Customer Reviews for

Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First

Average Rating 5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more

Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more than just an amazing read that has daily spiritual readings. This book is a lifestyle changer! Bender simplifies a what some beleive to be a complicated gospel by making the Word applicable to daily living...
Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more than just an amazing read that has daily spiritual readings. This book is a lifestyle changer! Bender simplifies a what some beleive to be a complicated gospel by making the Word applicable to daily living. It offers a daily guide with power-packed messages that make Bible passages come to life and relatable. Live Second provides a practical experience with the Word and will change how you view your relationship (or lack of) with Jesus.
It will challenge you to look deeply at self as you begin or continue your journey to Live your life second and put Christ first! Reading this book has greatly affirmed my love for Jesus and my passion to spread the gospel.

Not only will it leave you with a daily desire to grow, but you will be challenged to help others live out their God given potential and purpose as well.

This is a must read for anyone who wants to live a better, purposeful life...all while being second in a society that promotes being first.

I encourage you to buy this book that will change your perspective of only having "weekend visits" with God to having "daily dates" with Christ!!

May Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First be a blessing in your lives and the lives of those you come in contact with!

**I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.**

posted by ChavonC on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changin

This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changing. If you are looking for purpose and principal in life this is a must have. We are all broken, we are all sinners, we are all seeking acceptance and guidance. I am so blessed to have received and reviewed ...
This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changing. If you are looking for purpose and principal in life this is a must have. We are all broken, we are all sinners, we are all seeking acceptance and guidance. I am so blessed to have received and reviewed this book. One of the best ones yet. My husband and I are involved in a prison ministry program and this book has really given me some motivational words to speak. God is good.

posted by MandaPledger3060 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 59 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 3
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I really loved the I Am Second book. I know I have to post a rev

    I really loved the I Am Second book. I know I have to post a review on it and I honestly thought I was going to make something up to get you to like it. But, after reading it I can say, I wont be lieing to you. I. Really like it. Its how you can choose to live second everyday with a 365 day devotional. What I loved about it was they had corresponding videos of real people talking about their personal stories and how that story relates to the topic of the day. What I liked also is that

    The people doing the videos are celebrities, but they are real people. Just. Like. Us. And they struggle. Just. Like. Us. My favorite ( other than the fact that I actually met this person a few times) is from Brant Hansen. I like it because its real. Its honest, and I learned from knowing famous people personally, that just because someone has a name, doesn't make them any less human or a superhero. Because once we go that route, we will be easily disappointed. Anyway, I really enjoyed the book. And I think you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    What a great guide for living second daily! This book has great

    What a great guide for living second daily! This book has great insight and is an excellent encouragement to everyone to lay down their lives and live second for Jesus. I highly recommend this book as it will change your life! Maybe you aren't a Christian, or maybe you want to grow in your relationship with God; this book is for everyone! Please consider picking up a copy; I am glad I have one, and I plan on sharing it with others!

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    For me, life works better when I have a plan, and there is nothi

    For me, life works better when I have a plan, and there is nothing more critical than having a guide to lead me through my Faith journey. Live Second is exactly that - a simple, easy-to-follow devotional designed to help you put Jesus first every single day. From the author of the amazing "I Am Second," the format of the book is beneficial for nearly any Christian, from the newfound believer to the lifelong veteran. By incorporating media right onto the page, the book is also perfect for those who aren't necessarily fans of reading. Rather, you are able to get a consistent mix of the written and spoken word to help you delve deeper into your walk with Christ. Discussion questions provoke thoughtful meditation, while actions encourage readers to not only learn the World but to also share it and live it. Weekly plans also create tracts that are great for group settings or to supplement other Bible study.

    Please note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    This is a great book.Anyone who wants to learn what it means to

    This is a great book.Anyone who wants to learn what it means to live second. There is a great freedom to live second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I was looking for a book to help me not only learn more about my

    I was looking for a book to help me not only learn more about my faith, but also help me with my day to day life. Little did I know how much this book would change my life so quickly. Each day i have been learning more and more what it truly means to be a Christian and to live second.The format made it very easy for me to use as a personal bible study and as a great tool for small groups. I would encourage everyone to pick up a copy for your friends and family and even for the people in your life, who aren't believers and who are very resistant to becoming believers. This book can lead you to big changes in your life, as you learn how to live second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I was so excited when I first heard about this book. I had watch

    I was so excited when I first heard about this book. I had watched several of the "I am Second" testimonies online and had also just finished reading the first book.

