Customer Reviews for

Little Night: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A well told story with many layers I recently finished reading

A well told story with many layers

I recently finished reading Luanne Rice's newest offering, Little Night: A Novel. This books takes a compelling look at the effects of spousal abuse on family dynamics. An author can go several ways with this type of a story, and I th...
A well told story with many layers

I recently finished reading Luanne Rice's newest offering, Little Night: A Novel. This books takes a compelling look at the effects of spousal abuse on family dynamics. An author can go several ways with this type of a story, and I thought this one did a good job of telling a harrowing tale without making the book overly dark. Anne and Clare grew up with an overbearing father and as that often does, it brought them close together. Until Anne made the mistake that many women growing up in those circumstances do. She married a controlling and abusive man. Unlike many books on this subject, this book does not tell the tale from the perspective of the abused wife, but rather from the perspective of other affected family members and friends. It focuses its energy on the feelings and effects that the abuse has on Anne's daughter, Grit, and Anne's sister, Clare. It is through their eyes that we catch a glimpse of the widening circle of affect that such abuse has. I felt that the characters in this book were well developed and true to the roles that they portrayed. In addition, the layers created by the author's inclusion of other stories, like Clare's search for the elusive laughing owl, or Grits need to wear her story on her body, as well as the inclusion of some Norse mythology made this an altogether enjoyable read with both depth and feeling.

posted by lsmeadows on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review

Not as good as her past books

posted by 5448855 on September 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    From the start this book had me. Once again Miss Rice spins a st

    From the start this book had me. Once again Miss Rice spins a story of family, nature, and nurture that kept me coming back for more. This novel was so compelling it stayed with me. I wanted to start over again as soon as I finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author: Luanne Rice Published By: Pamela Dorman Books Age Recomm

    Author: Luanne Rice
    Published By: Pamela Dorman Books
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Rating: 5

    Review:

    "Little Night" by Luanne Rice was a intriguing family drama read in that it was a little different from my normal reads that this read simply blow me away. It was not a easy read in that it will bring to light."violence, family abuse, narcissistic disorders, prison time, death and murder." "Little Night" plot will bring to you many twist and turns as this story will go back and forth from the past to present...Clare and Grit's point of view with Anne's journals and website. The story picks up with Annie trying to protect her sister from a very abusive husband (Fredrick) who was a abuser, and Clare hit him on the head with a poker and was sent to jail for several years due to the fact that her 'own sister...Anne lied on the stand for her husband...Now Anne was out of jail.. only to get a visit from Anne's daughter Grit for a visit to New York... and this will be the part where I will say you must pick up "Little Night" to see once again how Clare's life will change and especially whether Clare will be able to ever forgive her sister Anne and what about Clare's feelings for Paul?

    The characters were all very well developed with such emotions that really made this a very realistic story and "Little Night" will give you a very sensitive heartbreaking read.


    I think this author did a wonderful job as "she weaves, pain, death, sorrow, betrayal, abandonment, forgiveness and love all in a well written story" that has been well delivered to the reader and yes, I would definitely recommend "Little Night" as a excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Morningkit

    Thank you so much! *she pads to the new camp*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Moontide

    So i cant watch the kits.. i dont wanna be a med cat... i wanna be a queen and protect kits

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Sunglow urgent urgent urgent

    I shalt b sorry to tresspass but i am outside of ur territory but one of ur kits, Bellakit took aome of our wanted herbs that we found on our territory. Wut r u guys gonna do about it. I am from fireclan. We dont want a war but u should scold her and giv us back our herbs. Thank u!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Flaneoekt to alphapaw

    Where r u? ~ Flamepelt

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Dt

    Dt

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Edenfall

    Some place where nobody has ever posted before. try searching random letters.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Crimsonclaw

    Hello im back

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Cutekit

    Sorry

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How far would you go to protect your sister? What if you do prot

    How far would you go to protect your sister? What if you do protect you sister and she tells lies that don't backup your story?

