Customer Reviews for

Little Scarlet (Easy Rawlins Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    If you haven't entered the world of Easy Rawlins, this is as good a place as any to start. A good mystery with a phenomenal backdrop (1960s Watts after the race riots). This book gives an excellent insight into how an intelligent black man felt at this time in history and the injustices and anger he felt at having to survive in the white man's world. Highly recommend to anyone. The writing is superb - as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Historical Novel

    This novel was a big improvement over Brawly Brown. Easy Rawlins seems to have matured. Although the mystery is less than tight, his journey through a world that has forever changed is what makes this book compelling. Mosley writes with anger but still has compassion for all the victims of the riots, black and white.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Easy and Walter at their best

    Its the early sixties and there is trouble in Watts. Then a murder occurs and the police come to Easy Rawlins for help. And, so the ride begins for another wonderful excursion into the world of Black America as seen through the eyes of Easy Rawlins (Walter Mosely). Mr. Mosely has developed a style that is as much sociological documentary as it is a wonderful mystery story. The characters he weaves seem to breathe the very life that toke place back through our recent history. This time Easy must do for the white establishment what they themselves are unable to do because of the very riots that are taking place in the Black neighborhoods of Watts. Find out who killed Little Scarlett. The police believe they know who the killer might be and want Easy to find the perp. But Easy wants to find out who the killer is and why the killer did the act. Nothing is easy for Easy and Easy goes through his own metamorphosis as he uncovers and then finds the killer and discovers justice for all concerned. This story is really 4 1/2 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Easy Rawlins and Fearless Jones

    Always Outnumbered; Always Outgunned; Easy Rawlins and Fearless Jones are two men you do not want to meet in a dark alley.It was great to meet them both in the same book!! This book is a MUST READ!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    A Wrap: Historical Fiction with Political Commentary Tastily Contained in a Good Story

    Because I grew up there, because I was a burgeoning adolescent at the time of its setting, because the events in this story were the ones that began the formation of my view of the socio-political world... and above all because it was well written and entertaining... I LOVED IT! Mr. Mosley has skillfully driven another of his fiction-vehicles to a place where the reader hits pay dirt. For those who might not otherwise have a clue, here is a cruise through understanding what the '65 Watts Riots were about. For those of us who know the bitter-sweet road from our own journeys, he takes us on a trip down memory lane that can renew focus, sharpening the edges of our consciousness and memory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    EASY ON THE EARS

    The eighth Walter mystery starring Easy Rawlings, a mid forties African-American PI in Los Angeles, is as tense, dramatic, and unputdownable as its predecessors. Accomplished television actor, Michael Boatman, brings Easy to life, revealing his tension filled days, fears, and determination. With Little Scarlet it's the mid sixties in L.A.; the aftermath of the Watts riots. When a red-headed woman known as Little Scarlet is found murdered in her apartment building, the police who are Caucasian for the most part come to Easy for help. It seems a man was pulled from his car at the height of the rioting. Lucky for him he escaped and ran into the dead woman's apartment building. Of course, he's now a major suspect in her murder. He's also nowhere to be found. Police are reluctant to return to that neighborhood to search for him lest they trigger further violence. Easy is their answer. With the help of his buddy, Mouse, Easy begins to investigate only to find that the killer's rage is even more intense than the heat of the recent fires. A mesmerizing listen. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    A New Fan!

    I have not ready any of Mosley's Easy Rawlins series. I'm only familiar with the lame Denzel Washington movie version of Devin in a Blue Dress. But I purchased this book based on the very positive review in the LA Times. I loved it. I enjoyed the crisp language and the tentative relationships between Easy and the various LAPD brass and rank and file he has to deal with. My coworker borrowed this book and has similar praise. Our only complaint is that the book is almost too sparse. I would have like to see even more development of the Easy-LAPD relationship. Maybe that's in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    Chocolatesleuth.com Pick!

    Set during the 1965Watts riots---the acrid smell of charred ruins, the property destruction, the tension in the air---the reader is quickly drawn in to the ninth installment of The Easy Rawlins Series. The L.A. Police department taps ¿Research and Delivery¿ expert Easy Rawlins to help them solve the murder of a black woman last seen with a white male suspect. Detective Suggs reason for making this request of Easy is thin¿to keep fresh riots from erupting. But once Suggs tosses out a few scenarios where the cops would have grounds to take Easy into custody if he refuses, he reluctantly begins the investigation. With more than thirty characters, this tale flies as quickly as rounds from a sniper¿s rifle. After the disappointment of Bad Boy Brawley Brown I was glad to see Mouse¿s return, though his resurrection was not explained. I also liked that the list of players included Paris Minton and Fearless Jones, but the meandering way these two characters where pulled in added nothing to the storyline. Mosley captures the feeling of the time, the fear that had everyone on edge and the loss and the promise of the riots aftermath. Easy is older and feeling his age at every turn, refusing young sex and losing against young fists. This book continues the noir that we fell in love with in Mosley¿s Devil In A Blue Dress and brings us back to the subject of passing and self-loathing, which unfortunately, still exists in our culture today. Little Scarlet is a must read for fans of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1