Customer Reviews for

Live by Night

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great book.

If you liked "The Given Day" you'll love this book. Lehane is one of the best writers of our time. It was worth the money.

posted by 12526549 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

You must be crazy...

Love Lehane but do not love him enough to pay 17.99 for an ebook. Thought books were supposed to get cheaper with the addition of ebooks. Oh well, will wait for it to pop up a yard sale. And all you people who will cry about this not being a book review, get over it. Wh...
Love Lehane but do not love him enough to pay 17.99 for an ebook. Thought books were supposed to get cheaper with the addition of ebooks. Oh well, will wait for it to pop up a yard sale. And all you people who will cry about this not being a book review, get over it. When the ratings stay low because they overcharge, maybe they will get the message.

posted by 18016713 on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great book.

    If you liked "The Given Day" you'll love this book. Lehane is one of the best writers of our time. It was worth the money.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    A must-read page-turner...

    If you read ANY GIVEN DAY, you will be even more enthralled by this gripping story. His characters and this story make for a fabulous read.

    If you have not read ANY GIVEN DAY, let this be a story that has you living for each page until you are finally at the end...exhausted after a thrilling ride.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    A good read

    Very well written as are all Lehane's books. An interesting story about a time and place I am not too familiar with. I am in the middle of reading it but am having a hard time putting it down. I would recommend this to anyone who likes mysteries.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was "unputdownable". It was such a good rea

    This book was "unputdownable". It was such a good read, I hated to see it end.

    For those of you who are deliberately keeping the rating down due to cost, shame on you! What a shoddy practice and not fair to those of us who rely on fellow readers for an honest recommendation. Certainly we're adult enough to determine if we want to spend what this fine book costs. It's a keeper and will be read again, and again.....shame on you!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    excellent read

    Dennis Lehane just joined my list of favorite authors; he paints pictures with his words and makes the reader feel present in the moment...we find ourselves rooting for the central character regardless of his questionable ethics because of his morality in an immoral business.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Wonderful

    As with all of his previous books, this one is another winner. There is something about the style of his writing, it's hard to put into words, that grabs your interest and will not let you go. His characters have such personality, they come to life as you read. This story takes place in Ybor city near Tampa, Florida. As a graduate of the University of South Florida, I became familiar with that area and his descriptions of the area brought back memories for me as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    I am a huge fan of Dennis Lehane, and I think that this book was

    I am a huge fan of Dennis Lehane, and I think that this book was outstanding! It was equally as engaging and well written as The Given Day. I particulary found it refreshing when the setting moved from Boston to "Cigar City" (Tampa, Fl). I received a huge education on what was going on in Tampa during this time period, and I found it to be fascinating. As far as the characters, they were richly developed, and as for the main character Joe, how could one not love him? If you enjoyed The Given Day, I say that this is a MUST read! I honestly couldn't put this book down once it got rolling (no pun intended...a lot of the book has to do with cigar factories:) I would just like to add, for those of you that rate books poorly just because you can't handle paying for them...well shame on you! You really ruin the entire purpose of this customer review section.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    To onyx

    Come to busted result 2 come alone -- streak and destructo

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2012

    Another great book by Lehane

    Great writing...you feel like you are walking beside the main character the whole way through the story. This would be an excellent book for a discussion group. Lehane continues to create his characters with many facets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Thanks Mr Lehane!

    Excellent! Historical fiction very well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    MidnightRain

    She licked a paw as her violet eyes flicked back and fourth she had just got back from bloodclan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    TO BELOW

    May I kill you im allergic to cats

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Lehane's creativity continues

    Fast n' easy summer read. Perfect blend of deep characters with rich emotions and a plot with enough twists and turns to keep the pages turning at a rapid pace...all the while without over-complicating the plot. ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Riveting

    One of my favorites from Lehane. Going to have to go back and reread some of his others now... Forgot how good he is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Jaysoar

    Write more!!!! Please chack out my stories at 'jaysoar' all results and 'blood wings' all results!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Talonkit

    Awesomeness!!!!! And that coming from one of the best writers at my school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Seafleurs Story Prologue

    Seakit woke up in the dark of the nursery, hearing the sleeping cats around her breathe. She tossed he grey blue fur and blinked her turquoise eyes. She lay still for a second, then peered out the opening of the cave in which the nursery was located. She could barely see the main camp, a meadow with lush green grass dotted by wildflowers. A clear and sparkling stream ran through the middle of the clearing, and a pile of boulders jutted out at the edge of the forest that surrounded the camp. Seakit watched as the sun rose, pulling its fiery briliance into the sky. The moment the last tendrils of the sun pulled free from the mountains in the distance, Seakit turned around and rushed around the cats to where her sister Talonkit was sleeping. Talonkit was a black she kit with iridescent gold streaks that shimmered in the sun. She opened her amber eyes as Seakit batted her ear. "What, Seakit? Its early." Seakit bounced on her toes. "We need to go exploring!" Talonkit yawned and turned over, closing her eyes. "Im sleeping," she said. Seakit frowned but suddenly collapsed under the weight of her other sister Cloudkit. Cloudkit was almost identical to Talonkit except her eyes were a clear blue. Cloudkit giggled and rolled off of Seakit. "I want to go exploring!" She whisper yelled. Seakit shot Talonkit a look. "At least one of my sisters wants to spend time with me." She commented. Talonkit groaned and stood up. "Fine. Whatever." She said in a yawn. A shouted whisper came from across the cave. "Shut up, guys! You woke me up." Seakit giggled as a kit a moon older than them walked towards them. He was a russet brown, with dark chocolate colored eyes that gleamed with intelligence. "Wolfkit, what are you doing?" Seakit said, looking at him with adoring eyes. Wolfkit grinned. "Imma do whatever you guys are doing." He glanced at Cloudkit and Talonkit. "So are we ready to roll?" He asked. The three sisters nodded and ran out. As they walked in the forest that surrounded the camp, Seakit noticed an odd glimmer shining to the right of the group. She called ahead to the others. "Im going to check something out real quick." Wolfkit nodded and kept walking with Cloudkit and Talonkit. Seakit dashed in the direction of the glimmer. As she neared its source, she sensed she was being watched. Her hackles rose as she noticed the forest was completely silent. The shadows surrounding her darkened her vision, making it hard to see. She saw the glimmer and walked up to it. She picked up the object. It looked to be a jewel, but it wasmade out of a weird material. Seakit picked it up and decided she would ask Smokestar, the leader of Edenclan. As she turned, a grey cat with scars down his face and black eyes stepped out from behind a tree. He leered at her. "You wont be going anywhere." He pounced on her and she yowled. Suddenly Wolfkit burst out behind her attacker and launched himself at his neck. The attacker yelped and let go of Seakit. "Run!" Wolfkit mouthed. Seakit yelled "No!" and prepared the leap at the attacker. She faltered as she saw Wolfkit fall to the ground, bloody and lifeless. "No..." the attacker turned on her and stalked towards her. She turned and ran. As she ran, she heard the cat cackle and yell "We will find you!" She ran to her camp, where she saw her sisters concerned faces before blacking out. *** Like? Should i write more? Comment!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Great Read

    Very Entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Goldstreak

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3