Customer Reviews for

A Little Princess

Average Rating 4.5
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(204)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Lovely Classic- Girls will love it!

A Little Princess, originally written by Frances Hodgson Burnett about a century ago is a classic, that girls of all ages will simply adore. A Little Princess tells the story of young, clever Sara Crewe, who arrives in England with her father from India, in order to att...
A Little Princess, originally written by Frances Hodgson Burnett about a century ago is a classic, that girls of all ages will simply adore. A Little Princess tells the story of young, clever Sara Crewe, who arrives in England with her father from India, in order to attend Miss Minchin's School for Girls, which is a boarding school. At the school, Sara is richer than all the other girls and her room is filled with finery the other girls don't have. She even has her own maid, Mariette! She also becomes the smartest girl in school, which causes another girl, Lavinia Herbert, to hate Sara out of jealousy. But instead of being spoiled or bragging about her smarts, Sara compliments others on their own talents and strengths, and is not spoiled at all, but nice, and tries to help others in need. Sara even befriends a poor fourteen-year old scullery maid, Becky, and sara also tels stories to the other girls. She wins many friends, and soon the whole school, including mean, cranky Miss Minchin are calling Sara "princess". Soon, four years pass by at the school, and Sara is now ce;ebrating her eleventh birthday. But before the celebrating can begin, Miss Minchin is called to her office. Miss Minchin learns that Sara's father has died and he hadn't left any money to Sara, because he had lost all his money. Furious on everything she had spent for Sara's sake, Miss Minchin cacels the party and forces Sara to dress in rags and become a scullery maid, like Becky, nad luve in the attic. Sara now has to work very hard, and is very lonely. But when it seemed like Sara had lost everything, an unexpected twist of events come up, and Sara finds true happiness at last. I think this is an educational and entertaining classic for girls, since we can relate to it so well. Any girl out there who is looking for a classic to read, I highly recommend A Little Princess. It certainly deserves five stars! Thank you Frances Hodgson Burnett for such a wonderful and inspiring tale!

posted by CheesyPrincess on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good book for kids

this is a very good book for small children. I read the book to my daughter almost every night and she loves it.This book help brings on the imagination of little children around the globe.If you dont want to read it, consider watching the movie,its pretty good too.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    I have this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sara Crewe is left at Ms.Minchins semanare for little girls and soon is left without a penny when her father, Mr.Crewe dies of jungle fever. Sara soon faces the life of being a servent girl in this exciting book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My review of this got lost somehow, so I'll just write a new one

    My review of this got lost somehow, so I'll just write a new one!
    I waited for this book to come back in stock, and my, it was worth the wait! Just the beautiful interior of the book made me fall in love with it at once - It even has a little ''This book belongs to''! I hope I one day can pass this on to future generations of little princesses.
    Already from page two, I loved the book, and considered it one of my favorites ever. I felt such a strong connection to seven year old Sara Crewe, the intelligent little spoiled girl with black hair and strange thoughts too old for her young age. My heart totally broke when her father dies on her 11th birthday, and the headmistress at her boarding school forces her to be a maid, dressed in rags, working super hard and starving all the time. But even then, she keeps her cool and still acts and thinks she's a princess - And survives! And I felt so happy when I knew she was going to live happily again, she really deserved it!
    I guess we all have something to learn from little Sara Crewe.
    There's a princess in all of us - Whether dressed in rags or expensive gowns.
    This is a great story both for children (though maybe not the youngest ones) and adults alike!
    This a story that will touch your hearts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    A Classic

    One of my favorite classic books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    RECCOMENDED

    I love this the movie and the book both i love this classic book It is a treaser to all third or fourth grade girls I know your third or fouth grade girl will love it because im one too .they will treaser this forever

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Touching

    I read this book young and I loved it. A Little Princess brought tears to my eyes at times, and sometimes shriek of laughter. Since this book is a known classic and highly enjoyable, as well as buying it as an ebook I would also buy it to put it own your shelf. I would recommend this book to anybody, because I believe it would provide anybody's intrest. Dive into this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    SAD

    THSI BOOOK IS so great it had me crying from start to finish. Sara Crewe is a strong heart-filled girl who finds that riches aren't only found in money!

    WAY better than the movie!! .... well, all books are better than movies! :P

    <3 Reccommend it for everyone young and old!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Book

    It was a sweet book. It made me cry. It was much better then the movie. But books are always better then the movies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    recomende for 3-5

    This book I bought it in barnes and noble I choose it because It looked interesting and classic. Sarah lived with her father but something unexpected happened the climate on india was bad for children and had to be translated to another place. Sara's father was taking Sara to london to a boarding school named Miss Minchin¿s school for young ladies. Sara is rich loved and respected Mr. crew is very rich and can give her anything she wants until one day sara receives a bad news and miss Minchin turns her life upside down forced to live in the attic and be a servant to her and the young ladies.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Yes

    Ofcourse a vety good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Should i read this

    Is it good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    I liked it!

    I liked it! Its not about a bratty little girl who is spoiled. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    I liked it

    Overall, I enjoyed this book. It was a nice and relaxing read. Not so much of an attention grabber that you don't want to put it down but just fine to pass the time.

    One thing I didn't like was how the pages and chapters were odd. Chapters were on the same page as the previous chapters, and same goes for the pages. For example, page 243 and 244 were in the same nook page; end of chapter 5 might've been on page 65 and the beginning of chapter 6 on page 66 but they merged together anyway. Though a nuicanse at first, it's easy to get over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    ⌒ ⌞ ⌟ ⌠ ⌡ ⌢ ⌣ ⌤ ⌥ ⌥ ⌦ ⌧ ⌨

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The movie was one of my favotires growing up and the book is jus

    The movie was one of my favotires growing up and the book is just as great. Although I will say I loved the ending to the movie a lot more but in order to find out why you'll have to read this great, beautiful tale about a little girl who is a princess no matter where or who she is/becomes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    good

    is it good?.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Little princess

    I loved this book it is beautifuly composed very well written book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Little princess

    Awsome book great book full of awsomeness graet book and great copy it s sad and dark at the same time i love this book beacuse i love the book is sad and dark at the same time i love the way it s written and the wayit scomposed i thought at first taht it was gping to be bad but now i will recomend this book to everyone . Love it !!!!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    If you've ever seen the A Little Princess movies, delete everyth

    If you've ever seen the A Little Princess movies, delete everything they made you think about this story. They completely missed the point of this gorgeous story of a little girl who consistently lives up to her divine potential. Her life starts out very much like that of a princess--her father, with whom she has a deeply beautiful relationship, is incredibly wealthy and she wants for nothing. She even acts like a princess. She's kind and sharing and fair-minded towards everyone. She's intelligent, imaginative, a book-lover, and she has a secret fancy that no matter what, no matter how she is treated, and no matter her circumstances, she will always act like a princess--loving and cool-headed. This fancy is put to the test when her wonderful father dies of jungle fever and she is left, without a penny to her name, to live as a slave to the horrible, bitter, cruel school mistress Miss Minchin. At every turn, her life gets harder, and somehow she retains every bit of--and perhaps adds to--her beautiful nature. This is a story about how one's behavior and attitude can make even the most horrific situation a better one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Get a life

    To itbit get a life do you even have one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    The little princess

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14