BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First

Average Rating 5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more

Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more than just an amazing read that has daily spiritual readings. This book is a lifestyle changer! Bender simplifies a what some beleive to be a complicated gospel by making the Word applicable to daily living...
Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender is more than just an amazing read that has daily spiritual readings. This book is a lifestyle changer! Bender simplifies a what some beleive to be a complicated gospel by making the Word applicable to daily living. It offers a daily guide with power-packed messages that make Bible passages come to life and relatable. Live Second provides a practical experience with the Word and will change how you view your relationship (or lack of) with Jesus.
It will challenge you to look deeply at self as you begin or continue your journey to Live your life second and put Christ first! Reading this book has greatly affirmed my love for Jesus and my passion to spread the gospel.

Not only will it leave you with a daily desire to grow, but you will be challenged to help others live out their God given potential and purpose as well.

This is a must read for anyone who wants to live a better, purposeful life...all while being second in a society that promotes being first.

I encourage you to buy this book that will change your perspective of only having "weekend visits" with God to having "daily dates" with Christ!!

May Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First be a blessing in your lives and the lives of those you come in contact with!

**I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.**

posted by ChavonC on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changin

This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changing. If you are looking for purpose and principal in life this is a must have. We are all broken, we are all sinners, we are all seeking acceptance and guidance. I am so blessed to have received and reviewed ...
This book is amazing, challenging, overwhelming yet life changing. If you are looking for purpose and principal in life this is a must have. We are all broken, we are all sinners, we are all seeking acceptance and guidance. I am so blessed to have received and reviewed this book. One of the best ones yet. My husband and I are involved in a prison ministry program and this book has really given me some motivational words to speak. God is good.

posted by MandaPledger3060 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    I am wondering

    Does this book talk about the stories of Bethany Hamilton, Lauren Scruggs, and Nick Vujicic?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    A Nice Add to Your Devotional Mix

    It’s not necessary to read I Am Second before taking on the sometimes-daunting daily task of following this accompanying reader, but it helps. Many of the stories told in I Am Second are echoed in the on-line video clips to which Live Second frequently directs us, and they are helpful because they remind us of God’s healing & wonders.

    The point is that it’s easier to make ourselves second when we are confronted with He Who Is First.

    There’s nothing wrong with any of this. The I Am Second testimonials are inspiring, and, following Live Second’s links frequently leads us down rabbit trails from one video to another, each more vivid than the last. (A one-time fan of Anne Rice, I was especially interested in her story.)

    And, as devotionals go, Live Second is a fine one. Starting with Genesis, the first section (“Discover God”) begins by drawing on one Old Testament story after another to (re-)introduce us to the Uncreated God, the Jehovah. Then, we meet Jesus (again) and begin to learn how He always lived second.

    From then on, each section deals with living life, always pointing how we can Live it Second, how we can put Jesus first, how we can make this a true lifestyle.

    In addition to the videos, the book has questions for us to answer, directed exercises that help us share our discoveries. It’s a multi-media & -platform extravaganza with something more for us to do every day.

    And, ultimately, that may be its biggest challenge. I’m sure that author Doug Bender (one of I Am Second’s writers / editors) thought his idea was a good one, but I wonder if he figured half-way through that he’d bit off more than he could chew because it was hard-to-impossible to maintain the creativity & originality for 365 days. After a while, the exercises feel rote, and it’s difficult to maintain the workload.

    My copy of Live Second was given to me by Thomas Nelson, the publisher, and I promised to write about it as part of the BookSneeze.com bloggers’ book review program. No one asked or required me to write a positive review (neither BookSneeze, Thomas Nelson nor anyone else), but I agreed to disclose the relationship to comply with the Federal Trade Commission’s “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising” (16 CFR, Part 255).

    With that relationship in mind, I tried to keep up with Dave Bender’s suggestions; I tried to live the life he describes in Live Second. Problem was, the tasks started to take over; the devotionals became less praise and more work, and that bummed me out.

