Customer Reviews for

Little Women

Average Rating 4.5
( 492 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(317)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good

Good, classic novel. Never had to read it in school so decided to read it as an adult. Was pleasantly surprised. A little slow at some points but glad I read it since it is considered a classic.

posted by Anonymous on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

NOT the Whole Story!!!

This is a wonderful classic and the format is fantastic. However it is a little known fact that Little Women was published in two separtate volumes, the first in 1868. This version is only part one of what has been traditionally recognized as Little Women since 1880. At...
This is a wonderful classic and the format is fantastic. However it is a little known fact that Little Women was published in two separtate volumes, the first in 1868. This version is only part one of what has been traditionally recognized as Little Women since 1880. At the end of this story Beth is still alive! This is ridiculous. It is such a shame because my daughter loved reading this book but now needs to continue reading from another complete copy of Little Women. The publisher did the same thing with Heidi. In their version Clara never makes it up to Grandpa's and that should have tipped me off about Little Women.

posted by Anonymous on January 6, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Amazing! I loved it and I still love it even after I am do reading it!

    This is the best book ever! The auorther of this book should get an award for writing such a amazinly great book!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Beutiful book

    So romantic wonderfullly written

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Beautiful

    A beautiful piece of literiture

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Wonderful

    I must have read this book 1000 times yet i love to turn the pages and read it agian & again

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    ALL Time Favorite Author

    this is my favorite book of all time, one I re-read every year around Christmas time - nothing will ever be able to compare, even Pride and Prejudice (which is also one of my favorites).Little Women was originally written in two volumes: Little Women and then Good Wives; today these two books are combined, so will be my review... ((this may be a bit long of a review so bare with me - there is just soo much to cover in this book))

    Loosely based off of her own life, Alcott presents a story about four women who grow both individually and together as a family during times of trouble, turbulence, and peace. Each sister has their own hopes and dreams, and each sister finds their place in the world only after discovering heartache, pain, love, and loss. Jo, who is loud, rambunctious, hard headed and impatient, finds solace through her writing. She struggles greatly to find peace within her self and accept herself as she is. Meg, the oldest remembers a time when the March family was revered and was not in financial hardships, making it hard for her to accept life as is, all the while being kind and understanding to her young sisters. Beth, the quite and timid sister, who is always kind and sees the good in everyone and everything, desires nothing more than to remain at home with her family and dolls. Amy, the youngest of the sisters, is constantly concerned with how prime and proper she should look, act, and speak, but remains true to her character.

    Laurie, the boy next door, finds himself a home he never expected in the March household as he finds it hard to live up to his grandfather's expectations of him. He is seen as an older brother to all the sisters, never faulting in his devotion to them, that is until his feelings for Jo grow into something more. However, Jo is unable to see Laurie and he wishes and her desire to find her place in the world is never greater.

    You really see the divide between childhood and adulthood when each of the sisters go their own way: Meg gets married, Beth remains at home, Amy travels abroad to Europe, and Jo goes to New York (Laurie is also left to his own devices, first going off to college and then working for his grandfather in Europe). It is only when tragedy hits the sisters, are they all able to come back together, as new adult women.

    While this novel is filled with girls knitting, needlepoint, and darning (which were expected of women of the time), it goes much deeper than that. Alcott presents the constant struggle that many women had, and even many women of today, between their loyalties to their family as well as to theirselves, and trying to find a balance between the two. This is a wonderful novel that can teach anyone many different lessons about life and love and family.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    THE GREATEST BOOK OF ALL TIME

    This book is very touching and how they showed kindness to each other. And yes it is a very long book but I think it is worth reading it. In my opinion this is a must read book during middle school to high school. But I as an adult think you shiuld read this bokk again when you are an adult because you might find some thing you never noticed when you are reading it. This book is a real historical fiction book af it shows love for each other and I am not ashamed to tell you tis but I cried at some parts of this story because it was soooooooo touching. Parents/gardian you have to tell your kids to read this book because it changed my life when I was 12 years old. And this was the first time I read this book and I am really happy that I read this book. I hope you are goin to read this book and HAPPY READING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Dfgvfgghvjjhvf fbydhyfhtbjyc

    Rbghftgxthfivykvrdykggkddujgvb awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Anyn: part two of the story at burgur res six...

