Customer Reviews for

Live at the Greek [CD & DVD]

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I did not have the opprotunity to see Josh on his "Closer" tour, so this was the next best thing. I loved the DVD the concert itself was great and I love the interaction Josh has with the audience members. His fans love him so much, and you can tell it. The song choices were wonderful and the extras just gave more of an insight into who Josh is as a person. If you love Josh, you should own this DVD/CD combo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Josh Groban's WORSE yet!

    I really loved Josh Groban's voice. His style was unique and so was he. With "Live at the Greek" he truly bombed. Absolutely awful vocals, lousy sets, over-the-top staging and ALL done by Groban himself. He should fire his manager and get off the ME-ONLY bandwagon. (He sings, plays instruments, stages this dog, etc). The young man with the voice has turned into the egotistical vocal slob. This DVD set is terrible and hope it's the defining moment where he takes a big look at what he's turned into. Or his career is OVER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    JOSH GROBAN YOU ROCK

    As a vocal student who studied Opera when I was younger, I can really appreciate what a tremendous gift this young man has. Back when I studied, you either did popular oryou did Opera, you did not mix it up. What a wonderful new age with live in that someone as talented as he is, can treat us to a variety of styles. His "You Raise Me Up, make sme think of my grandparents who were very rare human beings. His "Remember" from Troy gives me chills. Anyone who says he is awful, and can't sing, needs to get a hearing aid. He only gets better with every new performance. It was wonderful to be able to see his concert on DVD, since both his concerts in Seattle SOLD OUT before I could get tickets (within a few minutes). KEEP IT COMING JOSH, I FOR ONE LOVE YOU.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Who was this?

    I have really enjoyed the power and energy in the voice and emotions of Josh Groban. I was disappointed with the vocals. I give him the benefit-of-the-doubt he was not feeling well. If I were a vocalist, I don't think I would have released this. Patiently awaiting his next release - and will continue to enjoy the previous recordings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best concert Live!!!!!!

    Josh's voice is perfect. Anyone who takes there time to post on this site and say that is voice was horrible should think about what there saying. I would like them to try to sing to all those people live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Returned Mine

    Yes, I bought Josh Groban's "Live at the Greek." No, I didn't keep it. Why? It was truly awful!!!!!! Josh's voice is terrible. What a disappointment!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Live at the Greek [CD & DVD]

    I love Josh Groban's voice (and have multiple copies of all his previous recordings) so from the moment I started listening to Live at the Greek I knew that there was something HORRIBLY wrong. Josh's voice, which is usually so amazing, sounded so nasally that it was painful listening to it! After struggling through Josh mutilating the songs I know so well from his other recordings I couldn't even bring myself to watch the DVD. I am stunned that the people responsible for producing Live at the Greek did not notice Josh's poor, nasally vocals or, as another reviewer suggested, perhaps they didn't think we would notice! I am still a fan but I will definitely check out any of his future live recordings before I buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just a disappointment

    After seeing Josh in concert last summer (which was fantastic, even though it was outdoors and rained the ENTIRE time) I expected the performance on the DVD to be as flawless. I was disappoined. Josh doesn't sound like Josh in this concert. His voice doesn't have the emotion and power it usually does. Maybe he was sick? At first I thought, maybe I just don't like the DVD because of the annoying fans and lack of focus on Josh, so I switched to the CD. Worse. When I listen to Closer, I always get chills, but all I got from Live at the Greek was a disappointment. If I were you, I would buy Closer and go to the concert. This DVD doesn't make the cut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous performance... this is a MUST HAVE

    This is an amazing CD/DVD, I think Josh is a wonderful performer, and watching this DVD is just like watching him live. I saw him in concert, he was perfect, and every time I watch the DVD, I get to relive that awesome concert! This is a must-have for any Josh Groban fan, young or old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Coming to Josh's Defense

