Customer Reviews for

Little Women

Average Rating 3.5
( 43974 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14785)

4 Star

(7583)

3 Star

(7477)

2 Star

(4455)

1 Star

(9674)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Recently I read the book Little Women; the book was very moving and uplifting. I have read this book twice now and each time I read it I got more out of it. The tie between the sisters is one that even death can't separate.

The March family is forced to be with out their father during the war. The four sisters: Meg, the beautiful eldest, Jo, the tomboy author, Beth, the tender-hearted, and Amy, the romantic artist, face many timeless struggles that girls of all ages face. Their story only ...
The March family is forced to be with out their father during the war. The four sisters: Meg, the beautiful eldest, Jo, the tomboy author, Beth, the tender-hearted, and Amy, the romantic artist, face many timeless struggles that girls of all ages face. Their story only brings them closer and captures you in the process.
In my opinion, the book Little Women is a classic book for many ages. I thought the book was interesting and I personally have read the book at least twice. The book has a timeless theme. It also has characters that relates to most.
In conclusion, I would suggest you read it at least once. The March family reminds you that even in rough times you can get through it. Louisa May Alcott has created in my opinion a timeless book. This book will probably remain popular for many years.
The book was interesting and great for girls especially, but don't let that stop you boys from reading it, too. I liked it so much I watched the movie.

posted by Jgirl09 on May 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Little Women...the time has passed.

Little Women is one if English Literature¿s most treasured classics. Louisa May Alcott was an 18th century author who wrote about the lives of people two hundred years ago. This novel is a touching story about four sisters who fight poverty together during the 1860s whe...
Little Women is one if English Literature¿s most treasured classics. Louisa May Alcott was an 18th century author who wrote about the lives of people two hundred years ago. This novel is a touching story about four sisters who fight poverty together during the 1860s where you watch the girls develop and mature from teenagers into womanhood. The four daughters remain caring and close to one another under the watchful eye of their dear mother, Marmee. Meg, Beth, Jo, and Amy learn through life¿s hardships, supporting each other and growing into delightful little women. The story commences with the March family¿s father fighting in the Civil War, while the four daughters and their mother living in poverty on Christmas day in the USA. They befriend their wealthy neighbors, the Laurences, and form a lifelong alliance with Teddy and his grandfather who help them immensely through hard times. Once Mr. March returns, the girls are overjoyed to see him, having been gone for nearly a year. The plot continues as three of the girls are captured in romances, while Beth is terribly ill. There is also travel abroad as well as other adventures at home. What exactly becomes of each of them? Well, read the book and find out. As for the other young adults today, would I recommend this book? The truth is no. This novel contains beautiful language and impressive writing, but most teenagers in the present would not appreciate this and would probably think ¿Oh no! Not another one of these boring things!¿ The majority would much rather read stories by Meg Cabot or novels such as The Devil Wears Prada. Essentially, this book is too old fashioned and verbose for the likes of most today. The time has passed and readers look for more action or romance. Most children of the 20th century would probably be better off watching the film or reading one of the shorter, modified versions ofAlcott¿s work. If you do choose to read the novel, however, you would find that the storyline is touching and enjoyable. If you happen to like this book, there is a sequel named Little Men you may want to read. A warning to all readers: this book contains several dry, wordy, and overly detailed passages.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45063 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2254
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    This book is so awesome!!!

    Im only 11 and i read this book! This is so good plz read

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Read it, read it, read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Me like, me like:)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Mason likes the book little women

    This book has imspired me. Shows me not all the world is happy. As I compair it to other books I have read i statrt to see this ather paint the piture in your mind as my 5 grade teacher, mrs.Lovello would say. That is why I rate this book so high.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    I would like to clarify that the hard cover edition of Little Wo

    I would like to clarify that the hard cover edition of Little Women (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics Series) IS THE COMPLETE STORY and includes BOTH PARTS 1 and 2.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Great classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic bookGreat classic book

    Great classic book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    :)

    Being a teenager, i enjiyed this book. I love reading the classics and to me it is absolutly beautifully written. I laughed and cried and will definatly not leave book sitting on the shelf for too long.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Test

    Test. This is a test. to follow that stars. no matter how hopeless

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Yeah..

    Pretty good

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    fgjf

    fhhh

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    bn poor marketing techniques

    i agree with anonymous. didn,t order this, it just showed up. why can,t i get rid of of it with wi fi nook.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    I did not order this book!!!

    This book just showed up in my library. I don't appreciate this at all. Especially when you have no choice but to give nook your credit card # in order for you to use you're nook. How many books can they randomky just put on your nook

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Least interesting book I have ever encountered

    I consider myself an avid reader and will consume almost any book I come across. This title is the only book I have intentional set down and refused to finish, it makes me feel as if my brain is melting. Intended audience is probably the same audience as all of reality television shows. I would not recommend this book to even the most shallow and boring person I know because it would encourage their self-absorbed behaviors. I do not know how this ever became a classic but it does not set any examples I would want my sister or daughters to follow.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Favorite

    I can't add much that hasn't been shared in other reviews. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott introduce us to four remarkable characters: sisters Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy March. Alcott wrote the first volume in two and a half months. That blows me away. The two volumes have been combined as one since 1880. Read Wikipedia for more information, especially the "Autobiographical Context" that shares information about Ralph W. Emerson.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    Highly Recommended

    This is such a great story about the lives of a family. Classics are a die-hard favorites of mine, and this one certainly stands out. Little Women never gets boring for it has twists and turns in the story coming from different characters. I absolutely loved the characters in the story, especially, of course, Jo. This book has true, lifelong lessons and a story you will remember and carry out in life. Don't write this off as an old, boring book. Trust me-it's worth the read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Loooooooooooooooove it

    I looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooved this book! I it was by far the best book I ever read in my life. You're soooooooooooooooooooooo missing out if you have not read this book. Read it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Wrong In Many Ways

    I personally like everything to go well at the end. But hey, who does right? I won't give away the ending, but my favorite character died, my least favorite character married my favorite male character, and a character that I thought I liked married an old guy in which I found no reason in which to connect their romance. The middle and beginning was okay, but if I don't like the ending, I don't like the book and this was one of the worst endings I have read

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    HORRIBLE WOMEN

    I love to read,but this book drove me crazy!!!!! I would rate it no stars but the computer wouldn't let me!!!Personally I like books with excitment(unlike Little Women).

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Wow!!

    Ive read many classics....but this one is the best!! It truley is an outstanding book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Little Woman

    I just started reading this book and i can not put it down!!!!!!! Such an amazing classic!!!!! A must read!!! ;-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Hi Hi

    DOES ANY ONE WANTTO CHAT

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45063 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2254