Customer Reviews for

Live in London

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Leonard Cohen's newest a must for fans

    I have a ticket (expensive!) to Leonard Cohen's appearance in Oakland for next month. The reviews of his recent shows in England have been ecstatic--at his age, he still delivers, like Van Morrison. I will snap up this live CD and compare it with what I experienced at the Fox Theater gig. I almost got shut out on buying a ticket, and thought I would have to get the CD as a consolation prize. Now I can have both. Sweeeeet!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Music Lovers Unite

    I'm slow to discover Mr. Cohen, but now that I have I can not get enough. I love his raspy throaty voice. I am intrigued and turned by his lyrics, he speaks to me. I never tire, I can listen over and over and over...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Essential for every Leonard Cohen fan

    This is a CD of his concert in London. I've seen the DVD and prefer the CD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Essential listening of an artist on top form

    I find it hard to praise this recording enough. The connection with the audience, the freshness in the performance and arrangements, and the humor are second to none. Cohen is warm, funny and emotional, he is clearly enjoying the performance as much as the audience.
    The band and singers are similarly superb.
    Classy, intelligent music to love for many, many years.
    Buy it, love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Didn't Listen When I Was Young

    The whole thing was very entertaining, he certainly is the wordsmith, with backup vocals that are so beautiful. The music was excellent and the solos outstanding, I would buy it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Really Great

    Leonard Cohen, as usual, is fabulous. This is one of the best live CD sets I have heard in a long time. Great value.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    stunning record live performance

    Great audio detail in recording with A level performance from all.
    Assembled the "varsity" of backup musicians and vocalists.
    sets a stardard for "live" recording!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    god bless LC

    i have listened to LC for 35 years.he was brilliant then,he is brilliant now.the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LEONARD COHEN LIVE IN LONDON - I REALLY WISH I COULD HAVE BEEN THERE

    This CD takes my breath away - Thank you Leonard Cohen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    YOU ARE MY MAN . . .

    Pure class. I have admired this man's writing for nearly 50 years. Even as a young teenager, his words inspired, made me happy, made me cry, made me dance . . . I love you Leonard. You are my man. We're old now but what a life. He was the right time, the right place. And today I have said to friends 'you must listen to him here' . . . just the way he speaks, though he says why he could be sad, you can feel him smiling as the stories unfold and we're back at today again. Do listen to the words. And feel the music. Its all here. His gift. Leonard is my forever love, my forever crush, my man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh, Leonard!

    If you have followed Leonard Cohen for 40 years, as I have, this is the natural progression of the master. His wit, humility, and relevance are all there. We are blessed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding album from Leonard Cohen

    One of the best live albums ever released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!!!!

    My husband and I just love Leonard Cohen and this is not exception....he is just fantastic. His voice is great and the background music just completes the enjoyment. We would highly recomend this and his other CDs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Leonard Who?

    I happened to hear a cut from this CD on the radio and was intrigued. Leonard Cohen has an unusual voice and an even more unusual story. How many 70+ year old singers do you know of who recently made a comeback? Unfortunately, a two-CD set is too much of pretty much the same sound. I doubt that I will play either one very often and wish I'd just bought one or two cuts on iTunes. Live and learn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Cohen at his truest

    A remarkable live recording, soulful and communicating the essence of this great poet/writer/singer. His humbleness, his humanity, his modesty, his greatness shine through on every cut and his comments to the audience between songs. My only regret was that I wasn't there in London last year to bear witness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    doesn't suck

    not bad, not exactly nuanced. could use more of the rocker i saw perform in the 70's. still good to hear the golden voice, though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Essential Cohen

    This live 2-CD set is superb.
    Cohen relates to and is moved by his audience.
    The 26 songs cover most of his best material.
    The band is masterful but not overbearing.
    The audience noise is not annoying as in most live albums.
    This is probably your last chance to enjoy Cohen.
    Buy this CD and see him live if you get the opportunity.
    This music is moving and cerebral. A welcome departure from
    inane artists as Britney Spears et. al.
    Elevate your listening tastes and enjoy this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2