Customer Reviews for

Live by Night

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great book.

If you liked "The Given Day" you'll love this book. Lehane is one of the best writers of our time. It was worth the money.

posted by 12526549 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

You must be crazy...

Love Lehane but do not love him enough to pay 17.99 for an ebook. Thought books were supposed to get cheaper with the addition of ebooks. Oh well, will wait for it to pop up a yard sale. And all you people who will cry about this not being a book review, get over it. Wh...
Love Lehane but do not love him enough to pay 17.99 for an ebook. Thought books were supposed to get cheaper with the addition of ebooks. Oh well, will wait for it to pop up a yard sale. And all you people who will cry about this not being a book review, get over it. When the ratings stay low because they overcharge, maybe they will get the message.

posted by 18016713 on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    You must be crazy...

    Love Lehane but do not love him enough to pay 17.99 for an ebook. Thought books were supposed to get cheaper with the addition of ebooks. Oh well, will wait for it to pop up a yard sale. And all you people who will cry about this not being a book review, get over it. When the ratings stay low because they overcharge, maybe they will get the message.

    14 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great book.

    If you liked "The Given Day" you'll love this book. Lehane is one of the best writers of our time. It was worth the money.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    A must-read page-turner...

    If you read ANY GIVEN DAY, you will be even more enthralled by this gripping story. His characters and this story make for a fabulous read.

    If you have not read ANY GIVEN DAY, let this be a story that has you living for each page until you are finally at the end...exhausted after a thrilling ride.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    A great second book for this cast of characters

    If you have not read the first book, you may be lost for a little while, but the story stands on it's own two feet. This author can write, and you almost nod to yourself that he got it right as you listen to his characters think out loud. Some of the characters are a little underdeveloped or unbelieveable, but so are a lot of people we know. My main complaint with this book is two fold: the ending was pretty abrupt, and the author is not as prlific as I would like. I could read a new book by him every month.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    A good read

    Very well written as are all Lehane's books. An interesting story about a time and place I am not too familiar with. I am in the middle of reading it but am having a hard time putting it down. I would recommend this to anyone who likes mysteries.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was "unputdownable". It was such a good rea

    This book was "unputdownable". It was such a good read, I hated to see it end.

    For those of you who are deliberately keeping the rating down due to cost, shame on you! What a shoddy practice and not fair to those of us who rely on fellow readers for an honest recommendation. Certainly we're adult enough to determine if we want to spend what this fine book costs. It's a keeper and will be read again, and again.....shame on you!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    17.99! Whoa!

    Get real people! Its an e book! Ill be trucking to the library thank you



    5 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No ink no paper

    To much money paperback

    5 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Too expensive

    Agree-

    5 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    ?....

    You publishers get more and more greedy....I can afford to read this book, but wont, because most of the money goes into your pockets, so the author suffers...disgusting.....

    5 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    $17.99!!! Nope

    Never going to pay that much.

    4 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Anonymous

    Way too much for a nook book. I'll wait my turn at the library.

    4 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Excellent

    Clever

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    excellent read

    Dennis Lehane just joined my list of favorite authors; he paints pictures with his words and makes the reader feel present in the moment...we find ourselves rooting for the central character regardless of his questionable ethics because of his morality in an immoral business.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Wonderful

    As with all of his previous books, this one is another winner. There is something about the style of his writing, it's hard to put into words, that grabs your interest and will not let you go. His characters have such personality, they come to life as you read. This story takes place in Ybor city near Tampa, Florida. As a graduate of the University of South Florida, I became familiar with that area and his descriptions of the area brought back memories for me as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There is an old cliché about the prostitute with a heart of gold

    There is an old cliché about the prostitute with a heart of gold. This same thought can apply to the main character in this novel, a gangster who is, nonetheless, almost too good to be true. But the book is so well-written and -constructed that it would be a shame to arrive at that conclusion. It is a movingly built tale encased in a reconstruction of a unique period in American history.

    Joe Coughlin, the son of the deputy superintendent of the Boston Police Department, probably could have achieved success in a legitimate manner, except the path was not to his liking. Instead he chose to be an outlaw, and eventually part of the Boston mob, and later the boss of operations in Florida and along the southern coast to New Orleans. What made this possible, of course, was Prohibition, which was the basis for bootlegging, as well as gang wars and murders. He is distinguished from his counterparts by his use of brains (brawn is a reluctant fallback) and hopefully doing good by giving some of his ill-gained profits back to society.

    The story follows Joe’s life from Boston to Florida and Cuba, his loves, schemes, betrayals, achievements and failures. One can quibble about how the novel concludes, but the sweep is still of epic proportions. It is a welcome addition to the author’s chronicling of 20th century America, and it is recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    I am a huge fan of Dennis Lehane, and I think that this book was

    I am a huge fan of Dennis Lehane, and I think that this book was outstanding! It was equally as engaging and well written as The Given Day. I particulary found it refreshing when the setting moved from Boston to "Cigar City" (Tampa, Fl). I received a huge education on what was going on in Tampa during this time period, and I found it to be fascinating. As far as the characters, they were richly developed, and as for the main character Joe, how could one not love him? If you enjoyed The Given Day, I say that this is a MUST read! I honestly couldn't put this book down once it got rolling (no pun intended...a lot of the book has to do with cigar factories:) I would just like to add, for those of you that rate books poorly just because you can't handle paying for them...well shame on you! You really ruin the entire purpose of this customer review section.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Not worth the money

    Nothing special after a short while became boring

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Recommended

    I didn't like this as much as Dennis Lehane's other books. Maybe it was because he moved the action to Florida and I like his Boston settings better. It was intriguing but not the stay - up - all - night - page turner that I am used to with his work. Nice touch incorporating the characters from his previous book but I just couldn't get into the whole Florida mafia bit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Too violent

    Got this for my mom, as she loves to listen to Dennis Le Hane, on Audio. She has not been able to get thru it, as she says it is too violent.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5