Customer Reviews for

A Little Princess (Illustrated)

Average Rating 4.5
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Lovely Classic- Girls will love it!

A Little Princess, originally written by Frances Hodgson Burnett about a century ago is a classic, that girls of all ages will simply adore. A Little Princess tells the story of young, clever Sara Crewe, who arrives in England with her father from India, in order to att...
A Little Princess, originally written by Frances Hodgson Burnett about a century ago is a classic, that girls of all ages will simply adore. A Little Princess tells the story of young, clever Sara Crewe, who arrives in England with her father from India, in order to attend Miss Minchin's School for Girls, which is a boarding school. At the school, Sara is richer than all the other girls and her room is filled with finery the other girls don't have. She even has her own maid, Mariette! She also becomes the smartest girl in school, which causes another girl, Lavinia Herbert, to hate Sara out of jealousy. But instead of being spoiled or bragging about her smarts, Sara compliments others on their own talents and strengths, and is not spoiled at all, but nice, and tries to help others in need. Sara even befriends a poor fourteen-year old scullery maid, Becky, and sara also tels stories to the other girls. She wins many friends, and soon the whole school, including mean, cranky Miss Minchin are calling Sara "princess". Soon, four years pass by at the school, and Sara is now ce;ebrating her eleventh birthday. But before the celebrating can begin, Miss Minchin is called to her office. Miss Minchin learns that Sara's father has died and he hadn't left any money to Sara, because he had lost all his money. Furious on everything she had spent for Sara's sake, Miss Minchin cacels the party and forces Sara to dress in rags and become a scullery maid, like Becky, nad luve in the attic. Sara now has to work very hard, and is very lonely. But when it seemed like Sara had lost everything, an unexpected twist of events come up, and Sara finds true happiness at last. I think this is an educational and entertaining classic for girls, since we can relate to it so well. Any girl out there who is looking for a classic to read, I highly recommend A Little Princess. It certainly deserves five stars! Thank you Frances Hodgson Burnett for such a wonderful and inspiring tale!

posted by CheesyPrincess on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good book for kids

this is a very good book for small children. I read the book to my daughter almost every night and she loves it.This book help brings on the imagination of little children around the globe.If you dont want to read it, consider watching the movie,its pretty good too.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Lizzy: a future author

    I got the dollar one, and although it had all the content, the formatting was completely screwed up. I'd say that this versions worth the money

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    By Tara Patterson

    It made me cry a lot! A classic, and my favorite book!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    A Classic

    One of my favorite classic books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Again another great B&N collection. Now if they can please a

    Again another great B&N collection. Now if they can please add to their leather bound collection The Blue Cat of Castle Town
    by
    Catherine Cate Coblentz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good book but the movie is so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Briana to roan

    Daddy!!! *hugs him*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Briana

    Of course i like u cali! Ok claire..... *opens the present, careful not to rip the wraping*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Xavier

    Thankfully Devon will be back to sort things out. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Good book

    I read this book for a book report in 5th grade. I found the book to be a little slow but a wonderful story. I can't wait to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    book

    its a really good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    movie vs. the book

    i honestly prefer the movie better but there was a lot of things the movie left out . it was hard to get into . but over all this was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great book

    This is a story that my mother read to me and I have read to my children. It is the story of being humble and looking out for others. This is a great book to snuggle into bed and read together. Sara is sent to a girl's home while her father, a captain is working. When Miss Minchin learns that money will not be coming in any longer for little Sara, Miss Michin turns her into a maid to earn her keep. This is the story of friendship and imagination. You won't believe this story and you will be glad that you read it, I highly recommend it- especially if you have daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    A Wonderful Story

    I've read this book many times. How can you not appreciate a character with her strength? I could not have endured the cruel treatment that was bestowed upon her. Sara allowed her imagination to save her along with the magic given to her from her 'friend.' A tale such as this should be loved, showing how everyone deserves great treatment.When faced with those who appear worst off than you, we should give, but how many of us really do that? Fantastic story. I recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Incredible

    This was a book that I read as a child and grew up to not only love it,but learn from it. It teaches children respect and not to let things get to you. Self-discipline is another lesson taught. Sara Crewe it put through trials that teaches her to be the bigger person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Recommended

    This book was wonderful. The story demostrated humanities most precious gift, the power to choose despite one's circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    A Little Princess

    This book is written by the sensational author Frances Hogdson Burnett. It is about a very pueer,rich little girl named Sarah Crew. When she is sent to Miss. Minchins boarding school she quicky befriends quite a lot of girls. They even start calling her Princess Sarah, because of her emaginative mind. Then one day that all changes when she is left pennieless. She uses her imaginative mind and a little help from the man next door to get through this time of her life. I would recomend this book to anyone who is up to a book full of adventure and excitemint. Once you pick this book up you wont be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    A little princess

    a little princess is a about a girl named sarah crewe.She was the doughter of a captain. The sailers call him Mr. Crewe on the ship.Mr crewe sends sara to an english boreding school were every one treats her like a princess.one day she gets some bad news about her father. I wont tell you what happened that will give it away. Thats what i think you should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    A Very Touching Book

    This book maded me think deeper about all the things that we have America that we take for granted. Sara shared almost all of her things with the black slave, Becky, and really cared for everyone, and not just herself. This was one of the BEST books I have ever read. Good job Frances! :) I think everyone can read this book old or young, and learn a great moral to live by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    A book fit for a princess

    Usually I do not like to read books that school requires, or classics of any shape, type, or size, they are too `boring` or too `old`. They aren't ¿popular¿ and 'cool'. But I had to read a classic so I grabbed one of the books on my shelf at random. As I began to read it I felt like Sara was a real person, I felt sorry for her when she was down, I felt angry when people were mean to her, I felt like everything in the book was alive in it¿s own respect. and the book took me to a new level of reading. I started to read other books by Frances Hodgson Burnett and I started to appreciate better reading. The main character in this book is Sara Crewe. She is the only daughter of her rich father. She lived in India for her entire life, until she was old enough to be sent to a boarding school. It pains her and her father terribly to do so, but it had to be done, all girls go to boarding schools and so she did. While she attends the boarding school she is given everything her heart desires. She has a maid, a pony and carriage, a wardrobe fit for a duchess with furs, and lace, and velvet; and a wardrobe just as grand for her doll. She is the star pupil; she has beautiful clothes and is the most perfect girl you could imagine. Soon, however, Sara¿s father dies of brain fever and business troubles, leaving her friendless and penniless. The head mistress of the school, Miss. Minchin, forces Sara to work as a scullery maid and do anything that needs doing. She makes her run errands, clean, teach other students, and she is punished regularly. Any other girl would have broken down, lost all of her hope and been reduced to nothing but through it all Sara manages to keep her spirit and her pride. She grows so much as a character and learns to deal with the things that happen to her with the grace and dignity of a princess. A princess who any girl would want to be, any girl would admire. This has become one of my favorite books, I have read it over and over so many times and still can¿t get over how wonderful a book it is. I would highly recommend it to any girl of any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    4 STARS FOR A PRINCESS

    Sara Crew is a clever and very friendly girl with a rich father. So Miss Minchin the school teacher, has no choice but to treat her as her number one pupil- a little princess. But almost instantly one day, Sara's new friends and privileges are taken away from her, for her father has dies leaving Sara penniless. Soon after, the little princess was given an attic room and seen as a begger or scullary maid. But with the help of some friends, Sara survives her misfortunes. I enjoyed this book because it had a moral to it. Always believe in yourself. I would recommend this book to any girl that likes to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3