Customer Reviews for

The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry and the Big Hungry Bear

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A must read for kids

Tells little kids to protect what is theirs from anyone, no matter how big and strong. Also, the book lets the reader decide outcomes.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Teaches Manipulation to get what you want

I was very disappointed in this book and will not read it to my daughter again. Although the narrator seems to be protecting the mouse, the end result of the mouse sharing the strawberry seems to indicate that no such bear ever existed. The goal of the story i...
I was very disappointed in this book and will not read it to my daughter again. Although the narrator seems to be protecting the mouse, the end result of the mouse sharing the strawberry seems to indicate that no such bear ever existed. The goal of the story is to get the mouse to give up its prized strawberry to the narrator, so the narrator lies about the bear to get what he wants. This book teaches children that it is ok to lie and manipulate to get what you want and those are not values we intent to teach our children.

posted by Anonymous on December 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic tale for the youngest of readers!!!

    This was one of my children's favorites,so when giving a gift to expectant parents, this book is first on my list. There are very few words but the beautiful pictures tell the story and are sure to keep the attention of even the smallest child or impatient reader. The story line leaves plenty of room for discussion and interaction and the clever little mouse will help you engage your child in topics such as fear, sharing, and friendship. I first bought this book through Discovery Toys years ago for my older two children but was thrilled to find it in board book form about eight years later when our little caboose Aimee came along. It also comes in jumbo book size for a classroom of young preschoolers. I highly recommend this book to parents and preschool terachers alike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic bedtime bed

    An enchanting book for the toddler set, though a small child of any age will enjoy. The illustrations ARE the book, they are magical and make grown ups laugh. My daughter, 28 mos, can turn the pages and at least identify a word or thought off the page. She enjoys the freedom of telling me the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book!

    This book was a favorite of mine growing up so when I became a preschool teacher, I brought it along with it. My kids love when you get into character when reading a book and you can with this book. They know what's coming next everytime but they still get excited and scared for the little mouse. This is a truly classic story...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Audrey & Don Wood Fan

    I have given this book as a gift to countless children. It is one I always love to share because it quickly becomes a favorite of every child that hears it and sees the stunning illustrations. Some of the Wood's illustrations are so beautiful that my grandchildren and I often just thumb through the well-worn pages to look at the pictures again after reading the story (sometimes more than once in a sitting!).<BR/><BR/>Little Mouse and his strawberry is just one of the Wood books I routinely give as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    We love this book!

    My son has loved this book since he was 12 months old. It was the only book he would sit still for from start to finish. He loves having the story read to him and flipping through the pages. It is the first book he grabs off his bookshelf. Just reading the first line, "Hello little mouse. What are you doing?" makes his eyes light up and a huge smile appears on his face. It is a fun story to read and animate. It is a must for any child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    autistic son loves it

    My 3 yr old autistic and visually challenged son absolutely loves this book. I was leary at first when his vision therapist introduced it, I felt the color contrasting wasnt strong enough. My son wants this read every day and is now starting to point to the strawberry and turn the pages. He has even related a real strawberry with the one in the book. A HUGE accomplishment for him. I am sure there are many other reasons my son likes this book, with time he maybe able to tell us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Awesome Bok

    My son absolutely loved this book when he was a child, and I loved reading it to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    From A Teachers Perspective

    I taught a 2 yr old class and am now teaching children 12-19 months and they get excited every time this story is taken out. If you do not get the book on tape you are however missing out on great sound effects that really make the book. Definately a good buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    'Mousey Book'

    My 21 month old son loves this book and I enjoy it too. He brings it over to me everynight and says, 'Mousey Book'. He finishes every sentence. This book is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2005

    This is the greatest book out there

    i'm 13 years old and i still love it. I read hary potter and lord of the ring s but i think this book bets them all. I had this book sncie i could rember and i read it over and over agian.It has great pictures and the tilte is great to. I think no on can saw no to it. I had it for like 11 years and i still keep it in tip top shape !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    This is a classic favorite!

    This book is my son's favorite! His preschool teacher shared this with me so I ran right out and bought it! He enjoys the adventure that the tiny mouse brings as well as my saying 'the big hungry bear' in a deep scary voice when we read it each night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Loved it!

    'I think that book was funny and I said all of the words and I liked it a lot. And I want that book. And I loved it.' A quote from my 6-year-old son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2003

    My daughters favorite

    Every night my daughter asks for the Boom Boom book. Everything about this book is wonderful. The illustrations are the best around and the expressions on the mouses face are priceless. Since the book is borrowed and we have to return it soon, I am buying a copy today! A must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Great Children's Book!

    When my daughter was 2 yrs old, this was her favorite book. She would laugh at the mouse in the glasses and nose, and would have me read it to her over and over. When she was in her teens, she wanted me to get the book out because she wanted to read it to a little boy she was babysitting. Over the years, the poor old book fell apart! I recently purchased a new one to be a part of my library as a storyteller at the Children's Hospital.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    How cute

    I used to love that book, now i read it to me little cousin and sometime i read too myself. little childern will love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    MY Fav. book ever!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book so much when i was little!! I had my parents read me the book 24 7 and once they taped me and i had the book memorised word for word and i new when to turn the pages!!! i loved that book sssooo much even thought i am 13 now i still read the book as much as i can!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    Children's Classic

    This book has been in our house since our children were little. Our children loved when I read it and still love to hear it read to our grandchildren.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    A truly delightful experience!

    Cleverly conceived, the reader is the narrator in this enchanting little board book. Beautifully written, the story will engage small children while mesmerize infants with the OUTSTANDING illustrations. The storyteller (that¿s you) starts out ¿Hello, little Mouse. What are you doing?¿ You see an adorable, little mouse carrying a ladder and a suspicious expression sauntering down a road. It continues, ¿Oh, I see. Are you going to pick that red, ripe strawberry?¿ Standing with hands on hips wearing a big, proud grin, the mouse has propped the ladder up to the strawberry bush. ¿But little Mouse, haven¿t you heard about the big hungry Bear?¿ There in all its glory is a beautiful, red strawberry just asking to be picked. While the mouse, now halfway up the ladder appears extremely frightened. The story continues as the narrator does its best to save the mouse and the strawberry from the ¿Big Hungry Bear.¿ The story reinforces sharing and caring. A truly delightful experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2002

    A fantastic tale

    We bought this book used, 2 years ago, for my toddler,and we're going to have to buy a new copy soon. It'sbeen read so much it's falling apart...We love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2001

    one of my favorite picture books !

    an incredible resource for the reader that needs to reach the short attention span....and the beautiful illustrations make this story one that is not a hardship to read over and over and ( you will be asked to ). for those who love ' the rainbow fish ' by m pfister...this is a compromise that avoids the lengthy wording and yet provides a similar approach to problem resolution for the young and old alike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3