    I went into Live Second with the hope that I’d found something that could help me keep daily devotions alive and fresh, that I could keep them from becoming stale. David Crowder stressed freshness is key. “We need to continually redefine what our spiritual disciplines look like,” he said. “There is an inherent danger in ritual,” and I’m afraid that Bender’s daily tasks bend in that dangerous ritualistic direction.

    So, in short: I recommend Live Second for its message & tone, but I add a caution. I wouldn’t try to do it every day. Turn it from a one-year devotional to a three- or four-year cycle. Take your time with it and Bender’s ideas to bring added variety and joy to the rest of your praise life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    " This book may not always soothe your soul, but I think it

    " This book may not always soothe your soul, but I think it will always inspire your reflection and challenge your daily routine" How true. This is a statement made at the beginning of the book "I am Second".




    God's plan for us isn't supposed to always soothe the soul, right? We are supposed to grow and change and learn from the experiences He so lovingly gives us. Those are not easy words to come out of my mouth. For I, as I am writing this, am going through a very difficult struggle.




    So grateful to have gotten this book at the beginning of a new year. And so grateful to see where God will be leading me on this new 365 day journey and into many more 365 day journeys.




    I love how each session begins with a video. If you have a digital edition like I have, you just click and it brings you to that video. If not, thanks to technology, you can use your barcode scanner to jump to the link (call me silly, but I get uber excited about silly little things like that. I was jumping in my seat and used the scanner to watch the video on my phone, rather than click on the link to go to the video on my Nook. Yes, yes, I know....) Back to the videos. I don't want to give too much away, but what amazing testimonies from these people! There are some surprises along the way too from certain people I've never heard of and from people I ahve heard of and was inspired by the story.




    I also love how much interaction and participation is involved. This is not an easy read. This is a book that will challenge your heart and bring you closer to God. I enjoyed as well the use of social media like Twitter as suggestions to interact with others and share your own personal message and how Jesus is being put first and how you are letting yourself be second.




    Thomas Nelson has been pumping out some amazing books the last year. But this? This one I can't get it out of my head. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    This book is amazing!!! Its an awesome way to show others that w

    This book is amazing!!! Its an awesome way to show others that we aren't the only ones who deal with earthly struggles, celebrities do too. Its a great daily reminder of our need for submission to Jesus!! I AM SECOND!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    This was a great idea to help non-believers or new Christians li

    This was a great idea to help non-believers or new Christians listen to stories from celebtaties who have been through tough times and realized that they are nothing without God. This is a great way for people to commit to a short daily reading to help the reader grow and learn without having to spend too much time, which is the usual downfall with devotionals. Each week starts off with a link to a video and then each day provides a short passage to consider and a couple of questions to consider. The book utalizes modern technology with QR codes and hashtags, for those who are into that sort of thing. Each day is simple to understand, and if you are looking for something to get you going each da; then this is a great resource. If you are looking for something deep and thought provoking to complement your Sunday School lessons, then this is not for you. This would be a great gift idea for students and those who are not heavily involved in church. Overall, I like the book and the concept and I hope they continue with new editions each year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Hey yall! I just got this awesome new book from Booksneeze, ┬┐Liv

    Hey yall! I just got this awesome new book from Booksneeze, “Live Second.” For years I’ve been following the I Am Second Company, watching the videos, connecting with the groups, and I read the original book that released last year. I Am Second has changed countless lives, including mine, and the newest devotional, “Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First” is about to be added to the line up. 
    “Live Second” is written by Doug Bender. It consists of 365 daily devotionals, sectioned into 52 weeks, grouped into 12 sessions. Each session lasts 4-5 weeks. 
    At the beginning of each week, the book gives you a video to watch (accessible by scanning the QR code with your smartphone). Every day comes with a scripture reference (that you read on your own), a couple paragraphs that break down the passage, some questions to consider after reading the passage, prayer suggestions, and challenges. Challenges focus mainly on living your life based around what you’ve just read, and sharing the gospel with others. At the bottom of each devotional is a twitter hashtag (that look something like #IASgoodness or #IASsurrender) that can share your thoughts on the devotional with the I Am Second community. 
    All in all this is a wonderful devotional. I love it and I’m going to (attempt) to follow it all through the next year. I give it five out of five stars.
    I received this book for free through the booksneeze blogger programme. I was not obligated to give this book a positive review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Amazing!

