Customer Reviews for

Live to Tell (Detective D. D. Warren Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 691 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Emotionally gripping!

"Live to Tell" is Lisa Gardner's latest installment in the Detective D.D. Warren series that takes place in Boston. Never having read any of the other books in the series, I wondered if I could pick up the back story of D.D. Warren and understand her character - not to ...
"Live to Tell" is Lisa Gardner's latest installment in the Detective D.D. Warren series that takes place in Boston. Never having read any of the other books in the series, I wondered if I could pick up the back story of D.D. Warren and understand her character - not to worry, the author does a great job of providing a history without it taking pages of details.

This was a great story! It is the perfect summer read with an interesting mystery, good characters that all tie together without stretching the imagination and a very interesting topic - psychologically damaged children. This isn't a story about kids damaged because of what was done to them by uncaring adults but kids born with psychological issues - the kids can't sit still, don't react to authority, destructive behavior - and all reared by loving, caring, involved parents.

From the first chapter, the story gripped me and it continued through the end of the book. Gardner does a great job of bringing in different characters, tying them togher yet making you care about each of them. One of my biggest pet peeves is when an author spends the last chapter with the main characters explaining the story. That is not the case here - you are watching the story unfold as you read it and that is just one of the many good things about "Live to Tell." I found myself thinking of the parents in the story as real people and wondering if I know people who are going through this with their kids!

I highly recommend this book. I am going back to look into Gardner's other books and bring myself up to speed on Detective Warren's history.

posted by 1751831 on May 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't Get Into This One

Typically love Lisa Gardner, but halfway through, I gave up...and I NEVER do that. The subject matter was too disturbing and I couldn't get past the details.

posted by Kayceedee on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    Emotionally gripping!

    "Live to Tell" is Lisa Gardner's latest installment in the Detective D.D. Warren series that takes place in Boston. Never having read any of the other books in the series, I wondered if I could pick up the back story of D.D. Warren and understand her character - not to worry, the author does a great job of providing a history without it taking pages of details.

    This was a great story! It is the perfect summer read with an interesting mystery, good characters that all tie together without stretching the imagination and a very interesting topic - psychologically damaged children. This isn't a story about kids damaged because of what was done to them by uncaring adults but kids born with psychological issues - the kids can't sit still, don't react to authority, destructive behavior - and all reared by loving, caring, involved parents.

    From the first chapter, the story gripped me and it continued through the end of the book. Gardner does a great job of bringing in different characters, tying them togher yet making you care about each of them. One of my biggest pet peeves is when an author spends the last chapter with the main characters explaining the story. That is not the case here - you are watching the story unfold as you read it and that is just one of the many good things about "Live to Tell." I found myself thinking of the parents in the story as real people and wondering if I know people who are going through this with their kids!

    I highly recommend this book. I am going back to look into Gardner's other books and bring myself up to speed on Detective Warren's history.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    Gardner Does It Again

    It seems that every summer I am looking for something good to read at Cape Cod and Lisa Gardner always comes to the rescue. This was my first summer with my Nook and she was just as good electronically. She lets a few of the characters speak for themselves which adds a special flavor to the book. She has you guessing right 'til the end as to the murderer. Much of the plot deals with disturbed children struggling with various mental issues. Gardner handles them with the expertise of someone who has done her homework. A great summer read--a great fall, winter and spring read, also.
    And those who have been afraid to give up their books for a Nook--it is okay. It is the future and the future is here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good mystery

    A really good mystery!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    WARNING: This book contains violence by children, violence and s

    WARNING: This book contains violence by children, violence and sexual abuse against children, as well as mental disorders. This could be very trigger-y for some.

    While I did start to like D.D. Warren in the last book, this is the first one where I didn't feel she jumped to the wrong conclusion right off the bat and refused to budge from it. This book actually shows her taking in new facts and evidence and letting that shape her suspect list. Basically, it showed her being a good detective. I liked the small bits we got about her personal life, but also like that it didn't take too much away from the actual story.

    Speaking of, I had one person in mind for the killer right off the bat. I was, of course wrong. However, I did spot the killer shortly after they were introduced. While this would normally annoy me, the story itself and the reveal of why the killer was doing it made up for it. There were some hints of supernatural/faith elements involved, but nothing heavy handed or set it stone. It was presented as 'this could be an explanation, or it might not be'.

    At the end of the day, this makes me eager to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended- excellent read for those that love suspense!

    The book kept me on the edge of my seat. I've gone back to buy other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Another great read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book

    I love all of Beverly Barton's books. Always suspenseful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Awesome

    Excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    good book!!

    Somewhat predictable, but gave a great perspective on children who suffer from mental health issues. Absolutely love that D.D. Warren has a new love interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    I liked it...

    Not as much as some of the others in the series but a very good book none the least. The storyline was very good and did a good job of making you want to keep reading late into the night. Can't wait to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    recommend this

    good story.. slightly predictable with variations but good storytelling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Great book

    This was one of the better books written by Lisa Gardner. I loved how the plot drew me in. I read this book in a day as it held my attention.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10