BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Little Prisoners: A tragic story of siblings trapped in a world of abuse and suffering

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Summary: Little Prisoners by Casey Watson This is a short but t


Summary: Little Prisoners by Casey Watson
This is a short but thorough chapter by chapter review of the book Little Prisoners. Since I trained as an English teacher, I’m not overly fond of books that summarize novels because they are all too frequently abused by stude...

Summary: Little Prisoners by Casey Watson
This is a short but thorough chapter by chapter review of the book Little Prisoners. Since I trained as an English teacher, I’m not overly fond of books that summarize novels because they are all too frequently abused by students who are looking for a short cut instead of reading the assigned materials. However, when used as a tool for reviewing a book prior to a test or when refreshing the memory, books like this can be a useful resource. As a resource, this particular summary is excellent. It is very well written, lucid, thorough, and provides a well formatted chapter by chapter overview of Little Prisoners. It includes pertinent information about both the characters and the events that are important in understanding the book. I can recommend this particular version highly.

posted by MarthaM on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Not

I was looking for this fustrading!

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

     I was also a foster child and to read this made me feel glad th

     I was also a foster child and to read this made me feel glad that there are more great foster parents out there. Foster care is a hard place yet with foster parents like Casey and Mike it makes it a little easier to see the positive side of the most important part and that is that even though there are tough kids out there someone can still reach them and help them to a better life. This book was brilliantly written.  The story unfolds when a social worker approaches an experienced foster family and requests that they become caregivers for these two children, Olivia and Ashton, who require emergency care. When the children are delivered, the foster family is appalled at the physical condition of these two malnourished children who arrive at their home with dirty ragged clothing and lice-ridden hair. Although their physical appearance is abhorrent, these children, ages +/-6 and +/-9, are not toilet trained and often exhibit sexually explicit behavior which presents a continuous challenge for the foster family. When the foster parents, Mike and Casey, request psychological counseling for Olivia and Ashton, they discover the inadequacies of the child protective system which lacks the necessary provisions for children rescued from dire circumstances. This book raises the consciousness of the reader and exposes the inefficiencies of our social systems that are poorly managed and do not provide adequate care for all children born and raised in impoverished conditions.  

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    A very good book!


    I found this book hard to put down! It has moments where it brought tears to my eyes. It is well written book it has you feeling the author's emotions right from the start. For me, it had me in tears at the end.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    amazing human story

    The changes in the foster children the author takes in are so very dramatic. How these kids survived prior to their foster placement is amazing. Ms. Watson and family are wonderful in their care of the very socially deprived and depraved children. You won't be able to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    CASEY AND MIKE I LOVE YOU GOD BLESS

    Making a difference one child at a fime

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Very well written

    Having been a special foster parent it was easy to relate to what these children went through and all of the frustrations with the system, could feel the emotions of the author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Very good reading.

    This book was one of the most interesting
    I've read for a while. I could hardly put
    it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Little Prisoners is a great book about the foster care system, s

    Little Prisoners is a great book about the foster care system, specifically the placement of two difficult to place children.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Dante

    Calm down my Angel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Angel

    Breathes heavily." Yes master."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    War effort

    Icy night res one. In need of soldiers. Read (General Kastens).

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    To all

    OK DONT TELL OTHER PEOPLE ABOUT THIS ROLEPLAY I AM TRUSTING YOU IN YOUR HANDS???? OK?? AND IMMA GONNA GIVE YOU THE MISSION

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Bailey

    Decline miasion

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Tartblood

    Grabs Lilac

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Skittles

    *Grabs a squirming Peachy Pie.*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Blue lightning

    Drags cassiopiea to the factory

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Mee toooooooo

    I want to be a test subject

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Can i be a test subject?

    Please? Reply to Laylia.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    X-23

    "Its.annoying."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    RM?

    I might know you...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Neko

    "Hello?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3