    Take an incredible journey that will change your life! Learn how to make Jesus first every day. This is truly the best devotional book i have ever read, and it's format is great for Bible studies. Everyone on my Christmas list is getting this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    This is a great book.... I have bought several to give as xmas g

    This is a great book.... I have bought several to give as xmas gifts to my dear friends. It is truly inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Putting someone before yourself? Putting the Lord before ALL ot

    Putting someone before yourself? Putting the Lord before ALL others!!! With all of the fast paced enviroment we are faced with, it is nice to slow down and take a moment each day to spend time with the Lord. This new book by the great crew of I Am Second is an insightful, easy to read book with the daily challenge to grow. Are you Second?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Live Second is a fabulous opportunity to catch the vision to &qu

    Live Second is a fabulous opportunity to catch the vision to "live second" by putting Jesus FIRST in life, daily. If you have NEVER thought of how to make Jesus FIRST in your life, you will be pleasantly surprised by the wonderful stories of life-change and daily application to this lifestyle. If you have been making Jesus #1 in your life for years, you will be encouraged by this new and uplifting collection. Buy it, read it, give it away... you will be glad you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Live Second : 365 Ways to make Jesus First by Doug Bender is a 3

    Live Second : 365 Ways to make Jesus First by Doug Bender is a 365 day devotional book based on the concept of the Original I Am Second book released earlier this year. The cover depicts an empty, modern white leather chair, in an empty ominous dark room, with nothing but a bare industrial flouresecent light- contraption affixed on the ceiling. The spartan, lonely emptiness of the room is reminiscent of an interrigation room. The modern, yet minimalist black and white photography conveys a sense of urgency and seriousness. In a world that often dismisses God as being quaint and antiquated- this outreach strategy gives faith a new credibility and presence for today's generation.

    The book is divided into 12 sessions, which can be divided among 12 months. Each month is a larger theme with four related themes for each week. There seven days of devotionals dedicated to each weekly theme. In contrast to traditional devotionals, organized and identified with a particular month and day, this book - in keeping with the modern minimalist tradition, identifies the days and months by simply by sessions and issues. The book is intended to lead the reader on a personal spiritual journey. This book encourages personal and individual participation rather than simply passive reading. Each week begins with a code reader in which an oline video can be accessed by using a smart phone. Each day ends with a "Talk to God", "Live it", and "Tell It" prompts to enable the reader to apply what is read.

    Each day includes a short but essential passage based on the bible. Each day teaches the reader how to live for God, and how to place his or her life second; to Live Second. Issues which covers weekly topics on "Open People", "The Story", "His Story" and "Ask God". The topics covered address essential issues in our lives. In particular, the section on Issues addresses one of my favorite passages of the bible, where Jesus delivers the sermon on the mount and addresses the crowd about faith, worry and material things. This is very relevant to each and every reader. It is like an instruction manuel on how to Live Second with Jesus first in our lives. Jesus urges us to have faith that God will provide rather than spend our life worrying about food, clothing, wealth and treasures. He goes on to explain that if God cares for and feeds a lowly, worthless bird such as a sparrow or adorn the wildflowers with beautiful colors, then how much more will he provide for us, people who are made in his own image! Session two touches on the very issues that occupy each and every one of us! We are called to have faith and seek the Kingdom of God first. In other words we are called to Live Second, and then God will provide. The author pinpoints critical areas in our lives and teaches the reader on how to Live Second and give God first place. Basically Doug Bender condenses some of the most important and relevant passages of the bible in easy to read and apply bytes. As with a how to manuel, Bender walks through the steps with the reader to actually apply the concepts of the book. The profiles that focus on specific real life people at the start of each week provide real, true to life role models. Whether you are familiar with the original I am Second book, or not, you are sure to find this devotional reader to be life changing. As a blogger I recieved this book published by Thomas Nelson publishers for the purpose of writing this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender

    Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender








    Live Second is a daily reader that takes you on a year long journey of putting yourself second and bringing Jesus into the forefront of your life.




