Customer Reviews for

Little Red Book of Selling: 12.5 Principles of Sales Greatness: How to Make Sales Forever

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    A MUST READ FOR ANYONE IN THE SALES ARENA!!

    This book I would highly recommend, as it builds a strong foundation on how to sell properly, It shows you how to prevent the false ceiling of short cuts and losing out on opportunities. It is an easy read and packed full of useful information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Excellent

    I bought this along with a few other books from this author in the series. My husband is really enjoying them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Its better than nothing, not really recommended.

    This book is over rated, it does not give you enough of a how to get the sales process done. Its all over the place. I must says its better than nothing. There are many much better Sales Training books out there. Jen, sales person for Honda

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    If You Don't..DO!

    Gitomer is the man!
    Read it 2 times and then keep it on hand. You can literally use it on a daily basis. It covers all the "little things" that the "daily struggle" leaves us forgetting. It is required reading for my sales management group and used as a reference guide!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Tool of the Trade

    Little Red Book of Selling is a good book for salespeople - new and seasoned. It is a fine refresher course for those already in sales or going back after retirement. The links to computer information are somewhat lacking and serve to promote the author's other venues,
    All and all it is a handy review of how to sell but not the "bible" of selling that some sales managers use instead of training.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book

    I went through school learning all of the text book definitions. I should have just bought this book and found a decent product. I would have started making money earlier without the student loans! I am about to read his more comprehensive Sales Bible!

    http://www.netvibes.com/lenny3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    It is excellent

    I have listened to sales tapes all my career and I put these at the top. All my staff and associates are required to listen to them now. I have not had anyone complain that this material is not the Greatest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2007

    excellent book, compact and great value

    The book is very well structured around 12 1/2 principles. It's pleasent reading. I like the directness of Jeffrey Gitomer, it's not only to the point but the writer points out the basics very clear, with recognizeble examples. Read, study this book together with Dale Carnegie's 'How to win Friends and Influence People'. These two books together are two pillars of sales basics from human interaction and sales relationship perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    Great Principals

    This is a very good book. For more on cold calling techniques, I also recommend 'Dead Guys Don't Buy' by E.R. Carpenter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Straight-shooting advice from sales guru Gitomer

    Sales expert Jeffrey Gitomer isn¿t reinventing the sales wheel he¿s just showing you how it turns. Whether you¿ve been in sales for five weeks or five years, you know what questions you want answered: 'How do I make a cold call?' 'When do I ask for the sale?' 'How do I get referrals?' Gitomer answers these questions and more, succinctly and thoroughly, with a mix of common sense and hard-won experience. He doesn¿t provide shortcuts or a magic sales formula. Rather, he advocates hard work and preparation. His no-nonsense, conversational text is easy to understand and usually right on target. Although the book is sprinkled liberally with self-promotion (after all, he is a salesman), we believe that it¿s still a must-read for salespeople. Thumb through it often and keep it on your desk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    We Need Current, New Global Economy Selling Books!!!

