Customer Reviews for

The Lives They Left Behind: Suitcases from a State Hospital Attic

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    "The Lives They Left Behind: Suitcases From A State Mental Hospital Attic"

    A must read for anyone interested in the history of the mental health system in our country. The book covers the early 20th century up until about the early 70's. In this book you will read letters from patients, doctor's notes, and learn just how easy it was to have someone committed. You will find out that most of the "patients" were never even sick. A wealth of information collected and compiled in a way that is easy to read and understand.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    wonderful book well writen

    i enjoyed reading this book, very informative

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Please Do Not Buy

    When I heard the idea behind this book, I was fascinated. What a great idea! Then I read the book. It's appalling. It was not the stories of these 10 patients--it was full of assumptions about their lives and boils down to the authors' own crusade against mental health institutions. Their posits and assumptions about the history of the patients, how they were treated and what they experiences are horrid. These assumptions truly ruin the book, changing it from the insight into these people's lives into a finger pointing game. I would strongly discourage anyone from buying this book. It's distasteful and disrespectful. As a psychology major, I implore you to pick out a less biased and more encompassing book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wishing it had more

    This book had a very interesting idea. The problems that were mentioned were common among state mental hospitals. I worked at one, and so I do know the general history of mental illness and hospitalization.
    I found it to be educational, however I was left wishing they had more information on the people then the human rights issues so common in institutions.
    I did find the story about the grave digger to be fasinating and made this book worth the read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    Think Twice Before Buying This Book!!

    The Lives They Left Behind, talks all about the Willard State Hospital that used to house mental patients up until about 1980. The book depicts how the patients were medically treated during their stay, what it was like for them there, and also the stories of their lives that were lost during all the years the institution was open. The message of the entire the book was basically to prove how poorly the patients were treated at the hospital because they didn't receive proper care, they were forced to work at the institution, and most of the patients were never discharged from Willard. There is a reoccurring theme that staying in the hospital caused the patients to change and almost make their mental state worse than it was when they were first admitted. This theme is prominent because while reading the medical reports about the patients, one can clearly tell based on the records that their condition worsened and no treatment worked on most patients.In my personal opinion, reading the stories about the people in the hospital was the most entertaining part of the book. This is because the stories gave a detailed description of the patient's mental health and gave you and inside look as to who the person really was. As opposed to making you feel the patients admitted were just one more mental person roaming around, the book made you see them as they really were. Although the stories were enlightening, the rest of the book made me feel the author was very biased against the hospital. Most of the book is describing the horrible way they were treated and how no one was every released. Although I did feel sorry for the patients of the institution, by the end of the book I felt it was very repetitive. I would not recommend reading this book because even though it did have good points most of the book was extremely boring. I found it difficult to read The Lives They Left Behind because of the fact the author was trying the entire time to get sympathy votes for the mental patients and brought up the same facts multiple times throughout the book. It was very informing but I would not say it's something you pick up and read just because it's enjoyable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    ANONYMOUS

    This book is a sleeper. Don't waste your money !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Good Read

    I've always been interested in learning about state hospitals, and the lives of those who were placed in them. I found this book to be incredibly interesting but somewhat difficult to follow at times. I constantly found myself turning back a few pages to double check the things that were said (medical terms, locations, etc.) And while I agree there is a bit of opinion thrown in by the author, the facts are there. And I felt that by the end I had become very attached to the people of Willard and I wanted to know so much more. I would highly recommend this book for anyone that has an interest more so in patient life and treatment. This is no uplifting book so be prepared to become a little frustrated if you get attached to people like I do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    HORRIBLE

    Don't waste your money - it's not what you think it is. B O R I N G

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2