    Now that I've had the opportunity to read "Live Second," I can say that this book actually exceeded expectations. So many people ask questions about what "I am Second" is really about and this book starts from the beginning of faith and then really dives in. I feel confident about passing this book along to any friend or stranger. It was easy to read and digest, broken into simple thoughts and highlighted scripture that are meant to get you thinking and to begin conversations. The book also connects you to online testimonies that apply to different sections. It's a very interactive way of going deeper in to what it really means to be second.

    I can't wait to share this book with friends! "I am Second" itself is an outstanding ministry and this book is a great way to re-evaluate your own life to move into a purpose much greater than your own!


    *I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    As a young reader i feel that this book is very inspiring!!It sh

    As a young reader i feel that this book is very inspiring!!It shows the power of God and how everything is so much better with him in your life! I believe this book can strengthen anyone's relationship with God and very much change your life positively forever!!And therefore strongly recommend it for anyone out there seeking God!!I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest re

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own. Word cannot explain how power this book has been for me. Each day I wake up looking forward to what awaits me within the book. It has opened my eyes in many ways and made me realize that by putting Jesus first in your life, you not only become a better person but your faith grows as well. My relationship has strengthened in so many ways since reading this book and I believe anyone who reads this will grow spiritually and live a happier life because of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    this is a great read i know i am struggling with my life right n

    this is a great read i know i am struggling with my life right now and it has things that will help me through the trying times that we all face in our everyday lifes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I was also one who received a free copy of this book in exchange

    I was also one who received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Therefore, the review below is entirely my opinion and my words.

    Only this afternoon did I receive my copy of Live Second and just in one day am I amazed beyond belief. I AM SECOND has already made such an amazing impact on my life! However, this book not only further helped to solidify my faith in putting God first but also continues to change the way I will live my life day to day. This book puts life into a whole new perspective and it is exciting to think of the impact this book will make on those who read it! It is so easy and enjoyable yet I know I will definitely make the time everyday to read! I have only begun to read the book but am looking forward to finishing it!

    This book is set-up so simply and would be perfect for a Bible study, small group, or even a personal daily devo! It gives those who may be a little uncomfortable with the Bible a place to start and gives the reader scriptures and things to think about and ways to apply them to life. Also, the fact that it is interactive with the videos, also a HUGE help along the way, keeps a reader engaged and involved! Live Second will no doubt move and challenge any reader no matter where he/she is in his/her walk with Christ. It is so easy to apply what you read and learn.

    I strongly encourage all those reading this to purchase a copy for anyone you love in your life! It will make a perfect gift for just about anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    i was told to give an honest review about this book and i encour

    i was told to give an honest review about this book and i encourage everyone who has time on there hands to read a book, to read this book! this is by far one of the best books i have read yet and im sure you will agree with me when your finished with it too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    This is a Daily Reading book, that ask that you also read your B

    This is a Daily Reading book, that ask that you also read your Bible along with it. This book will help you discover the meaning of your life, your mission here on earth, and find the cure to life's most difficult situations. I received a free e-copy of this book, but I will purchase this book during the week of December 10th. I ask you to do the same. I plan to give these as Christmas gifts that will help my friends throughout all 365 days of next year. Being Second with Jesus First will change your life also!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I received a free copy of the book (e-book) in order to post an

    I received a free copy of the book (e-book) in order to post an honest review of the book. The I am Second ministry has been a great ministry and I enjoy the videos that are on the site. On to the book review...

    Each daily read has videos, passages of Scripture to read, or a combination of both with stories. In the videos are people who tell viewers where they have come from. Each daily reading is short and to the point, but gives you a lot to think about. Great for journaling about your own life, as well as great tools to think about talking about in a small group. I learn new stuff about my life as I listen to these videos, as well as the stories! I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for something new in life!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I really like that at the beginning of each week there is someon

    I really like that at the beginning of each week there is someone else's story you can read and discuss, as well as questions about the passage and the suggestions to Live It. Tell It. Practice It.