    The book is divided into 12 sections that have 4-5 weeks on a similar topic. Each day, there is a new entry for you to read or a video to watch on your PC or smartphone and questions to ponder at the end of the reading. Generally, day 1 of the week is the video and the remaining days 2-7 are reading through scripture.




    I found this approach new and refreshing in a daily reader as most are simply reading every day. Having a new video every Monday (or Day 1) gets your mind into the mode of that weeks topic and set on what to be looking for and thinking about as you read the entries for the rest of the week. 




    In addition to the videos, there are prompts to share your thoughts and findings using hashtags in Twitter. Again, a great way to merge print reading (or even ebook reading) with social media. If other readers have read that daily entry and tweeted about it, you can search the hashtag on Twitter and see other insights on the topic you're currently on.




    Doug Bender did a great job blurring the lines on interactive reading. Not only are the topics relevant, but the questions to think about every day really keep your mind and soul in a place for making Jesus number one in your life.




    DISCLOSURE: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own. I wholeheartedly enjoyed the book and plan on purchasing it and suggesting others to the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    Doug Bender's "Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First&qu

    Doug Bender's "Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First" is an awesome daily devotional that stretches over one year of profound and inspirational readings. What I absolutely love about this devotional is that each day's reading is short and easy to read, no matter how busy your day may be. Each day's devotion offers a Bible verse that sums up the overall message for the day, and includes a short explanation or message that expands on the idea of the verse. Each day also offers a suggested prayer that is also related to the overall message of the day.




    I also thought it was neat that every days poses the questions, "How will you live more Second today?" and "How will you share what you have learned?" These simple questions are a daily reminder of the underlying purpose of this book - putting God first, and learning to live "Second". Once a week, the devotional also offers some discussion questions, whether you ponder them individually or work through this book in a small group setting. Either way these discussion questions give you a chance to really evaluate the passages and apply it to your own life.




    I thought this book was great - a profound message of living "Second", and learning to live a life defined by putting Christ in the #1 spot in your life. I would highly recommend this for anyone - would be great for high school ages and up, in my opinion. Great tool - loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    A Perfect Resource for Your Spiritual Journey! If you are looki

    A Perfect Resource for Your Spiritual Journey!

    If you are looking to find out more about who Jesus is, read this book. If you have recently placed faith in Jesus Christ and want to know how to take those next steps, read this book. If you are looking for a Bible reading plan for the next year, read this book. If you have been a believer for 35 years and looking to go deeper in your spiritual walk and knowledge of God, read this book. I am a pastor and, after reading this book, our church has made the decision to buy a case of these, in order to hand out to visitors and new believers. Having said that, I’d add one more to the list above: if you are a pastor and looking for a way to enhance your personal devotion and study of God, read this book.

    Authenticity has always been something I have valued among people, and when it comes to authors, particularly Christian authors, this is certainly true. Thus it gives me great pleasure to recommend Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender. Doug has been a friend for several years now, and I was waiting to see his unique imprint on this book, that part where I read it and say, yep, that’s definitely Doug. I’ll be honest – I never saw it. The entire time reading this book, all I ever saw was an call to make Jesus first in your life, and 365 different ways in which we can live out being number 2. It is refreshing to see that the only message the author pushed was not his, but God’s. Doug Bender’s book teaches how to be second to God, and it is refreshing to see that authenticity lived out by the author. If you only buy (and read!) one book this year, make it this one.

