Customer Reviews for

Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First

Average Rating 5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more

Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more than just an amazing read that has daily spiritual readings. This book is a lifestyle changer! Bender simplifies a what some beleive to be a complicated gospel by making the Word applicable to daily living...
Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more than just an amazing read that has daily spiritual readings. This book is a lifestyle changer! Bender simplifies a what some beleive to be a complicated gospel by making the Word applicable to daily living. It offers a daily guide with power-packed messages that make Bible passages come to life and relatable. Live Second provides a practical experience with the Word and will change how you view your relationship (or lack of) with Jesus.
It will challenge you to look deeply at self as you begin or continue your journey to Live your life second and put Christ first! Reading this book has greatly affirmed my love for Jesus and my passion to spread the gospel.

Not only will it leave you with a daily desire to grow, but you will be challenged to help others live out their God given potential and purpose as well.

This is a must read for anyone who wants to live a better, purposeful life...all while being second in a society that promotes being first.

I encourage you to buy this book that will change your perspective of only having "weekend visits" with God to having "daily dates" with Christ!!

May Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First be a blessing in your lives and the lives of those you come in contact with!

**I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.**

posted by ChavonC on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changin

This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changing. If you are looking for purpose and principal in life this is a must have. We are all broken, we are all sinners, we are all seeking acceptance and guidance. I am so blessed to have received and reviewed ...
This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changing. If you are looking for purpose and principal in life this is a must have. We are all broken, we are all sinners, we are all seeking acceptance and guidance. I am so blessed to have received and reviewed this book. One of the best ones yet. My husband and I are involved in a prison ministry program and this book has really given me some motivational words to speak. God is good.

posted by MandaPledger3060 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more

    Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more than just an amazing read that has daily spiritual readings. This book is a lifestyle changer! Bender simplifies a what some beleive to be a complicated gospel by making the Word applicable to daily living. It offers a daily guide with power-packed messages that make Bible passages come to life and relatable. Live Second provides a practical experience with the Word and will change how you view your relationship (or lack of) with Jesus.
    It will challenge you to look deeply at self as you begin or continue your journey to Live your life second and put Christ first! Reading this book has greatly affirmed my love for Jesus and my passion to spread the gospel.

    Not only will it leave you with a daily desire to grow, but you will be challenged to help others live out their God given potential and purpose as well.

    This is a must read for anyone who wants to live a better, purposeful life...all while being second in a society that promotes being first.

    I encourage you to buy this book that will change your perspective of only having "weekend visits" with God to having "daily dates" with Christ!!

    May Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First be a blessing in your lives and the lives of those you come in contact with!

    **I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.**

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    This book will change your life! A great reminder that we do no

    This book will change your life! A great reminder that we do not have to go through this life alone. In fact, we were never meant to. God wants us to do it with him. This book gives an honest outlook on how we should live life and gives real life examples of how to do it successfully by putting God first and yourself second. An easy and great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    This book is such a great reminder that when we're living for Ch

    This book is such a great reminder that when we're living for Christ, being in second place never felt like such a victory! It's easy to say that we want to put God first but this book gives us real, tangible ways in which we can make that a reality in our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    I previously read the "I am Second" book and loved it,

    I previously read the "I am Second" book and loved it, so I am looking forward to reading this one and even though I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review all opinions expressed above are completely my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    This book is AMAZING! It touched me and allowed me to take a ste

    This book is AMAZING! It touched me and allowed me to take a step back and look at my life from a different point of view! It truly has the power to do the same for thousands of others! Excellent book. You must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    As we enter the Christmas season, what a great opportunity to sh

    As we enter the Christmas season, what a great opportunity to share this book with friends, family, neighbors or even as a treat for your self. Live Second is not your every day devotional. This will challenge you to go deeper into the Bible. Many devotionals have you read the scripture they have placed in the book you read, but Live Second encourages reading directly from the Bible and then discussing it. It is a great encouragement to learn not only read God's word, but also initiate a conversation with God himself. As we are in a season that many are focused on self desires, this book challenges us to put ourselves aside and see why putting God first makes our lives complete.

    This will appeal to everyone, it has of daily reading, videos to watch and questions to make a person think. Live Second is a book that everyone can enjoy, even those who may not know God but want to begin to see what He is all about.

