Customer Reviews for

Live What You Love: Notes from an Unusual Life

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book

    I enjoyed reading Live What You Love. It has inspired me to make changes in my life. It has challenged me to take a different approach to life, which I think will lead me to become happier in everything I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Author, Light at the End of My Pen

    Looking forward to reading this book. I like there energy! I also recommend, Light at the End of My Pen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    Live What You Love: Notes from an Unusual Life

    I am not, in general, a fan of self-help or 'you can do it' books -- but I love this special gem from the Blanchards. I read A Trip to the Beach and enjoyed the story...but was left wondering 'how do people do this sort of thing?' LIVE WHAT YOU LOVE answers that question without being preachy or giving typical or pat answers. It seems dreams take a lot of work and planning and discipline, or else they are just hopes and 'one day' fantasies. This book really did help me change my life -- and open a small business -- by showing me that there is more to do that 'just wanting' things to work out. Inspiration and realistic. Wonderfully written, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    The rich keep getting richer

    Live what you love? Sure, if you have the money to move to Tahiti. Most of of don't. Still, it's got enough gems to deserve 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    The Cure for Quiet Desperation

    The Blanchards' stories and advice serve as inspiring reminders of how much more is possible in your life when there is a daily commitment to spend your time and energy doing extraordinary things that you love. Read this book and you'll never glance at another copy of 'TV Guide'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Live What You Love: Notes from an Unusual Life

    This is an amazing book from people who have had the courage to lead amazing lives. The biggest insight that I got was that you can do ANYTHING if you start by doing SOMETHING. A little act can make a big difference, and the authors made me feel like they were right there with me holding my hand. It isn't straightforward advice -- thank goodness -- and those neat little steps never work. These stories are real and helped me find my own stories of strength and courage. We all need a friend to help us 'finally do it'...and this book is that friend, in my opinion. It is real and practical enough to have impact, but loose and light enough to not overwhelm with too much advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Inspiring and practical

    I became interested in Live What You Love after reading the two reviews posted here. I loved this book and take issue with the reviewer who's sarcasm implies that the Blanchard's advice is fine if you have enough money to move to Tahiti. He missed their point. This book is organized organically: each 'chapter' introduces, through story and reflection, a powerful, life-changing, and gentle way for anyone to begin to reevaluate their life. What I loved is the Blanchard's charm, humor, and humanity: they understand that there is no formula that fits all people and that it is never easy. But they also know that we all need to periodically go through this process. Finding objectivity within oneself is the most difficult challenge, I've found, and this book as been a kind of manifesto for me. It's helped me shut down the noise and confusion of everyday life and honestly examine my own needs, wishes and desires. I'd love to frame the book's frontispiece, 'Retrospective Perspective,' so that I could hang it on the wall of my office as a reminder of what's really important in life. What is the story of my life? I'd never gave it much thought until I read this book. Kudos to the Blanchards, and a great big thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    Simply Marvelous!

    I found the Blanchards inspiring, they have done and are doing that thing called living life in a way alot of people dont have the guts or determination to do. I would recommend this book to anyone who's not afarid to think off the beaten path, and who are open-minded enough to listen to the message through out the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1