    NOTE: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    I have found Live Second to be one of the best devotionals avail

    I have found Live Second to be one of the best devotionals available. To many times, devotionals are nothing more than a bible verse and perhaps a short discussion of what the author thinks. Live Second breaks the mold. It integrates the I Am Second website with the book and your bible. I've started using Doug's book as a tool to help me understand the bible and understand my relationship with God in a much deeper capacity.

    I really enjoy the format of each day. On Day 1, there is a "What It Says" and "What It Means" discussion area. This is where my journal comes in handy. I can write down what I've learned, what I like. But it goes further. Live Second challenges you. "How will you live more Second today?" and "How will you share what you have learned?" are common questions.

    The book is broken up into Sessions/Weeks/Days. Each section of the book offers different insight in how you can Live Second. But, what if you need a little help or guidance. Or just to share a thought? Doug has added hashtags for Twitter in the book, so you can comment with other readers. Just like in life, you're never alone!

    I would highly recommend this book. It has shaken my faith, making me realize that instead of just being a Christian, maybe I should start living like a Christian, and to do that, I need to be Second.

    My name is Joshua and I Am Second.

    ***I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    I was given a free electronic version of "Live Second"

    I was given a free electronic version of "Live Second" to preview. Live Second combines daily scripture
    reading with weekly video through QR codes or the internet. This combination keeps the " Living Second"
    book fresh and makes it easier to stay with the scheduled readings. There are also hashtags if you
    like to share your thoughts on that days reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I received a free copy of this e-book in exchange for an honest


    I received a free copy of this e-book in exchange for an honest review and I found this book amazing. It is broken down into daily devotionals that are a perfect start to the day. I have been struggling with the idea of Why am I here? and this really helps and encourages me as I head along the path that is laid out for me. It helps me to stay focused and also helps me to practice the teachings in the Bible.

    Another thing that I really liked is that if I miss a day, I can just start from where I left off without feeling that I really messed up and I need to do two or three days at a time so I can catch back up to where I should be. The days are not dated so if you miss a day, you can just start with the next one. Also, each reading is not too long - with other devotionals, I would find my mind wandering to somewhere else before I could finish the daily reading. These devotionals actually kept me motivated to finish each day. I am not done with this book but I can say that I know I will finish it. I have the motivation and I can see that it has helped me to become a better person.

    I can honestly say that this book came at a very low point in my life, I felt inadequate and I was having a hard time figuring out what my purpose is in life. Why Am I Here seemed to be a daily question that I couldn't answer. With the help of this book, I know I am important to someone - God - and that I have a purpose. This book helps me to keep Jesus first and to Live Second. It is a daily challenge to me and it also helps me to focus on what I need to do each day to Live Second. The Live It, Tell It and Practice It sections help me to constantly work on improving myself in order to help others.

    Again, this book is amazing and I am so glad I had the pleasure of reading it. I have found that when I do the devotion in the morning, my day seems to go much better. I just start with a postive attitude and it continues throughout the day.

    Thank you, Doug Bender, for giving me a chance to improve the quality of my life. This book is definitely a life changer and I encourage everyone to read it. It is appropriate for all age groups and will help them not only today, but tomorrow, and the rest of their lives. I plan to buy it for several people on my Christmas list - especially my teenage daughter who struggles with issues of self-image and anger. This is a perfect gift for anyone at any time of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I must say it is an excellent resource for anyone who really wan

