will appreciate something from the past? Additionally, my mom was interested in history and as a result exposed me to history. I am concerned that because my brother and sister-in-law are not interested in history, that my niece will not appreciate these books. I am going to buy it regardless, but I am wondering do I buy the hardcover that she can keep forever and pass it down to her daughter or do I buy a softcover...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    Very Very Good For Kids to Read

    I think that this book is a good book for readers that are starting to read chapter books because it has a good story. It has great illustrations and they are in color too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Great adventure and realistic fiction

    I am a professor who teaches Children's Literature and this book, along with the entire series, is always featured in my exhibit of well-written realistic fiction. Young readers find it adventurous as well as curious to learn the ways of life for people during that time of US history and growth. It is a good book for teachers too in that it can be used in both the literature and social studies disciplines. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This was fun to read and interesting.

    My book I read was called Little House In The Big Woods by Laura Ingles Wilder. Laura Ingles was born in1871. She lived in the big woods with her ma, pa, and her sisters Mary and baby Carrie. There house was gray and built of logs. Pa hunts and traps animals while ma churns butter. In the evening pa would tell stories and chase them around. They love when pa would act it out at the same time they were very scared. Mary, Laura, and baby Carrie have never been to town before. One day pa took them as well as ma. Pa let them pick out pretty rocks to take back home with them. Laura got too many and her pocket ripped and the rocks went everywhere. Laura begins to cry ma said she could fix it though. My favorite part of this book was when there cousin comes to their house his name is Charley and has to help pa and Uncle Henry work in the field. Well he got in the way so they told him to go back to the house. Charley kept on screaming for help when Uncle Henry and pa would come Charley would laugh. The third time he screamed he really was in trouble but they thought it was a joke again. Charley had stepped on a bee nest and was getting stung all over. So pa and Uncle Henry ran over there and got all of the bees out of his pants and shirt and told him to go back to the house so ma rapped him all up and told he put him in bed. I recommend this book to anyone that likes prairie books and what they did back in the older days. I would also give this book four stars because it has a cozy warm feeling to it and it¿s a great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Amazing Book

    I read this book as a child and look forward to reading it to my daughter. It was a very good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4