    Take the challenge and read the first chapter right here...It will leave you wanting more !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I first want to start out by saying this is not just another Chr

    I first want to start out by saying this is not just another Christian devotional. Live Second:365 Ways To Make Jesus First is not merely a book you read. It is an interactive daily experience that will draw you nearer to Christ. This book is a practical guideline for a personal journey! In order for my review to be of value I feel you should know a little bit about me. I am 43 years old and have only been a believer for two years. I went to church as a child but as a lot of us I turned my back on God as a young adult and my life had to come crashing down for me to fully understand our need for a Saviour. For years people in my life people tried to get me to go to church and influence me, but it is not something that can be forced onto a person. It has to be a personal revelation. That is why I love this book so much. It allows for such revelation, reflection and growth. Based on my experience I would recommend this book to Christians and non-believers alike, regardless of where you are in your walk with the God.

    One thing I love about this book is that its author Doug Bender is one of the founders of the I Am Second movement. Just like the movement, this book shows you how to have an experience with God and not just read a book about people who experienced God 2000 yeas ago. Jesus is alive today and this book encourages you to fully come to know Him and how that relationship will change your life forever. Through a mixture of scripture exerts, Bible passage reading assignments, self and group discussion topics, watching testimonial films on IAS and social media interaction you actually see how Jesus has changed peoples lives while you are leaning how He will change yours.

    The book is a 365 daily read to be looked at as a marathon and not a sprint. Its uses daily Bible reading as a foundation. The best part is it doesnt provide the passages your for you. You actually have to pick up the Bible and find the passage yourself. If you prefer the NIV version versus the King James edition, go for it! That way you can have the best understanding of what it is you are reading. The book helps you to understand what your reading by presenting you with questions such as; What does the passage say? What does the passage mean? etc...It instructs you to talk with God though daily prayer. On some days it even suggests a daily prayer. Then it encourages you to live and tell and practice what you are experiencing and learning!

    This book is for anyone trying to figure out the meaning of life, trying to fix their messed up life or just trying to find "themselves" (that can only be revealed to them by God through Jesus). To quote the author Doug Bender; "Wherever you are, let this book take you one step further in your journey with God. I believe and hope this book will be much more than a daily reading, that it will be a guidebook for travelers, a handbook for seekers, and a motivational manual for the uninspired." No matter what you are looking for, what you will most definately find in this daily experience is love, hope and inspiration!

    I encourage you to get this book, then TELL IT, PRACTICE IT and LIVE IT. Its one thing to know about God by reading about people who had an experience with him. Its something completely different to actually have a relationship with him yourself in your life today! Thats what Live Second will help you do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest re

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own. My five star rating is from the bottom of my heart.
    The way the book is presented makes it less threatening than other devotional books ( not a lot of lengthy paragraphs- very straight forward and to the scriptures) . It is laid out day by day with QR links with stories from athletes, actors, personalities. Includes hashtags to help further the conversation in the social media world. this book will truly be an amazing tool for anyone willing to stick with it 365 : )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I received a digital copy of this book for free! And i have rea

    I received a digital copy of this book for free! And i have really enjoyed it! I am a big fan of daily-devotional type books, so this book is perfect for me! Sometimes i have trouble reading books because i cannot keep my concentration- But with this, you only read a page a day ;) And whatever scriptures is noted on the page! (which is good, because it challenges you to OPEN up YOUR BIBLE and READ IT!!) Not only does it "Make You Think" it also teaches you some things you may not have known, through the scripture's, and stories.... Im so glad i was introduced to the entire "I am Second" organization. I've been a born-again Christian for a long time now. My Father a Pastor, for the past 20 years of my life. I was raised in Church.... But i never truly did put GOD first. I put everything else first, including my own self... But "I Am Second" has opened my eyes to a whole new word...... It's made me see life in a totally different way.. God is finally first (in my life) and I am second. It's life changing... I think everyone should get involved.. Wear the wrist bands, share it with your friends, tell people about it.. Put God first in your life! ~Seek Ye" FIRST" The Kingdom Of God and his Righteousness and all of these shall be added unto you. - Matthew 6:33

