BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Live Wire (Myron Bolitar Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 432 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Rate the BOOK, not the PRICE!

Okay, seriously. Harlan Coben doesn't set the price, the publishers do. The man worked hard to write the book, and the book critics have already been singing its praises and calling it his best book. Those are big words, considering the success he's had. The rating syst...
Okay, seriously. Harlan Coben doesn't set the price, the publishers do. The man worked hard to write the book, and the book critics have already been singing its praises and calling it his best book. Those are big words, considering the success he's had. The rating system is for the book itself, to give prospective customers an idea if it's any good. Don't throw up 1 and 2 star ratings because you think it's too expensive. I agree, the ebook does seem overpriced, but come on, use your heads! I got an advanced copy and must say it was great. Classic Harlan Coben/Myron Bolitar. I'm recommending it to all my friends. Readers -- Don't be turned off by all the people who want to rate a book based on it's price.

posted by MrobMedia on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

don't complain to B&N

I checked Amazon, and the Kindle version is $14.99. Seems that this could be the future of e-books due to the author and publisher demands. Too bad because the pricing was one of the reasons I bought one.

posted by WhineDiva on March 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 436 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    Rate the BOOK, not the PRICE!

    Okay, seriously. Harlan Coben doesn't set the price, the publishers do. The man worked hard to write the book, and the book critics have already been singing its praises and calling it his best book. Those are big words, considering the success he's had. The rating system is for the book itself, to give prospective customers an idea if it's any good. Don't throw up 1 and 2 star ratings because you think it's too expensive. I agree, the ebook does seem overpriced, but come on, use your heads! I got an advanced copy and must say it was great. Classic Harlan Coben/Myron Bolitar. I'm recommending it to all my friends. Readers -- Don't be turned off by all the people who want to rate a book based on it's price.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Live Wire is an exciting investigative thriller

    Former tennis star Suzze Tervantino visits MB Reps to ask her agent Myron Bolitar for help. Eight months pregnant, Suzze is hysterical as her husband rock star husband Lex Ryder, also a client of Myron, has vanished. She shows Bolitar an entry on Facebook claiming the child she carries is not sired by Ryder. Although other inline innuendos make the same proclamation, Suzze T swears to Bolitar that Ryder he is the dad (thanks to Maury).

    Bolivar has family issues so he feels for his client. With Windsor "Win" Horne Lockwood III at his side, he begins the search for Ryder at a time his father is dying and wants to see his estranged other son Brad. The inquiry into finding Brad leads Myron to his abandoned sister-in-law Kitty and his fifteen years old nephew Mickey whom he never met. Neither wants him in their lives.

    Live Wire is an exciting investigative thriller in which Bolitar works two family oriented cases. The insight into his past enhances what long time fans know of his first and second quarters of his life while the Suzze T inquiry forces the agent to look into her family's darkest secrets. With Win causing havoc, a great late twist, and a powerful look at family, fans will see a different compassionate side to the wise cracking agent.

    Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Live Wire

    Myron Bolitar is an agent who represents both former tennis star Suzze Tervantino and her rock star husband Lex Ryder. Suzze, who is about to give birth, asks Myron to locate her missing husband. Lex has vanished when a posting on Facebook says that the Suzze's child is not his. While searching for Lex, he sees the wife of his long estranged brother. Myron certainly has his plate full with not only dealing with his clients and the secrets they keep but with also his family and the hopeful reconciliation with his brother. This novel investigates family dynamics and the painful struggle we all face. I enjoyed the suspenseful searches and the exciting characters that a part of Myron's team. I will have to read more of these stories.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Myron and Win are the best

    I loved this book. I read this book in two days. I could not put it down. Talk about being shock and plot twisting. The ending will really shock and suprise you. Also very touching. What a bunch of great charchters in this book. This is my favoirte book in the series. This is a must read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT TIMES 3

    We first met Myron Bolitar back in 1995 in the book Deal Breaker. He was an athlete knocked out of the game by an injury right before his first professional start so he became a Sports Agent to keep him in the game if only from the sidelines. But he was more than an agent, he was a friend, a confidant, a problem solver, and a guy with an enormous heart that to protect his clients he also eventually becomes a private eye.

    With the help of his friends, Windsor Horne Lockwood III (Win), and two gals who were a former tag team with the Fabulous Ladies Of Wrestling (FLOW), MB Reps has grown into a firm that not only handles athletes, but authors, actors, artists, and musicians.