    That's exactly what happened to Clare Burke. She tried to help Anne leave the husband that was abusing her and ended up being charged with assault. The verdict largely hinged on her sister's defense of her spouse. She stuck with her abusive husband and her testimony was all lies. Clare ended up in prison.

    Even after she was released the sisters remained estranged. Her sister has moved to Denmark where her husband was born and raised. Clare is living in Manhattan, writing her blog about the birds of Central Park. A very quiet life compared to her life before. Her relationship with fellow birder Paul has been sorely tested over the years and they have not been able to reconcile. They have tried to remain friends.

    Almost twenty years after the incident that sent her to jail Clare is surprised when her niece, Grit, shows up on her doorstep. Grit has always wanted a relationship with her aunt. She knew the kind of man her father was and she remembered how Clare tried to help. As they work hard to develop that relationship they must face the wounds inflicted upon them by Anne as she stayed by her husband's side. Healing is difficult for both of them but together they hope they can get by the physical and emotional scars left from the pain they have both suffered. They still hold out hope that Anne will her leave husband and return to her family and friends who really love her.

    Dollycas's Thoughts
    Written in true Luanne Rice style we are taken inside a very complex family situation that has us reeling. The physical and emotion abuse that splits Anne off from her own family is tragic and when it continues on to her own son and daughter is even more disturbing. Tempered by her wonderful descriptions of nature, the birds and the bogs we are given a bit of a rest from the extreme family drama. Rice is an expert of creating the ebbs and flows necessary for a story as powerful as this one. I have never been to Central Park but after reading this book I almost feel like I have.

    We received a sneak peek at these characters in How We Started that was released for Kindle on May 1. The story of how Clare and Paul met was perfect before delving into this story that was so heartbreaking. In a split second Clare and Paul's lives changed forever. She pushes him away when she is in prison and tells him to get on with his life. Even when released her heart is so closed off she is afraid to let anyone in. The arrival of Grit helps her start the healing process and her niece tries to move forward as well.

    This is the 30th novel from Luanne Rice. It is fresh and original and just plain outstanding. Another one for the keeper shelf because you will definitely want to read it more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Little Night by Luanne Rice ISBN: 9780670023561 Book starts

    Little Night by Luanne Rice
    ISBN: 9780670023561
    Book starts out with Clare attacking her sisters husband because of what he's done to them all. She ends up in prison and her sister Anne and the kids, gilly and grit are still left behind to endure his torture.
    While in prison she's had a lot of time to herself and thinks about the past and ends things with her Central Park ranger boyfriend, Paul. She is depressed and comes to life once again after a visitor has left with the promise of a job, with conditions.
    After Clare gets out she does seek out Paul again and they resume their bird watches and rescues in the hopes of seeing an extinct laughing owl.
    Grit comes to live with Clare and the truth comes out as to why she is there.
    The symbolism of the bog, the accident and how it brings them closer makes all that's happened come together as one.
    Just when you think you've learned all you can about a topic: snowy owls, Central Park, variety of birds, rather than shoving it down your throats like other authors might do, Luanne knows exactly when to move onto other things. It's just a super blend, seamless.
    Like that Grit knows how to cook elegantly from scratch and can do wonders with barely anything.
    What happened at the bog landed Grit in the hospital. While there she knows her mother stood over her bed. She's seen other signs of her mother being in town, and so has Clare.
    Love the mystery as to why Anne couldn't contact them in the city.
    I like a book that takes me places and learn new things. I am really into this book: the ferry to the statue of liberty-never knew about the rooms at the bottom; the glassblowing; all the birds and facts; the scenery, different named areas, and atmosphere of ny central park, very detailed architecture and the cooking.
    Countries overseas have an appeal all their own.
    Like how when the book has stated a Danish remark the translation is the next line-won't leave you guessing or have to look it up on the pc.
    Love the idea of the special picnic and how the book got its title from it and opened the web page.
    Learned so much in this book, as I do follow our local snowy owl and have seen one in Oregon at a refuge for birds.
    Clare compares her life with some of the extinct owls.
    Love the ending and how things have gone full circle.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1