    I must say it is an excellent resource for anyone who really wants to learn more about God and His word, and especially helpful to those who want to read the Bible but does not know where to start. Live Second is set up to read, learn, think and apply what you have read. It is set up in a 52 week format, with 365 days of reading that will help you learn and grow deeper in your faith every single day. Live Second is a great resource to lead you through on a daily basis ways that you can begin putting Christ first in your life--especially if it may be a struggle for you, as it is for so many others. Often people will struggle with knowing where to start reading their Bible. Live Second has it mapped out for you in ways that keep it interesting, simple, and focused so that you are not overwhelmed with trying to figure it out on your own. It will challenge you to think a little deeper--even has a talking with God section that will help you in applying what you have learned. Live Second encourages you to discover ways to live out what you have read and even share it with others. The book is unique because it is also interactive. On day one of each week is a featured individual. You can go to the website to view and hear that person share their personal story about living second. These awesome interviews are available online (and DVD) by celebrities as well as ordinary people who have struggled at some point in their life, but who are now over-comers because they have learned what it means to put God first and live it--second! The website offers a lot of resources to help you to connect, volunteer, and train to work with Live Second in your area as well as around the world, and even lead or participate in small groups. It also works as an excellent personal devotional and/or family devotional if you prefer just that. It is exciting to me to hear people share their personal story of redemption and one day you may have that opportunity to share yours as this book will help you change your personal story into something far better than you could ever have imagined. I hope this book gets contagious! Live Second has been given to me as an e-book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Live it, Love it, Rock it, and Share it As I sit with a blank p

    Live it, Love it, Rock it, and Share it

    As I sit with a blank paper in front of me and I think of the words that I should write to most encourage someone reading this to buy the book, I can think of so many reasons, I will try and give you an insight on how this book and iamsecond has changed me. I have never written a review before, nor am I a bible scholar, I am just me, an ordinary person that has a new outlook on life; so with these words I share may you also be inspired and I pray that anyone that might come across this have an open heart and an open mind and buy Live Second by Doug Bender; you will be so grateful for embarking on the journey of this book and sharing it with others. The amazing way this book allows God to speak to you and to hear his words are beyond anything that I can understand (I have tried to move around in the book a bit to try and really give my best opinion): let me explain why: On page 26 titled Day 6: Is He First? – The bible reading for this day is Genesis 22:1-19, this is a story about Abraham’s faith being tested. On the particular day that I read this entry, it was God’s way of speaking to me. It in one page was telling me all that I had thought about that day. As I closed my eyes after reading, I had a smile on my face and I knew that God was speaking to me and letting me know, I am second and I should follow the path he is paving for me. You see that’s just it, as a Christian life doesn’t become worry free and without trials, but as a Christian you have tools to work through the worry and trials and that my friend is something money cannot buy. Becoming second in life has brought comfort, forgiveness, joy, happiness, hope, love, and humbleness in our home, to see the changes in my husband and I; what a blessing. My husband first bought me an iamsecond bracelet, and then we found the website, and then bought the Audio version for the first I am Second book, then I found iamsecond on Facebook, and then the blessing of being part of the volunteer based launch team for the new book, and then I am discovering hopes and dreams and so my story will continue on day after day following God’s call for my life. What can I say to sum this all up?

    If you have a prayer, pray it
    If you have a dream, dream it
    If you have a goal, set it

    That is what I believe Doug Bender and the entire I am Second Team has and I think you can have that too, that is what iamsecond has inspired me to do! Live Second is perfect, Live Second starts each day with a scripture and has you read a bible passage, then it has what I call a “think about” section, then the Talk with God section, and you pray and then the section of Live it and Tell it and then Live Second challenges you!

    Live it, Love it, Rock it, and Share It.
    Thank you for taking the time to read this review may God Bless you on your journey!
    Blessings,
    I am Brandy and I AM SECOND!

    “I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I love the way this book is set up. It uses different forms of m

    I love the way this book is set up. It uses different forms of media to make it a multi sensory experiences. The book weaves the I am Second videos in with the daily Bible study as a way to bring the daily message to life. It is a great book to do with a small group or by yourself. It covers topics for beginning believers, or people who are unsure of who Jesus is, but also offers something for people who have been believers for a while now. I love what the people at I am Second are doing and this book is just one more way they are getting the message out about who Jesus is and what it really means to put Him first and yourself second. There is something here for everyone.

    I received a free copy of this book to help get the word out about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3