BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Little Red Book of Wisdom

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Great and useful insights

    This book gives new meaning to "wisdom". The real life illustrations brought the point of each chapter home. I really enjoyed it and have applied some of the wisdom in my own life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Life changing book

    More than any other book I've read recently, this book inspired me to become a better person. I fell in love with the Christian business and personal life principles the author shared and immediately reflected on my own life to see how many I follow. Before I put the book down, I read it a second time and took copious notes and made a commitment to myself to live at a higher level.

    My 5 biggest take-aways from the book:

    1. Stay under your umbrella: stay true to who and what God has called you to do. There is no price tag on doing what you're anointed for and no greater reward.

    2. Work less, think more. We live in a culture focused on productivity and businesses but does that really get us further ahead? What if we regularly took time just to think and see what wisdom God gives us? He is ready to answer but are we ready to listen?

    3. The wisdom of firsts: first hour, first day, first dime. What is really first in our lives? Mark shares the value of putting God first in every area of our lives and the amazing benefits that come from making that choice.

    4. Turtle on a fence post. How did that turtle get there you ask? How do we accomplish all that we accomplish? God's blessing and God's favor on our lives - don't forget to give credit where credit is due and never forget where you came from.

    5. Proverb a day. There are 31 chapters of proverbs and 31 days in a typical month. How much more could we grow in our understanding of God's principles for success if we read a proverb every day?

    As I read this book, I felt the direction for my business shift and I am so excited to implement these ideas. Thank you for such an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Wisdom of Life

    If you go to a coffee shop and get something to drink, I suggest to get a copy of this book and bring it there. Just seat back for like an hour and chill out while reading this wisdom book from Mark DeMoss. You know Why? Its because if you have a situation in your life that difficult to manage. Let say some people that part of your life who trusted you most yet trying to pull you down. This book of wisdom will help enlighten your mind and make a right decision on certain situation. There's a lot of interesting topics here for instance Finding and keeping your focus in life, Getting out of your comfort zone, Appreciating how you got where you are, Take steps now to avoid regrets later in your life and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Little Book - Big Wisdom

    My personal book preference is one that uses real life stories that I can relate to, introducing them with an interesting approach and sharing positive outcomes and impacts; stirring in some inspirational nuggets that are easy to apply across a variety of situations.

    For those reasons and more, I really enjoyed The Little Red Book of Wisdom. Applicable to work, relationships, and life in general, this is a quick infusion of truth, inspiration and wisdom, powered by life experience. A quick review of a few chapter titles and subtitles provides insight to the type of content to be found by the reader:

    Chapter 9: Money Isn't Everything, Good People Are; Creating a winning corporate culture

    Chapter 18: Shut Up and Listen; Learn to listen more than you speak

    Chapter 15: There Are No Degrees of Integrity; You either have it or you don't

    Chapter 7: But Some Stamps; Reclaiming the lost art of letter writing

    Each of the 23 short chapters is a story unto itself, sharing important life wisdom through the experiences of real people. Many of the chapters also include Christian references, but this is not an in your face gospel. It is an easy-to-read and important-to-read book across all demographics.

    For a meaningful break from today's rapid-paced and complex world, enjoy the heart-felt simplicity of this book. If you're looking for an inspirational gift for someone graduation college, or someone going through a life-changing time and needing a pick-me-up-and-move-me-forward gift, consider The Little Red Book of Wisdom.

    Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. Other than that, neither the publisher, author nor anyone connected to them offered any influence on the content of my review. The opinions I have expressed are entirely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    The Little Red Book of Wisdom by Mark DeMoss

    The Little Red Book of Wisdom is just that. It is red, little, and filled with wisdom. The advice found in this book can be applied in business or privite lives. From a right view of money to not having any regrets this book is filled with wisdom. And although it took me less than a day to read it through, it would be worth your time to read a chapter a day. This book also gives examples of how if people had used this wisdom there lives would be in much better shape. In my opinion this book would make a great gift to any body of any reason. If you own a business you should read this book, apply it to your business, than give it to your workers. Mark DeMoss has filled this book with examples of how this wisdom is to be applied. The stories from his life make this book very readable. In short, read this book. It is a real treasure. Whether or not you run a business this book would make a great addition to your library. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Great book that I thoroughly enjoyed!

