Customer Reviews for

A Little Princess

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(205)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Lovely Classic- Girls will love it!

A Little Princess, originally written by Frances Hodgson Burnett about a century ago is a classic, that girls of all ages will simply adore. A Little Princess tells the story of young, clever Sara Crewe, who arrives in England with her father from India, in order to att...
A Little Princess, originally written by Frances Hodgson Burnett about a century ago is a classic, that girls of all ages will simply adore. A Little Princess tells the story of young, clever Sara Crewe, who arrives in England with her father from India, in order to attend Miss Minchin's School for Girls, which is a boarding school. At the school, Sara is richer than all the other girls and her room is filled with finery the other girls don't have. She even has her own maid, Mariette! She also becomes the smartest girl in school, which causes another girl, Lavinia Herbert, to hate Sara out of jealousy. But instead of being spoiled or bragging about her smarts, Sara compliments others on their own talents and strengths, and is not spoiled at all, but nice, and tries to help others in need. Sara even befriends a poor fourteen-year old scullery maid, Becky, and sara also tels stories to the other girls. She wins many friends, and soon the whole school, including mean, cranky Miss Minchin are calling Sara "princess". Soon, four years pass by at the school, and Sara is now ce;ebrating her eleventh birthday. But before the celebrating can begin, Miss Minchin is called to her office. Miss Minchin learns that Sara's father has died and he hadn't left any money to Sara, because he had lost all his money. Furious on everything she had spent for Sara's sake, Miss Minchin cacels the party and forces Sara to dress in rags and become a scullery maid, like Becky, nad luve in the attic. Sara now has to work very hard, and is very lonely. But when it seemed like Sara had lost everything, an unexpected twist of events come up, and Sara finds true happiness at last. I think this is an educational and entertaining classic for girls, since we can relate to it so well. Any girl out there who is looking for a classic to read, I highly recommend A Little Princess. It certainly deserves five stars! Thank you Frances Hodgson Burnett for such a wonderful and inspiring tale!

posted by CheesyPrincess on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good book for kids

this is a very good book for small children. I read the book to my daughter almost every night and she loves it.This book help brings on the imagination of little children around the globe.If you dont want to read it, consider watching the movie,its pretty good too.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely Classic- Girls will love it!

    A Little Princess, originally written by Frances Hodgson Burnett about a century ago is a classic, that girls of all ages will simply adore. A Little Princess tells the story of young, clever Sara Crewe, who arrives in England with her father from India, in order to attend Miss Minchin's School for Girls, which is a boarding school. At the school, Sara is richer than all the other girls and her room is filled with finery the other girls don't have. She even has her own maid, Mariette! She also becomes the smartest girl in school, which causes another girl, Lavinia Herbert, to hate Sara out of jealousy. But instead of being spoiled or bragging about her smarts, Sara compliments others on their own talents and strengths, and is not spoiled at all, but nice, and tries to help others in need. Sara even befriends a poor fourteen-year old scullery maid, Becky, and sara also tels stories to the other girls. She wins many friends, and soon the whole school, including mean, cranky Miss Minchin are calling Sara "princess". Soon, four years pass by at the school, and Sara is now ce;ebrating her eleventh birthday. But before the celebrating can begin, Miss Minchin is called to her office. Miss Minchin learns that Sara's father has died and he hadn't left any money to Sara, because he had lost all his money. Furious on everything she had spent for Sara's sake, Miss Minchin cacels the party and forces Sara to dress in rags and become a scullery maid, like Becky, nad luve in the attic. Sara now has to work very hard, and is very lonely. But when it seemed like Sara had lost everything, an unexpected twist of events come up, and Sara finds true happiness at last. I think this is an educational and entertaining classic for girls, since we can relate to it so well. Any girl out there who is looking for a classic to read, I highly recommend A Little Princess. It certainly deserves five stars! Thank you Frances Hodgson Burnett for such a wonderful and inspiring tale!

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Best book

    I felt like this book should never end. Im 8 years old and im in 3rd grade. I felt very sad when sara crewe's father died. This book is the best book even though i didnt read it on my nook. Thank you for reading my review.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Classic

    A Little Princess is a classic story of a rich little girl who is put under the care of a bitter, selfish schoolhouse matron. At first, the girl is treated as a star pupil; but when her father dies a ruined man, she is cruelly forced to become a servant of the schoolhouse—but her sweet, vibrant nature keeps her alive during these hard times. I have seen quite a few movie adaptations, but the book is much better than the movies. This is a good book for people of all ages to read.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Edition of a Great Classic Children's Book at a Great Price

    As my daughter is getting interested in more challenging literature, I have been looking for nice, long-lasting copies of some of my favorite children's classics. I was thrilled to find the Sandy Creek edition of 'A Little Princess' today at Barnes and Noble.