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    This book is truly inspirational. It helps connect the daily sc

    This book is truly inspirational. It helps connect the daily scripture to everyday life and makes it easier to understand. This book can help strengthen any relationship with God, from someone who has a nearly nonexistent relationship with Him to someone who has a very healthy relationship with God. Truly one of the best daily devotional books I have ever read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I have had the opportunity to read this book and it is wonderful

    I have had the opportunity to read this book and it is wonderful. We live in a very fast, busy world today. Finding time to have a devotional each day seems to almost be impossible. Once I began to read this book, along with reading the bible, I found that I couldn't stop. I was determined to make time to read it and it has been amazing. The writer takes Gods' word and brings it into today's situations that we all live each day. Living Second is a great reminder of who needs to be first in our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I received an advance copy of the book and I am pleased to offer

    I received an advance copy of the book and I am pleased to offer my review. If you desire to draw nearer to God and would like a tool to help you get into the Bible, I recommend this book. It's not an ordinary devotional - it's like having a mentor. In easy daily readings, it will guide you through important passages of the Bible from Genesis to Revelation and will encourage you to live out God's commands. Learn to "Live Second" and put the Lord Jesus Christ first in your life with this new book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest re

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own. I just finished reading Live Second and in a one word nutshell it is phenominal! If you are Christian this book will help solidify your faith in God. For those who are not Christian or are searching this book will make an excellent tool to help guide and lead them to Christ. I plan to buy quite a few copies to give for Christmas gifts. This book makes a great read for any level of faith. If you need a good reason to give a gift that will keep on giving this is the one for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    Just as good of a read as I am Second. This book is a must read.

    Just as good of a read as I am Second. This book is a must read. I love how the book is broken down into bite-sized, easily applicable chunks. This book is perfect morning devotional to get your day started off in a positive direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    This book is BEYOND AMAZING. It is just so thought provoking and

    This book is BEYOND AMAZING. It is just so thought provoking and a challeneg. I loved every moment of it. I am reading it for the 3rd time already. Started a book club on it too. A-MAZ-INNGGGG!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest re

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. After taking the 22 day challenge provided by [...], I got very motivated to stay positive about life and genuinely live second to Christ. I continued down this path and stumbled upon this new book, "Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First". It is a daily read, not meant to overwhelm you. It is perfect for a busy college student with a full class schedule, job, friends, and all the problems this world has to throw at you.

    I think that the most awesome thing about the book is that it topics to discuss with others, and then it has times for you to individually reflect and grow. This book was not written specifically for Christians. It was written for anyone that wants to change the way that they live their day to day life, though I find it difficult to think that someone could still believe that God is not working in their life after following through with the daily reading. It has inspired me to start my own local I Am Second group to motivate others and encourage them to see that life could be so much more if we looked at it under a new light and alter our lifestyles.

    It has definitely been a life changing experience for me. It has humbled me and brought me to my knees. I can say without a doubt that it has made my life do a complete 180. Though I have always believed in God, grew up in a Christian home, and went to church and a private school; I now consider the old me to be a lukewarm Christian. Don't be a lukewarm Christian and don't lose the motivation to walk with God daily. This book is a great tool to help you dive into the Bible without being completely lost or not knowing where to begin. It helps you open up to see your true self and also to get to know God on a deep and person level. Take the time to get to know your Heavenly Father today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changin

    This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changing. If you are looking for purpose and principal in life this is a must have. We are all broken, we are all sinners, we are all seeking acceptance and guidance. I am so blessed to have received and reviewed this book. One of the best ones yet. My husband and I are involved in a prison ministry program and this book has really given me some motivational words to speak. God is good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    This book not only offers you encouragement but applies it to yo

    This book not only offers you encouragement but applies it to your daily living! It's is honestly a great book! I recommend to anyone! Jesus is first.. There are many inspiring stories in each! I am second!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    "Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First" helped me

    "Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First" helped me and my fellow classmates at Western Carolina University. This book is meant for all ages but it is a very helpful tool for the younger generation because the mix of videos and discussion questions really helps bring this book and the discussions to life. This is a great tool for having small study groups and even large groups. I know from experience what God can do through someones life with a book like this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Luv it

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3