Customer Reviews for

Little House on the Prairie (Little House Series: Classic Stories #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    A fantastic series that all children and adults alike will love!!

    This is a great series. A must-read for children of all ages. A classic series, that is unforgettable! I remember reading this series when I was about 8 or 9 years old.....I didnt put the books down until I was completley finished with the entire series and as soon as I was done reading them, I started all over again. Now that I am an adult, I am finding myself buying the series again and cant wait to open the first book, and continue reading until the 9th book is finished. Once I am done with that, I am going to start reading the series with my 8 year old twin daughters. Cant wait to get started!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Love these books.....my only negative comment, is to Barnes an

    Love these books.....my only negative comment, is to Barnes and Noble. This is actually Book number #3 in the series, not #2 as listed.
    This caused me to order the wrong book on-line. I then had to go through the return and exchange inconvenience . Please B&N, fix this error. Also, Farmer Boy is #2 in the series...not #3 like you have on your website. Someone reversed the numbers in error while entering them into the system. Please fix this problem, so nobody else runs into this problem and orders books based on false information.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    By a Fourth Grader

    This is a book this sounds fake but it is true. The Ingalls family lived in the vast woods. One day Pa Ingalls decides to move becase he thinks it is too crowded. While they are moving they have to make a new house. They lived on the Prarie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Olden days

    Roughing it out on the wide open prairie. The title of the book is Little House on the Prairie, and the author is Laura Ingalls Wilder. There are many major characters in the book, Pa, Ma, Mary, Laura, and baby Carrie. Pa is also known as Charles he, is the father of the family and Ma also known as Caroline, is the mother. The oldest child is Mary, the second oldest is Laura and the youngest is baby Carrie. The family is heading south, during the colonial period. They end up staying on a dry prairie which just happens to have wolves near by. After they find out there are wolves they find out there are Indians near by also. Will the wolves attack or will the Indians invade, who knows? My first impression of this book was, ¿Oh it will be ok,¿ but, now that I have started reading the book, I think it is rather interesting. The book is exciting and wonderful. I liked the book because it is so lively and vibrant, with lots of details. For example, Laura Ingalls Wilder described the prairie to have tall, long, dry, grass. And a wide blue sky with no clouds in site, just a blazing sun over the prairie. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes the colonial period. The author uses great transitioning words, which makes the book flow really well. She has inspired me with her writing. For example she would not say the bird is blue. She would say the little bird is a shaded of blue, and in the far away distance you can hear the sweet song echoing over the hills and valleys. If you are into long detailed books this is not the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Little House, an actual account of a settlers family.

    This particular book is about when the Ingalls move from the The Big Woods and into the Prairie. Pa builds a house while everyone else lives outside in tents. The roof at one point catches on fire and everyone has to run to put it out. The prairie also catches on fire too. Ma and Pa manage to keep it away from the house though. This is the life of Laura Ingalls Wilder, filled with hope tragedy, and eventually, happiness. Laura, the writer manages to keep your attention riveted on the story because of her vivid detail and talent at painting you the best picture possible. I felt like I was experiencing it all with her. The only problem I have encountered in this series is the last book, "The First Four Years", which wasn't written by her at all. It lacked all the detail she gave and she even seemed like a completely different person. Everybody should read this because most people only romanticize about the lives of the settler's. They don't know how horrible their lives actually were. Only one out of three families actually survived. The rest died or moved back east. ""They are in the house," Mary whispered. "They are in the house with Ma an Carrie." Then Laura began to shake all over. She new she must do something. She did not know what those Indians were doing to Ma and Baby Carrie. There was no sound at all from the house." This passage is important as it underlines what dangers can be found in the life of a settler. Indians were a constant problem. What I imagine as their values are honest hard work and never give up hope. This family had to overcome fire, financial problems, and Indians...to name but a few of their problems. Many people don't know that this book is not fiction. It is completely true. It even sounds like it is fiction because of Laura's imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    A Great Life Story

