Customer Reviews for

Live by Night

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great book.

If you liked "The Given Day" you'll love this book. Lehane is one of the best writers of our time. It was worth the money.

posted by 12526549 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

You must be crazy...

Love Lehane but do not love him enough to pay 17.99 for an ebook. Thought books were supposed to get cheaper with the addition of ebooks. Oh well, will wait for it to pop up a yard sale. And all you people who will cry about this not being a book review, get over it. Wh...
Love Lehane but do not love him enough to pay 17.99 for an ebook. Thought books were supposed to get cheaper with the addition of ebooks. Oh well, will wait for it to pop up a yard sale. And all you people who will cry about this not being a book review, get over it. When the ratings stay low because they overcharge, maybe they will get the message.

posted by 18016713 on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    A great second book for this cast of characters

    If you have not read the first book, you may be lost for a little while, but the story stands on it's own two feet. This author can write, and you almost nod to yourself that he got it right as you listen to his characters think out loud. Some of the characters are a little underdeveloped or unbelieveable, but so are a lot of people we know. My main complaint with this book is two fold: the ending was pretty abrupt, and the author is not as prlific as I would like. I could read a new book by him every month.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Excellent

    Clever

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There is an old cliché about the prostitute with a heart of gold

    There is an old cliché about the prostitute with a heart of gold. This same thought can apply to the main character in this novel, a gangster who is, nonetheless, almost too good to be true. But the book is so well-written and -constructed that it would be a shame to arrive at that conclusion. It is a movingly built tale encased in a reconstruction of a unique period in American history.

    Joe Coughlin, the son of the deputy superintendent of the Boston Police Department, probably could have achieved success in a legitimate manner, except the path was not to his liking. Instead he chose to be an outlaw, and eventually part of the Boston mob, and later the boss of operations in Florida and along the southern coast to New Orleans. What made this possible, of course, was Prohibition, which was the basis for bootlegging, as well as gang wars and murders. He is distinguished from his counterparts by his use of brains (brawn is a reluctant fallback) and hopefully doing good by giving some of his ill-gained profits back to society.

    The story follows Joe’s life from Boston to Florida and Cuba, his loves, schemes, betrayals, achievements and failures. One can quibble about how the novel concludes, but the sweep is still of epic proportions. It is a welcome addition to the author’s chronicling of 20th century America, and it is recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had this book on my shelf for nine months before I started rea

    I had this book on my shelf for nine months before I started reading it.  I would finish “The Latest, Must-Read, Irresistible Novel of the Year” and say, “now I’ll read that Lehane book,” only to be distracted by the next “Latest, Must-Read . . . .”  By doing so, I accomplished two things:  1) I missed reading a very good, albeit violent, novel set in Prohibition New York City and Tampa, Florida, 2) I got to read an escapist novel when I needed it most.  Fellow Procrastinators, justification is a wonderful thing.  In this case, my deferment in reading this particular book lead to my having a relatively open week in which I could immerse myself in its reading - a treat and a practice in which I rarely get to indulge.
    Joe Caughlin was 20 years old when he first saw Emma Gould, a moment from which the rest of his life is measured – that glimpse set him upon a path that would define the next nine years of his life (the book only covers that time period).  Joe lived in an era – the 10 years of the Volstead Act, commonly known as Prohibition - that allowed for fast living, high adventure and a probable extremely short life expectancy.  He had always considered himself “an outlaw,” much to the chagrin of his father, the Deputy Superintendent of the Boston Police department, but his relationship with “the powers that really ran Boston,” opened the door for his becoming a gangster.  “It was a dirty business, therefore, we had to do dirty things,” says Joe, for an understatement of the ages.  His life as a member of a (Mafia) gang caused a disruption in the plans he had for being an outlaw, a detour that, at first, seemed to be fatal, but resulted in his becoming the “Boss” of the Gulf Coast, from Tampa, FL to Biloxi, MS.  In the course of his “making something” from a town (Tampa) known only for its heat, reptiles and cigars, Joe finds he is good at the task assigned to him, finds love in an unexpected place and, of course, has to fight to protect what he created. 
    This is a story of a violent time told from the view point of one who was at the epicenter of that age.  Much of what was done to make money was horrible and Joe has no illusions otherwise nor does he make excuses for his actions.  He “lives for the night, where we make up the rules.”  Joe’s realistic view of what he does not erase the conscious developed during his years living as the son of a Policeman.  When he acts, it is decisively but not without consideration of his values.  The violence described is graphic, dreadful and sudden told to highlight how Joe is a human being, not just a gangster.
    This is a good story.  It is told using the language expected, with enough blood spilt to put a blood bank at risk.  It can be read over a cold, rainy weekend.  If one likes a Gangster tales, one would have to look a long time to find better.
    In many ways, the decade described in this book could be easily translated into this present age, changing only the modes of transportation, the clothing and what was being sold by the gangs. The Demon Rum made and sold illegally then is a small fraction of the illegal substances made and sold today.  By the end of the book Joe has grown up at a huge cost.  Be it Karma or“what you do to others will be done to you,” what is required of Joe had to be large to even out what he had done.  Given the similarities in 1920’s and the early part of the 21st Century, what will be required of us to “balance the books?”  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Very good

    A good read with a well done ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Dark, dark, very dark...

    Best description was the reviewer who wrote, "Noir 101." Dark, dark, very dark, with some unexpected (and some almost expected) twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    LLP

    Good read. Great timeframe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Lehane

    Doesn't write a bad book and this one is as good as all the rest from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Not Bad

    This was not one of his best but a good read just the same. Compared to 'The Given Day' it was a little disappointing; however, he writes a good story and I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Intricate saga good charaacters good plot interesting localeso

    Good reading interesting characters good plot interesting locales

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    very good in the same vein as The Given Day.

    very good in the same vein as The Given Day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Thoroughly Engrossing

    A wonderful story of prohibition in the 20's and 30's with great characters and lots of mayhem. A fresh look at how stupid the 18th Amendment really was. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2