    I've read the reviews posted here, and just have to come to Josh's defense. Yes, this DVD is nothing like his first one, but don't most artists' second work seem not as exciting as the first? As far as Josh's "disappointing voice", one must remember that this was the last stop on his tour. His voice and body, I'm sure, had undergone a lot of stress keeping up such a touring schedule. I saw this concert in August 2004 when he performed in Las Vegas. I can attest that his voice in Las Vegas was perfect; just like listening to his CDs. But the DVD still captures the essence and relaxed atmosphere that watching the concert live gives off. Yes, he does sound nasal and congested in this recording. Maybe he was battling a cold. But give the guy a break! He is still a great performer, and is still extremely talented. Oh, and his sense of humor comes out in this DVD, too. He's a lot more relaxed in this DVD. If you love Josh Groban, you'll still like this recording. As far as the criticism given off in the other reviews on this site, I don't think it's fair to allow the harshness of one's disappointment with expectation get in the way of one's talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    I can't believe that so many people were disappointed. I loved it. I have watched it many times and am always amazing by the beauty of josh's voice. Truly magical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Live at the Greek [CD & DVD]

    I absolutely love Josh Groban's voice on his earlier CDs, and was amazed by his first live DVD, but I literally can't bear to listen to the horrible, nasally quality of his voice on Live at the Greek. What a huge disappointment! I hope his rich, wonderful voice returns on his next recording, but in the meantime I will stick to playing his earlier stuff!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Remember - It's a live concert

    The CD/DVD combo of Josh Groban Live at The Greek is a great album, but there are a few things that you must remember when you are listening to the CD/DVD. From a stand point of a sound engineer, live sound reenforcement is totaly different from studio recording. Of course the studio recording is going to sound a lot better, but only because when the recording is taken place, you can refine the audio over and over until you like the sound and blend. For live sound reenforcement much of the sound is compressed to make sure that there are no feedback problems and the the show runs smoothly. Since the concert is outdoors, there is the factor of getting rid of the natural wind, but when you remove the wind or the audience noise that is extra you lose audio quality slightly. I deffiently think this is a great recording of Josh Groban at a "LIVE" concert and the engineers who refined the sound did a great job at it. Sure at times it did sound a little bad, but Josh has been on tour all summer long before recording this for PBS. This DVD sounds great on my BOSE 321GS II system, with many new songs that you have not herd on his Closer CD. There could be some room for improvements

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    loved it!

    i saw josh groban's live at the greek. i have the dvd for it. i was watching it, and i was crying cuz i really really wanted to be at that concert! that's how good Josh was. he's amazing, guys! i never ever heard such an angelic and pure voice before. josh is gifted; god bless him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Josh Groban - Greek Theatre concert

    Let me tell you, had you been at the Greek Theatre and saw this concert you folks wouldn't be so down on this. I have seen Josh in concert twice and the Greek was absolutely awesome. You are right, he is changing -- he is getting better at relating to the audience and stage presense. I think he sounds great and just keeps getting better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What are they complaining about?

    What in the world? I LOVE the new cd/dvd from Josh Groban. He doesn't sound as good as he does on his Closer cd- I'll give you that, but who ever sounds as good performing live? I'm there for ya Josh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    simply amazing

    This is such an awesome concert that will leave you blown awa and begging for more! Josh is a truly unique voice and there is NOTHING like him in the music industry right now! He music cannot be classified because it is truly genreless! I would deffinatly recomend going into the settings menu and changing it to either dolby digital or DTS! It changes the sound dramatically and you will be very pleased! Anyone who likes real music will love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, but not Groban

    As a Grobanite myself, I was so looking forward to Josh Groban's new CD/DVD package coming out around Christmas time. After listening to sound samples, I was very disappointed. Josh's voice sounds very nasally and tired--could be that he is just worn out from all the excessive touring and doing concert after concert after concert. Josh should've waited a little longer to do another live concert album instead of when his tour was just winding down. And I feel really bad because I've never given any Josh Groban material such a low rating such as this until right now. Most of my ratings have been 5 stars. I agree with one previous reviewer that he does sound much better in the studio than he does live. I love Josh Groban. I love his voice. Every time I hear him sing it just blows me away. But I strongly feel that he needs to just SLOW DOWN with his busy schedule and take some well-deserved time off if he wants to maintain his voice and his career. I'm sorry if this upset anyone here, but I just wasn't impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic!

    Live at the Greek was absolutely fantastic. The fans were so excited. He looked and sounded great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I am a huge fan, but also disappointed

    Josh Groban is currently my favorite singer, but this was not even showing his best live performance. I saw him in Dallas and he seemed much better - in fact, I was very impressed with his live performance in Dallas. Maybe he gets nervous on camera? Anyway, I will probably buy everything he puts out, but I thought his first concert was a much better production even though I can see he has improved as a performer in nearly every way. I will say this: I loved his "America" rendition and thought it was one of his best performances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2