    The author shares in mini-chapters about his own experience and why it is important to pay attention to the small things in life. He also goes on to talk about how following some small rules in life impacted his life and those around him.

    It was an easy read but I was all happy while reading it. I was able to reflect on how I can use these wise tips in my life to make a difference in my own life and to others.The author doesn't come across as a teacher trying to teach all the good lessons but his style of sharing his life experiences, made it more reflective and thought provoking.It would be a great book to read while traveling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Great gift book

    I chose to read The Little Red Book of Wisdom because the title intrigued me. When I received my copy I was thrilled with how attractive and well made it is. Comprised of 23 chapters, this little book fits neatly in the palm of your hand or pocket and offers more wisdom than you would expect from such a small volume. It covers all the essentials from priorities to time management; as well as integrity, honesty, and making wise choices. I can say that I enjoyed every chapter, but most importantly I learned something from each one. I was especially impressed by the chapter on technology and believe that we could all use a good dose of the reality check that it encourages. I was also reminded of how beneficial it is to read from Proverbs every day and live in such a way that there are no regrets at the end of the journey. Finally, I was delighted to see that Mr. DeMoss ended the book with a chapter on salvation-the best piece of wisdom he could have given. I believe this book should be a staple in every home library and it would make a great graduation gift. I received a copy of this book free from the publishers through BookSneeze blogging for books program in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Contemporary Proverbs

    If you're looking for a quick, insightful read in the tradition of Life's Little Instruction Book, then I highly recommend this book.

    Mr. DeMoss, president of the DeMoss Group, divides his book into two main sections, professional and personal wisdom.

    The author shares that he received more feedback about the value of writing pen-and-ink letters as opposed to emails. This is a valuable insight and great advice.

    The book is filled with contemporary proverbs like "under-promise, over-deliver" and "knowledge has right answers, wisdom has right questions."

    To collect more pearls of wisdom, read this book!

    Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for my unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    21st Century Proverbs

    If King Solomon came back to visit the 21st century, his words of wisdom would be found in "The Little Red Book of Wisdom" . . .only, the book is actually written by Mark DeMoss. : ) I downloaded this book digitally, but now I'd like to actually get a hard copy. It's just one of those books that you NEED on your coffee table/bookshelf. And if you're looking for a good gift for a dear friend, this book is what you're looking for.

    I love reading a book where you can truly feel the heart and soul of the writer. "The Little Red Book of Wisdom" is a book that is written with A LOT of heart, in order to save your soul, as well as help you get through life successfully. I once thought Proverbs held the keys to life, but with the rate of speed that society is changing, the wisdom found in Mark Demoss' message prove to be essential to living a life that is worth in today's age.

    I especially loved the topics covered. Each topic was expanded upon by amazing stories of famous people, companies, etc. You'll be shocked and encouraged through each brilliant example. Some of my favorite topics were:
    Stay Under the Umbrella
    Here's to Not Drinking at All
    Anticipate Deathbed Regrets
    Work Less, Think More
    A Matter of Life and Death

    My favorite, however, was the section, "The Wisest Decision Anyone Can Make" With power, conviction, and a lot of heart, Mark Demoss lays out the greatest question of all, "And then what?" You'll have to buy this little gem of a book to find out what that question means and how desperately you need to answer it! ; )
    Do yourself a favor, get this book in hardcopy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    Great book - highly recommended!

    The Little Red Book of Wisdom by Mark DeMoss is a great book filled with advice for both your professional and personal life. It presents wisdom from DeMoss' own experience and also that passed down from his father, successful insurance entrepreneur, Arthur DeMoss.

    Advice such as reading a chapter of Proverbs each day and tithing faithfully are presented alongside other advice that help one lead a successful life, both professionally and personally. The book is divided into 2 sections, one on professional life and the other on personal life. There are 23 chapters with titles such as "Shut Up and Listen: Learn to Listen More Than You Speak" and "The Amazing Power of Understatement: Under-promise, Over-deliver." There is a wealth of wisdom contained in this little book.

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking to become more successful. It would be especially helpful for someone just starting a career or that recently married. It would make a great addition to any library.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1