    We read this book in our class when we were studying Pioneers. We thought it was an interesting book that shows life long back then. It gave a good description of what traveling was like in a covered wagon. It had a lot of good details about the adventures like when the Indians came to their house. It even helped us understand why it was dangerous out there. We would recommend this book to all ages. If you can read chapter books this will be a good book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    This was a REALLY good book

    I would reccomend tis book to anyone. I loved it and hope you will too!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great book-

    What a classic. Everyone should have to read this story. I love historical fiction and enjoyed reading this story when I was a girl and I also enjoyed reading this story to my kids and to my class room too. It is the story of Laura and her famous adventures. I enjoyed reading and teaching about the one roomed school house and the struggles with staying warm at night without electricity. This was a teaching tool as well as entertaining. You will really enjoy these stories if you have never read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Enjoying this book all over again!

    My mother read these books to me when I was the age of my daughter in the 1970's, and I wanted to read them to my kids when they were old enough. My daughter (6 years old), husband, and I started with Little House in the Big Woods, which she said was "good" and she enjoys this one even more. It has led to more family time and some really interesting discussions comparing today and 100 years in the past! Still a timely classic! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I think this book was an absorbing and creative book about a family who travels from Wisconsin to Kansas. This book literally turns it's own pages. I recommend this to kids ages 9-13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Love the Book...hate the website

    Great book. My 8year old loves it...and I find it interesting from a historical standpoint.

    Tried to buy it online with the SPECIAL no postage offer...couldn't make it happen...Now I'm not an IT guy, but I was frustrated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Great for the car

    The story and reader are very good. My kids do have some of the books. This 'book on tape' series is great for one of my kids who cannot read in the car due to car sickness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    Little House on the Prairie

    This book was the first in the series that my seven-year-old daughter has read, and she loved it. It is a timeless series, and appeals to young girls now just as it did when I was little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A True Classic

    For me the Little House series taught me to be grateful for what I have.
    The Ingalls family had so little and they treasured the things I take for granted like a warm house or food. I read the Little House series in 5th grade and I know now as a 6th grader going to 7th they are not for my age group. But I still love them and once and a while a read one or two because they are very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this book was ok

    this book would be a good read for a 4th grader. I think girls would like it more than boys becauses it is mainly about a girl named laura who lived in the 1800's.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    A reader and also a bookworm for only little house.

    I LOVE LITTLE HOUSE!!!! If you do not like little house, to bad succa! Little House is a great glimpse in to America's Frontier past. I only read pioneer books, and when i discovered Little House, I fainted it was so WONDERFUL! i complained when i had to give it back to the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    a very good book

    this book is a very good book. it tells about a small girl and her family. they are not very fourcanit but they love each other and are happy with what they have.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    luv it

    this is a great book. I LOVE IT. it is just about a family having fun and going through life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    The Little House on the Prarie

    The Little House on the Prarie by Laura Ingalls Wilder has many stregths and weaknesses also. This story is attention grabbing with the not knowing of the wild prarie. It alos is a original storyline due to the fact that Laura Ingalls Wilder wrote this herself. One of the strengths of the book is that its easy to follow and the chapters don't go on forever. Another strength is that you excalty know what the charaters are doing and thinking in some more the stressful parts of the book. One of weaknesses of this book is that Pa Ingalls just decides to leave the Big Woods and the really don't give a clear reason to why he wantes to leave, other than the woods are just too crowded. Another weakness is at the very the very end you are felt guessing if the Ingalls famliy run in to any more indians or anyother dangers of the Prarie. This book really does end with a twist, so til' i read the next book in the series the mystery remians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Put a smile on

    I love the little house on the prairie sets!!! Every time I read one of her books I smile. If you also love Little House on the Prairie I suggest maybe you get some of the Little House on the Prairie DVD sets or watch them at 2:00pm central and 3:00pm central on the Hall mark channel or at 7:00pm central on TVland [only weekdays for both channels.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3