    Even if you're not a Christian, or if you don't know much about God and are just curious, the questions and discussions this book provides will draw you out of your comfort zone; they encourage us to have an open mind, to answer the questions honestly and to potentially discuss our thoughts with others.

    The paragraphs after each passage really cause us to think about what we've just read and realize that God is so much bigger than we are. I've found myself nodding my head when reading this paragraphs; I've chuckled to myself because I've thought the same things at times and it reminds me that I'm not alone. I've cried, because God really used that portion of scripture and/or commentary to speak to me when I needed it most.

    One tiny thing that distracted me while reading was that there were some type-o's and words that should have been past tense instead of present. Not that big of a deal when looking at the book as a whole, but for me, personally, things like that stick out and are a bit distracting.

    Another portion of this book I really enjoy is the "Talk with God" portion. These are amazing, because sometimes it can be so hard to find the words to pray to God, and although these are just suggestions, they've helped me out a lot when not knowing exactly what to pray.

    Overall, this book is incredible. It allows us to explore who we are and who God really is and realize that we, and everything else in our lives, really do come second compared to Him. Although this is set up as a devotional, I see it as so much more than that. It's really a much needed tool when trying to discover who we are and what we want to make of our lives. This book will allow you to grow and mature in ways you might not have believed to be possible, all you have to do is be open, honest, and commited.

    *** I have received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own. ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    This book is for anybody who wants more out of their pages than

    This book is for anybody who wants more out of their pages than just another silly story. Doug Bender's Live Second is a helpful guide to making Jesus first in your life. Now, I am not someone who was born in the faith - in fact, about a year ago I thought such God talk was nonsense. I was introduced to God and tried my hardest to fight against it. I didn't want to change my life, or be some weird religious person...and then my world came crashing down.

    Putting Jesus first and changing myself for Him has been the best thing I have done. I was introduced to this amazing movement just a few months ago and immediately fell in love with the entire concept. I'm so excited to see a new book out with fresh material for everyone to dive into. I recommend this book to not just Christians, but ANYONE looking to better themselves and live for the a God full of grace, mercy, wisdom, strength, and love through faith, fellowship, and hope. This isn't just some pick-me up book, it is a way of life. Anybody who wants to live out their full potential and purpose should buy this book, take some time to soak in the words, and LIVE IT! Let me be a testimony for all those doubters out there who may be intimidated to try out a faith with God, I was you not that long ago! If you are already relishing in the faith, this is a book that will only strengthen your relationship with Jesus.

    I put it like this to a friend: I once attended a sermon where the Pastor said, "You can live an easy life, or have a strong faith." At the time I thought that was ridiculous. It wasn't until later that those words sunk in and proved themselves true to me in my own life. I passed that statement on to many believers and non-believers. I went on to explain it in simpler form to a non-believing friend; "This is NOT easy, but I want a strong faith. I accept this pain and struggle because I know it's just unfinished work, like a house being built. For a while it looks like a bunch of rubble and mess. You wonder when it will be done and how it will look. When the workers finally finish it, you go, "WOW! That looks better than I thought it would! A strong faith will be a beautiful home when it is finished. An easy life will be the same cardboard box."

    I encourage EVERYONE to let Live Second be a help in building their beautiful home with Jesus...or you can read a silly story in a cardboard box.

    ***I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    This is an amazing book that really touched my heart. It is help

    This is an amazing book that really touched my heart. It is helping me to learn how to come closer to God and how put Him first in my life and to put myself second. I haven't finished this book yet but I look forward to reading some everyday and learning and growing closer to God. If you have the desire to know more about God and grow closer to Him, I recommend this book, to everyone. It just might help open your eyes and make your heart smile as it did mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    This is a great book to challenge yourself daily to come closer

    This is a great book to challenge yourself daily to come closer to Jesus. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. In a world where we are so easily distracted, it was nice to spend time trying to become more like Him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    One of the best books out there that help in life!!

    “I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.”
    This book is one of the best books i have read that shows the way to become close to God. I belive any new people that have accepted christ in there hearts or anyone thats wants to know about God should read this book. Its one of those books that not only make you think but you can hear from others what they think about it. Go out and buy one know!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 59 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 3