    This Edition: The 2009 Sandy Creek edition is hardback with a nice, classic cover with a reproduction of one of the eight full color (and possibly original) prints by Tasha Tudor included in the book. One of my favorite parts about the edition is that the cover art is printed right on the cover and not on a dust jacket. I'm too lazy to cover dust jackets like the library does, so the other books in our current collection have either lost or are on their way to losing their jackets, and the book underneath isn't as appealing. It was a breeze to remove the price tags from this cover, which bodes well for easy future cleaning. The book is just the right size and weight to hold comfortably and still fit into a purse or backpack. The paper inside is of a nice weight, but the edges are "rough cut" which, while more "original," I find annoying. Since I liked everything else about the book, it was easy for me to ignore this. The font is well spaced and easy to read - perhaps a size 12 font. This edition includes a List of Chapters, List of Illustrations, brief bio of the author and on the inner cover, a name plate for the owner. It is well made, ever so slightly old-fashioned, darling and exactly what I was looking for and at an astonishingly affordable price point.


    The Sandy Creek Collection: Much to my delight, not only did Sandy Creek do a fine job with Anne of Green Gables, but also with a host of other fantastic classic children's books, many of which were on my shopping list! The books are the same size as one another, have similarly colored and designed spines, and only differ by color and cover art. I also bought 'The Wind in the Willows,' 'Anne of Green Gables' and 'The Secret Garden' and hope to add 'Treasure Island,' 'Journey to the Center of the Earth,' and more to my collections soon. It is a fine set at a great price.


    'A Little Princess:' I loved Frances Burnett books as a child and was recently reminded of them by an article about Katherine Paterson (Newbery Medal and National Book Award for Children's Literature winner and 2010 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature) in the NY Times where she lists Burnett as one of her great childhood literary influences. I've read 'Princess' and 'A Secret Garden' countless times as I've grown and am always as engrossed in their Victorian worlds as I was the first reading. Her heroines are imperfect; starting out spoiled, entitled and generally bratty but learning from harsh, honest, sugar-coating-free worlds how to make a way for themselves and grow into lovely, kind and self-sufficient ladies. I would recommend this story and edition to anyone building a library for their children or themselves.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Little Y

    So good made me cry

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Amazing

    I have seen many movie verisios of this book and retold stories of this book but i like all of them not like but love all of them i recomend this book to any young girls out there who like to read books with adventures and some twists in the middle if you are that girl then this is the book for you and for me

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    The little princess

    It is a great book. I recommend it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Little princess

    This was a great book! But it does get sad during chapter 4. Just keep reading and it will get better. Sara Crewe had a wonderful life up to the age of 11. She went to a boarding school at 7. On Sara's 11th birthday, she learns her father is dead and left no money for her. Sara is forced to work like her friend, Becky. But then the story gets happier.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Love it!

    Love this book it rocks

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Buy it nowwwwwwwwwwwwww

    Best book ever get it

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Nice

    The book was touching

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    A Little Princess

    This is my favorite book and I am so excited it is on Nook. I think it is a great story for everyone. It is a true riches-to-rags, rags-to-riches tale of the quaint little Sara Crewe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Favorite Book

    A little Princess is my favorite book read it in fifth grade, but still read it to this day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    I have this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sara Crewe is left at Ms.Minchins semanare for little girls and soon is left without a penny when her father, Mr.Crewe dies of jungle fever. Sara soon faces the life of being a servent girl in this exciting book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My review of this got lost somehow, so I'll just write a new one

    My review of this got lost somehow, so I'll just write a new one!
    I waited for this book to come back in stock, and my, it was worth the wait! Just the beautiful interior of the book made me fall in love with it at once - It even has a little ''This book belongs to''! I hope I one day can pass this on to future generations of little princesses.
    Already from page two, I loved the book, and considered it one of my favorites ever. I felt such a strong connection to seven year old Sara Crewe, the intelligent little spoiled girl with black hair and strange thoughts too old for her young age. My heart totally broke when her father dies on her 11th birthday, and the headmistress at her boarding school forces her to be a maid, dressed in rags, working super hard and starving all the time. But even then, she keeps her cool and still acts and thinks she's a princess - And survives! And I felt so happy when I knew she was going to live happily again, she really deserved it!
    I guess we all have something to learn from little Sara Crewe.
    There's a princess in all of us - Whether dressed in rags or expensive gowns.
    This is a great story both for children (though maybe not the youngest ones) and adults alike!
    This a story that will touch your hearts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    RECCOMENDED

    I love this the movie and the book both i love this classic book It is a treaser to all third or fourth grade girls I know your third or fouth grade girl will love it because im one too .they will treaser this forever

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Touching

    I read this book young and I loved it. A Little Princess brought tears to my eyes at times, and sometimes shriek of laughter. Since this book is a known classic and highly enjoyable, as well as buying it as an ebook I would also buy it to put it own your shelf. I would recommend this book to anybody, because I believe it would provide anybody's intrest. Dive into this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    SAD

    THSI BOOOK IS so great it had me crying from start to finish. Sara Crewe is a strong heart-filled girl who finds that riches aren't only found in money!

    WAY better than the movie!! .... well, all books are better than movies! :P

    <3 Reccommend it for everyone young and old!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Book

    It was a sweet book. It made me cry. It was much better then the movie. But books are always better then the movies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11