    Between detailing and client relations classes, salespeople are quite often the most instructed/least taught professionals in the country. We get more training than some of the people we sell to, yet we still rarely ever 'get it'. Then a generation of selling books came out and we Strategic Sellers and Funnel Workers got busy. The basics were conceptually easy enough for us to work...the some corporate trainers took the ideas to levels that they should never been allowed. Hopefully, many of those trainers are now in prison. Gitomer gave us a return to the basics. Stuff that works, no overtaxed silly concepts based on nonusers, nonsales people and nontechnologists in the professions. Trainers and psychologists again - jeeeez! I always wanted to see those folks with a territory and the tools they pushed on us in the field. I digress.... These LITTLE RED SELLING BOOK series were begging to be written ever since 'Selling to VITO *Very Important Top Officers)' attempted to update in 1999 with poor success. The 1994 version was alittle folksy but the concept was sound and useful to sales people...good stuff that worked but it needed updating which was not successful done in the later version despite a try. I think the authors stopped selling and got jobs as trainers....completely losing sense of what sales really means in current useful terms. I digress again! 'Getting to VITO', much like the update of 'Selling to VITO' had great concepts and even actionable strategies. But times change and management thinking and decision making structures are evolving. A current VITO book was still unavailable. Gitomer has done a vrey fine job at meeting the need for a more involved and actionable VITO for the new millenium. Sound basics, new concepts, some tested some theoretical but still thought provoking for any industry sales staffers and managers. But as a veteran Sales VP I have detected something the current sales books are missing....the impact of the global economy, more and more corporations are centralizing services sales (as opposed to product sales) to a Chief Sourcing Officer or Chief Resource Officer to orchestrate services within the company prior to even entry permission as little as a call, email or mailed note. Governance interference by resource/outsourcing officers blocks sales access much greater than secretary, watch dog, or underlings to the decision makers....this is a small but vital issue overlooked by Gitomer - and you should pay attention as it will affect you sooner than you think. Don't dismiss it because you haven't encountered it yet. 70% of our current sales entry and presentation coordination is done collaborately through a police force known as outsourcing governance. The new global economy is evolving sales entry and approval in the services industries (everything from IT to Payroll to HR to Consulting). Plus there are an incredible number of new sales and business development opportunities for people with Outsourcing (sales, operations or governance experience). Get with the program guys and gals...particularly those of you looking for work. The best book to fill this gap of cutting edge 'sales to management' knowledge is Brown & Wilson's famous book on outsourcing and the new organizational structures because of outsourcing's impact, 'THE BLACK BOOK OF OUTSOURCING: HOW TO MANAGE THE CHANGES, CHALLENGES & OPPORTUNITITIES'. Its by far the best book on the subject and speaks in terms of that sales folks will understand because the authors are former sales guys themselves. These two books together will make the business development and sale executive looking to sell large item and services into the global or local corporation can find no better companion set of books. Supplement 'VALUE FORWARD SELLING' with 'THE BLACK BOOK OF OUTSOURCING' and you'll give yourself the edge over your fellow 'stragetic sellers' still caught in the 1990's! Good Selling!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    BRILLIANT! LOVE IT! OWN IT! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!

    This book is so awesome! Jeffrey cuts through the junk other authors use to editorialize their thoughts. This is precise and is so wonderful. I have read it 3 times already in 2 weeks. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    12.5 stars

    This book gives hints on selling using 13 principles [actually 12.5 principles :-)]. The author points to the right attributes of a sales rep and talks about the importance of personal branding, networking, being creative, reducing the risk for the customer to increase the chances of selling, being alert always for opportunities (antennas up!), need for understanding why the customer buys rather than why the sales rep sells, etc. Other positive points about the book are: compact, attractive, fun to read, uses 'sales language', quality of the print and the material is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Outstand Book To Get You On the Right Track

    I found Gittomer's book, to be an wonderfully easy to read book, while at the same time you find yourself needing a break after each chapter so that you can pause and absorb the content. Very simple and straight forward writing makes it easy to read, and the depth of wisdom makes it a book to carry along with you as you travel and continue on your quest to becoming a better sales man and better person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Red is the color of fire....

    .. if you're not on fire, you'll lose to someone who is. That's selliing. Sell the sizzle, not the steak. I enjoyed this book as it read easily and kept me turning pages. Not your typical sales book. Everyone in sales should read this one and a couple others, then go out there and sell them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    To the point and kicked my &@# in gear!

    Im an 'old pro' when it comes to high tech software sales. I've been through all the programs. Jeffrey got me to re-focus on the things that really matter. 'Customers hate being sold, but love to buy'. Buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    Outstanding

    An absolute must have for the salesperson desiring to take their business to the next level. I highlighted nearly the whole book! Easy to implement the ideas suggested in the book. Am currently purchasing the book to give to our company CEO & COO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2