BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Live Bait (Monkeewrench Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

When is P.J. Tracy's next book due out!!

I can't wait for the mother/daughter team to write another book! I am hooked after reading Live Bait. MonkeeWrench was good, but Live Bait is even better. The characters are great, they work off each other and keep the plot going. The twists and turns up to the end, I...
I can't wait for the mother/daughter team to write another book! I am hooked after reading Live Bait. MonkeeWrench was good, but Live Bait is even better. The characters are great, they work off each other and keep the plot going. The twists and turns up to the end, I just couldn't put it down. Keep up the 'great' work.

posted by Anonymous on June 4, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as Monkeewrench

Nice, good book with the colorful characters, lots of suspense at very end, not as suspenseful throughout as Monkeewrench. A little too light for me.

posted by SuseNJ on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as Monkeewrench

    Nice, good book with the colorful characters, lots of suspense at very end, not as suspenseful throughout as Monkeewrench. A little too light for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Awesome!

    I love this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining Mystery

    An unusual plot revolves around the cold-blooded murder of a number of Jewish senior citizens in the Minneapolis area. It turns out the connecting thread is they all survived the Nazis' concentration camps in World War II. But the city police detectives, aided by the Monkeewrench team (not as evident here as in the first book of the series) soon learn that these elderly survivors had another secret connection - a deadly one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Fantastic Read!

    What a great way to spend a hot afternoon - reading a thriller like Live Bait. Highly recommend it. Was sorry that it ended. Can't wait to get Dead Run!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    Better than the first

    Monkeewrench was great, Live Bait is much better. Hope this writing team keeps delivering winners!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    great way to kill a day

    what a great read..as an avid mystery reader I can usually pick out the murderer before the end..Not this time..great read, lot's of fun trying to work it out. Too bad these ladies don't have a web site to tell them directly how great their books are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    Excellent novel

    I can't compare Live Bait With the first book Monkeewrench.Both books were excellent,different plots.I hope this writing team has a long and successful career.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    When is P.J. Tracy's next book due out!!

    I can't wait for the mother/daughter team to write another book! I am hooked after reading Live Bait. MonkeeWrench was good, but Live Bait is even better. The characters are great, they work off each other and keep the plot going. The twists and turns up to the end, I just couldn't put it down. Keep up the 'great' work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Love the series, read them all!

    Good books, fast reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Excellent

    Have now read the first 3 books in the Monkeewrench series and enjoyed them all, will continue to read the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Excellent read with characters hat feel like friends

    This book was a terrific read. All of the characters are engaging. Some you love and some you despise but you stay engaged in the story. The authors definitely keep you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    Big Mystery Reader!!!!

    I highly recommend this book for a great summer read. Monkeewrench was good but this is even better. I will add this author to my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    LIVE BAIT, by PJ Tracy

    Zany and likeable detectives, Gino Rolseth and Leo Magozzi are called in to investigate the deaths of three elderly people. With the prospect of yet more murders, these apparently sensless killings are causing a state of near panic in the Twin Cities, Minneapolis. A possible link as the to motive of these deaths, is discovered. Each of the three victims had at one time, been a prisoner in a Nazi concentration camp. As in the first novel, Monkeewrench, this mother-daughter partnership, writing under the pseudonym P.J. Tracy re-creates all the original pace, vitality and sharp dialogue that made the first novel such a success. So that once again, in LIVE BAIT, the narrative keeps flowing, the pages keep turning. As the layers of the plot begin to unfold, the quality of the characters begin to make an impression. Gino and Leo could well feature in a novel of their own as well as the gun-toting and computer wizard, Grace MacBride. We witness former cop Marty Pullman, whose only solace since the death of his wife months earlier, is in a bottle of Jack Daniels, begin to realise that there is a glimmer of hope and that he might be getting better. All these identities are woven deftly into the fabric of the story, especially in the case of Grace who, intriguingly, remains a lady of mystery. LIVE BAIT then is a well plotted, intelligent read. But as the climax of the story approaches it could well be that there are more fundamentlal thoughts behind this story. The question of retribution, however justified it may seem, is never the complete resolution to any situation. And that the term hero can be earned in a most unlikey way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    A must read

    As improbable as it sounds, there have been no homicides in Minneapolis for months and the detectives that work on homicides are reduced to working on cold cases. The terrific dry spell breaks in a horrific way when eighty five year old Morey Gilbert, a victim of the concentration camp, is killed outside his home. Homicide detectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth (of MONKEEWRENCH fame) are assigned the case but they have little to go on because the victim¿s wife messed up the crime scene..................................... In the same neighborhood Mr. Fischer¿s living room is a sea of blood but there is no body. It is later discovered that the corpse is tied up at the railroad trucks but Fischer has a heart attack before the train could hit him. At first the two homicide detectives believe there is no link between the two killings but learns much later that there is. In the meantime, two more eighty-something victims, a man and a woman both living in Morey¿s neighborhood, are murdered and the only thing they have in common is that they are survivors of the camps................................. P.J. Tracy is an expect at writings crime thrillers with so many unexpected twists and turns in the storyline that readers find themselves totally absorbed in the book and will want to read it one sitting. The works of this mother-daughter writing team will be enjoyed by readers who like Patricia Cornwell, Christine McGuire, and Nancy Taylor Rosenberg. The action scenes are very realistic as is the plot but the characters take LIVE BAIT out of the ordinary into the sublime......................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2