Customer Reviews for

Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    PARTY MAP

    Result one: info. Result two: map. 3: bios. 4: warrior party. 5:were-whatever party. 6: mlp and mythical creatures or power party. 7: human party. 8: book rp party such as percy jackson harry potter etc party. 9: other animals like dogs or bears party. 10: other groups party. The rest: if your locked out, rooms, whatever.
    ~Sparklebunny1259

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Wonderful

    I am using this also as a day to day inspiration. Keeps me focused:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Highly recommended-great words of hope and encouragement

    I give it a 10 out of 10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Wonderful Devotional

    So my latest book to review is Live Loved, Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life. It is a devotional by Max Lucado that I requested from BookSneeze and I have to say I love it. I love devotionals, they help me start my day off in the Lord's presence, and that is always a good thing. This one is a great tool for doing that.

    This particular devotional is broken up into sections based on how God loves us: With a Steadfast Love, With a Perfect Love, With a Wise Love, With a Merciful Love, and Loved to Love Others. There is also a place in the back where the reader can make their own personal notes if they wish. Myself, I use my devotionals each morning as a starting place for my journaling, but I digress.

    Each devotional is on two pages. It starts with a Scripture at the top of the first page, includes a snippet of one of Lucado's books, then finishes up with a few more Scriptures to ponder and read. I enjoy this format personally because I can read his words, then refer back to God's Word and get a deeper meaning for my day. This is not a journal that is formatted day by day, but you can read it in any order you want, skipping pages or sections, thumbing through it, or seeking a section that seems to hit where your heart is that particular day.

    I really enjoyed this devotional myself, and also think it would make a wonderful gift for someone. It is helpful to keep you daily in the word, or to get you back into being in the word daily. I would highly recommend this to anyone who seeks to spend more time with the Lord daily.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Awesome book!

    Max Lucado does it again. A great devotional book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    empowering devotional

    "live loved" is a very inspirational devotional that is very hard to put down and address`s many of the tough storms that are faced by many people and offers alot of helpful comments and scripture from max lucado that is very hhelpful and offers alot of peace and courage for every day and it is very inexpensive and very small to carry and keep with you and travel. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Inspiring Devotional

    Love is what it is all about and in this inspiring devotional, Max Lucado explores different kinds of love. This book is divided into the following sections:

    Loved with a Steadfast Love
    Loved with a Perfect Love
    Loved with a Wise Love
    Loved with a Merciful Love
    Loved to Love Others

    Within each of the five sections listed above, Max Lucado explores each type of love in several devotionals. Each devotional begins with a scripture verse then provides a devotion from one of his previous books. He then provides a prayer as well as additional verses of scripture.

    I have always been a huge fan of the writings of Max Lucado and highly recommend this devotional as a gift or for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Big gift in a small package

    Love comes in a myriad of incarnations. We can love parents, siblings, children, extended family, friends, spouses, teammates or those with a similar interest. Author Max Lucado looks at the various forms of love in a series of short essays entitled "Live Loved."

    Each essay includes scripture references and prayer thoughts. Lucado lends his "over the back fence chat" style to a series of snapshots on love. His powerful images touch readers with the commonality of the situation.

    Take a look at this description of parental love from page 296: "Fear distilleries concoct a high-octane brew for parents-a primal, gut-wrenching, pulse-stilling dose." That's a powerful reminder of the cost of loving a child. Lucado offers an antidote to the fear: ".our kids were God's kids first."

    He reminds us that God uses us as we are, giving us what we need to grow. Reminding us that Christ has already paid the cost of our failures, he urges us to lean on God's grace. And to never lose sight of the love Christ has for us, so great that it took Him to the cross.

    "Live Loved" carries the label of gift book, but you needn't wait for a gift occasion. The vignettes with have been compiled from several of Lucado's earlier books. While the sections don't carry dates, they are short enough to use for daily devotions. They are also deep enough to be worthy of a Bible study lesson.