    Letting out a sigh, he stepped inside the house. His aunt, most likely still on the stupid game, yelled at him,"Take of your dam shoes! You're making a racket with your footsteps you dunce!!" "My footsteps aren't even audible you 'dunce'!" He paused midstride and rolled his eyes. His aunt was nearly always wrong when it came to his outfit and the way he presented himself, but she always managed to remind him about things he should have done in the place of say "taking off his shoes", like removing his jacket and backpack. He chuckled to himself as he removed it and set it on a rack in the closet near the door. As he puts back his backpack on, he comes up to his aunt and sees headphones on her and a mirror reflecting the front door to her. He throws his hands up in exasperation,"Aunt, seriously!!? You can't even HEAR ME!!!" He shakes his head and made an effort of making huge steps to the stairs, stomping as loud as he could. He jumped up the flights of stairs to the third floor in wide strides. He walked down the hallway and hummed a lively tune. At his door, he paused and saw a note on the handle. It read "Clean your freakin rom yo brat!" He smiled as he saw the misspells. He ripped the note in quarters and stuffed it into his jean pocket. He turned the cold handle and entered into his room. It was clean, as always. What he didn't get was why his aunt thought a trashcan full of crumpled papers full of his sketches was a mess. He takes a deep breath and bups his head on the chandlier,"Oh. My gosh. I moved that stupid thing up three inches yesterday!" He yelled at the gothic light adornement. His aunt had most likely moved it down so the chain suspending it wasn't pulled up. He reached up and pushed the chandlier out of the way, only to have it crack back into his head when it swung back. He rubbed the back of his head in annoyance and a scrunched up face,"Whatever. Too much work for a day. I'm not fixing you until my brain cells fully heal." He says talking to the still swinging light. He turns around and surveys his bland room. A simple bed, a small desk, and a chair with a lamp. Why couldn't he do his drawings here, because of the camera that would be constantly watching him. He thought about his aunt. Why would she play video games when she had soooo many drawing untencils and the such? She wastes time on the pc when she could be making art. Real 'dunce' i am...he sat on his baed, rolling his eyes at the camera. It wasn't on, yet. It came on only when she was in bed, and it didn't stop rolling until she could stop it. He thought of moving to another room so she couldn't see. But when he did try, she put cams in all rooms. So no matter where he went, her stupid black, empty, and unfeeling eyeball would be following his every innocent move. She started this madness when her art went missing two years ago, when his mother died in a train wreck off of the nearest highway. His aunt was superstitious and thought her "evil sister" had been haunting the house. He lauged at the notion of ghosts and layed back in his bed. Still in his clothes, he sighed and watched the moon cascade down the horizon to the east. His eyes sparkle as he sits up and crosses his legs, watching the moon with more intensity. His vision began to blur and the flashbacks began anew. He smiled faintly as he remembered the nature walks,"Okay. Yeah step there, no no!! Now you're wet!" He remembered the laughing, they were rossing a river...the visions stopped and he slept.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    This book is a great classic!!

    I always thought that this book should be boring, but after learning about it in school, I read it and I just love the way the four sisters always have eachothers back!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    Absolutely positively amazing!!

    After reading the Harry Potter series, I really for some reason could not find a book I could really get into. I didn't think it was possible that any story could be that amazing, but I was wrong! I read Little Women this summer and positively fell in love with it! It was really the most realistly radient story I have ever come across! Ther's not really much else to say accept that, as much as I am obssessed with Harry Potter, I think I am more obssessed with little women! And believe me, that's saying something!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    A Classic

    This was my favorite book as a young girl. Now that I have daughters I read it again to see if I still loved it in light of some of the current literature my 5th grader is reading. I still love it and can't wait for my daughter to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Remarkable

    This book is a must read. Ages 10 and up shoukd look into this book. This is a spoil-free page, and guys, no one dies. So, just read this GREAT American classic.

    p.s. don't let 643 pages scare you. It is soooooo worth it. : { )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    This was the book I would begin to read each summer on the last

    This was the book I would begin to read each summer on the last day of school. I would run home and if the weather was good, climb into an apple tree in our orchard and begin the wonderful process of immersing myself in the life of the March family. My heart softens just thinking about those times, and I am 65 years old now. I would wake up in the morning with the sun streaming through my east bedroom windows and open the book and begin reading to wake me up. I remember the sounds of the Bob-Whites calling and the heat of summer. I will begin reading this book to my granddaughter this Christmas. Although this heart warming book was my favorite, sometimes I would shake it up and read "A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court" by Mark Twain first and Little Women second. We had that book in our farmhouse bookshelf in the old "classics" black binding with gold printing. I don't remember if Little Women was found on those bookshelves, but I still have my copy with my name in it inscribed with a childhood cursive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Well

    I have read a different version and LOVED it so i think i will like this one too

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Love

    I love the movie i layk lorie and jo i think thay make a good copl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Sonic

    Hey Badwolf want to chat

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    To florence

    Sorry i didn't get to finish that last reveiw. Anyway i was wondering if you wanted to talk back and forth on this reveiw page for little women? Respond to me as soon as you can, and for the title call it pink piggy florence

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Read my review.

    Wow i hate that guy or whoever did a spoiler alert ssssssssooooooo angry im on page thirty and i found out who died nice going:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!

    I honestly thought i wouldnt like this book considering my grandma recomended it to me but wheen she died and couple months later i decided to read it for her and i shoulda done it a long time ago because if i started when she told me about it i would have been done and doing what we always do after we read the same book sitting at the table or hours talking about and that just makes the book that much better because she told me to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    AMAZING

    For all you people out there that thinks this is "sucky". You are the "sucky" one this is an amazing book, and if you can't appreciate tht then you don't understand anything in life. That is all i have to say. Goodbye.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16