Customer Reviews for

Little Women (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 44237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14929)

4 Star

(7620)

3 Star

(7514)

2 Star

(4479)

1 Star

(9695)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

Recently I read the book Little Women; the book was very moving and uplifting. I have read this book twice now and each time I read it I got more out of it. The tie between the sisters is one that even death can't separate.

The March family is forced to be with out their father during the war. The four sisters: Meg, the beautiful eldest, Jo, the tomboy author, Beth, the tender-hearted, and Amy, the romantic artist, face many timeless struggles that girls of all ages face. Their story only ...
The March family is forced to be with out their father during the war. The four sisters: Meg, the beautiful eldest, Jo, the tomboy author, Beth, the tender-hearted, and Amy, the romantic artist, face many timeless struggles that girls of all ages face. Their story only brings them closer and captures you in the process.
In my opinion, the book Little Women is a classic book for many ages. I thought the book was interesting and I personally have read the book at least twice. The book has a timeless theme. It also has characters that relates to most.
In conclusion, I would suggest you read it at least once. The March family reminds you that even in rough times you can get through it. Louisa May Alcott has created in my opinion a timeless book. This book will probably remain popular for many years.
The book was interesting and great for girls especially, but don't let that stop you boys from reading it, too. I liked it so much I watched the movie.

posted by Jgirl09 on May 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

NOT the Whole Story!!!

This is a wonderful classic and the format is fantastic. However it is a little known fact that Little Women was published in two separtate volumes, the first in 1868. This version is only part one of what has been traditionally recognized as Little Women since 1880. At...
This is a wonderful classic and the format is fantastic. However it is a little known fact that Little Women was published in two separtate volumes, the first in 1868. This version is only part one of what has been traditionally recognized as Little Women since 1880. At the end of this story Beth is still alive! This is ridiculous. It is such a shame because my daughter loved reading this book but now needs to continue reading from another complete copy of Little Women. The publisher did the same thing with Heidi. In their version Clara never makes it up to Grandpa's and that should have tipped me off about Little Women.

posted by Anonymous on January 6, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 9695 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 485
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Booorrrring!

    I read this when I was a child but as an adult, this is one of the most boring books I have ever read. I know it is a classic but I could barely plow through it.

    8 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Little Women

    Honestly the orginal was the best. Don't buy this one it's not the real Little Women

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Not so great

    To much intreduction it could have not a time line and just get on to the story

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Tghhef

    It was ok. Key word(ok). I read it once but this book is like a one time read for peeps like meh. Once is good enuff for me. And i dont remember much bout the book which means the book was not written good enough to stick in my head. If u like cats an want to read a REAL BOOK! Look up ERIN HUNTER shes one of the few people who actually write GOOD BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Or u can look up warriors.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    fgjf

    fhhh

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    bn poor marketing techniques

    i agree with anonymous. didn,t order this, it just showed up. why can,t i get rid of of it with wi fi nook.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    I did not order this book!!!

    This book just showed up in my library. I don't appreciate this at all. Especially when you have no choice but to give nook your credit card # in order for you to use you're nook. How many books can they randomky just put on your nook

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Least interesting book I have ever encountered

    I consider myself an avid reader and will consume almost any book I come across. This title is the only book I have intentional set down and refused to finish, it makes me feel as if my brain is melting. Intended audience is probably the same audience as all of reality television shows. I would not recommend this book to even the most shallow and boring person I know because it would encourage their self-absorbed behaviors. I do not know how this ever became a classic but it does not set any examples I would want my sister or daughters to follow.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Wrong In Many Ways

    I personally like everything to go well at the end. But hey, who does right? I won't give away the ending, but my favorite character died, my least favorite character married my favorite male character, and a character that I thought I liked married an old guy in which I found no reason in which to connect their romance. The middle and beginning was okay, but if I don't like the ending, I don't like the book and this was one of the worst endings I have read

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    HORRIBLE WOMEN

    I love to read,but this book drove me crazy!!!!! I would rate it no stars but the computer wouldn't let me!!!Personally I like books with excitment(unlike Little Women).

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Yo Kiddies

    I like pie. Cherry pie. And cheesecake.

    CHEEEEEEESECAAAAKE

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Sample?

    Do we get this when we first get our nooks?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    What the hell???

    I looked at the page number... i repeat...what the hell

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    I hate death

    If you hate death dont read. Its too sad.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Who wants a book with death?

    Blah dont buy :(

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Number 2 is right

    What the hell? WAY TOO MANY PAGES TO FIT INSIDE THIS TINY NOOK!!!! WITH A LOT OF OTHER STUFF TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Jdjjjdjddjeksdddkdkkdkddjdjdjkjfiijodnuwhjwihjhkbubxidfkjjifjhjjjdjddjjhhddjjfjffjffjjejhhhjddjnjffjnfjdjdnjdjdnjddnjkjbejbushddjjjjjjjjjdjjddjdjdhdhhfjjdjddjdjejjjjfdjjdjdjjjdfjjjdijnsofhohsfjbodbjjbdudhdhjhjdfdhdjvdjdhjdhjhdsdhuhhhhhddhddhdhhjuehhw

    Dfddkjfkkdkwjdkkdndjjdndkkdkddkdkdkddkedkkmdkdddkkdejjkf

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Sorry

    Jdidjjf

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Wat is this about?

    SEE I NEVER READ THIS BOOK BEFORE AND IM 10 DO IS IT APROPRIATE BOOK FOR ME? MY MOMS FRIEND GOT THE BOOK FOR.WRITE BACK!!!!!!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Are you kiding?

    ??????????????......no way i am going to finish it.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 9695 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 485