    In this book we learn more about Myron's family and his past as he is forced to deal with some family issues. He is also trying to help former tennis star Suzze T (Trevantino) and rock star husband Lex get to the bottom of a paternity issue being posed about their unborn child on a Facebook page. Myron also learns that his family issues and these baby issues are intertwined in a way that leads him down a very dangerous path as he tries to find the truth that has been hidden for more than 15 years.

    I LOVED IT!!!!! I LOVED IT!!!!! I LOVED IT!!!!!


    If you have read the previous 9 Myron Bolitar novels and you think you know Myron Bolitar you will realize early into this book that you didn't know him at all.

    Harlan Coben is by far the best author ever of the suspense thriller. He grabs you from the first word and like the title of one of his previous novels HOLD(s on) TIGHT until the very last word and leaves you wanting more. The difference between this novel and others in this series is than we learn more about Myron Bolitar than we ever have before and Coben ties it into the latest mystery brilliantly. What starts out as a simple question of who posted the anonymous Facebook comment builds into the thriller Coben is famous for, and brings to light the things Bolitar has kept hidden or to himself in the other books.

    This is definitely a book you will want to read in one sitting, so plan accordingly and be prepared for a few surprises. This book proves than even Harlan Coben still has plenty up his sleeve to thrill and entertain us. Coben himself is the LIVE WIRE!!!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the Dutton, A Division of the Penguin Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    don't complain to B&N

    I checked Amazon, and the Kindle version is $14.99. Seems that this could be the future of e-books due to the author and publisher demands. Too bad because the pricing was one of the reasons I bought one.

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Good One

    Obviously I didn't get the free advance copy, nor did I buy the ebook. The old-fashioned, paid for hardcover suits me just fine. And so did Live Wire, a suspenseful story about interesting people full of twists and turns. It's so hard to imagine anyone not liking this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    myron keeps getting better

    could not put it down. between yu and mee, this was the best myron yet!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pass on this one

    I have rarely been as disappointed as I am with Harlen Coben's latest book, Live Wire. The plot is so mundane that reading the telephone book would provide a better story. I was over half way into the book and had the urge to just stop there. This is so different than the normal experience with a Coben book that I found myself wondering if he really wrote it or just sat ten monkeys in a room with typewriters. I used to believe that Harlen Coben was the best writer of fiction alive today. Let's hope this was a one-off fluke and that his next book sees him back on track. Everyone has an off period, I just wish I hadn't pad $20+ to read this one.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    Are you serious?????

    I would GLADLY pay more for this book, in HARDCOPY!!! What the hell is the big deal??? It is a new release and you are getting it for much less than those who do not have a Nook or e reading device. Like some one has already stated, the price is not set by the Author so why punish him for it by not wanting to read it for another year???

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Another Wonderful Book!

    I love Harlan Coben's books!
    Live Wire is an exciting investigative thriller. I read it in less than 2 days, as I couldn't stop. The plot was full of interesting twists, turns, and surprises. The ending was a total shocker. The story is made more interesting with the contrast of Myron, the hardworking pretty straight, compassionate, fair guy and his buddy, Win, who doesn't necessarily follow the rules.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I am reading it and liking it. I need more on Myron Bolitar series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Howlkit and Wolfkit

    Wolf or howl? And gtg. Bbt morning.)) Nodded and laid down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Must read

    As always a great book in the Myron Bolitar series. Win is my favorite characters of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Porch

    The porch is a wraparoin,completely screened in with three swing benches and rovkong chairs

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    In reply ro " Coben's latest" 2 below this one

    Gone For Good is not a Myron Bolitar novel I am sorry to announce. Get your facts straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Tori

    Here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Coben’s latest Myron Bolitar novel is a little better than

    Coben’s latest Myron Bolitar novel is a little better than Gone For Good, the previous entry in the series. That story was completely beyond belief. The plot of Live Wire is still so improbable that it makes me wonder why he receives so much critical acclaim. The earlier Bolitar novels at least had some anchor in sports agent realities, but Coben seems to be getting his latest plots from bad 60s and 70s TV shows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Peter to Mikoto

    Please come back.I see your post u were my best friend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    I am a die hard Harlan Coben fan but was disappointed by this bo

    I am a die hard Harlan Coben fan but was disappointed by this book. There wasn't much to feel good about at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 436 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22