    Lucado has a knack for taking a scriptural idea and concentrating it down to its essence. This skill produces easy to read volumes with rich meanings. "Live Loved" is no exception. It makes a great gift of celebration, a powerful solace in times of trouble and a strong foundation for study at any time. With Lucado's help, readers are reminded of how much they are loved with the greatest love of all: that of their Creator and Savior. What a gift to give anyone!

    This review is based upon a review copy of the book provided by the publisher with no constraints on content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You are LOVED!

    I just don't think you can ever be disappointed with anything from Max Lucado. I wasn't sure if this devotional would be just another "devotional," but I took a chance on Max and I wasn't disappointed. "Live Loved" is all about knowing how complete God's love is for you. This devotional is a daily reminder that you are loved by God in ways that either you're not aware of or have forgotten over time. Each page is written with love.

    Each daily devotional starts with a Scripture and then a powerful message excerpted from Max's many books. The devotional is followed by several Scriptures that will press you forward in your faith. I've read most of Max Lucado's books and I did not find the devotional to be too familiar or repetitive. Lucado's writings are so encouraging, uplfiting, and inspiring that you have a desire to read them over and over again. So, I wouldn't hesitate to buy this devotional even though they are taken from his previous books.

    *I was provided this book for free through the Thomas Nelson BookSneeze Program in exchange for my unbiased review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Great Gift for Friends and Family

    Lived Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life is a great little gift devotional book by Max Lucado. Each day is an exert from one of Lucado's previous writings. This devotional book is on the same format as Grace for the Moment and includes 149 devotions. The book is divided into topical sections: Loved with a Steadfast Love, Loved with a Perfect Love, Loved with a Wise Love, and Loved to Love Others. Each devotional reading includes a scripture reading, commentary and is ended with a prayer. I find that these prayers are great starting points for my own personal prayer time. The book itself is padded hard cover with beautiful artwork done on the cover and inside pages. The artwork is neither too feminine nor masculine so it makes a great gift for anyone.

    If you are an avid reader of Max Lucado's than you will find these devotional readings familiar. The devotionals are taken from Max Lucado's books: It's Not About Me, Facing Your Giants, 3:16: Numbers of Home, Every Day Deserves a Chance, Fearless, and Outlive Your Life.

    I highly recommend this devotional book to everyone and plan to buy several copies as gifts for friends and family.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Great devotional!

    This is a very nice little book that is perfect to give as a gift to anyone - family, friends, co-workers...Full of devotionals to make us feel good and remind us of just how much God loves us no matter where we are in our life. Max Lucado has another hit with this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Live Loved- a Devotional

    Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life- A Devotional by Max Lucado, is a pocketsized, hardcover gift book filled with biblical inspiration on each page. This green- brown contemporary handy sized gift book would make a great encouraging gift for anyone- co worker, acquaintance, friend and family member on any occasion that a greeting card would be appropriate.

    In reality, many find that the bible is most likely too large or cumbersome to carry around. Even if you have one of those thin sized pocket/ check book styled bibles, the text font is probably too tiny too comfortably read. Unless the bible contains a concordance or you have already highlighted your favorite passages, the most applicable verses are probably not readily available in your time of greatest need. My intent however is not to discourage carrying a bible. Personally if given the choice I would choose to carry a bible even if it was the size of a dictionary. But, with this pocket sized devotional, relevant biblical verses as well as Lucado's trusted and inspirational commentary is readily available. Even though I am not advocating a replacement for carrying the bible- as I believe there is no substitute for the bible, I believe this inspriartional pocket sized book has relevant uplifting biblical based devotions as well as the verses to go with them, that this would make a good book to keep handy in a car or purse or pocket. This devotional is not grouped day by day, one for each of the 365 days of the year. There are no dates assigned making this flexible for the reader to read at his/ her own pace in any order. As a blogger for booksneeze, I recieved a copy of this book for the purpose of writing this review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1