Customer Reviews for

Living Buddha, Living Christ

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The Living Buddah

Thich Nhat Hanh really deepened my faith with this book. It was so good that I read the entire book in about four hours. What he does in this book is really compares two different religions. But, he also mentions, or infers, that buddhism is not a religion. Rather i...
Thich Nhat Hanh really deepened my faith with this book. It was so good that I read the entire book in about four hours. What he does in this book is really compares two different religions. But, he also mentions, or infers, that buddhism is not a religion. Rather it is an understanding or a way of living. And when you apply this way of living with your spiritual and daily life, then you have a match made in heaven. I am a devout catholic, but I practice buddhism every day. It helps me calm my anger and harness all of that energy, and turn it into something useful, like love. So if you are looking for some way to pick your life up or to just be happier, I really reccomend that you read this book.

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Agree with NookWormGD

This is ridiculous. Buddha would drop to his knees and follow Christ if he were to meet him. Not even worth the money. All this is doing is suggesting that people believe in both...

posted by 9377090 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    The Living Buddah

    Thich Nhat Hanh really deepened my faith with this book. It was so good that I read the entire book in about four hours. What he does in this book is really compares two different religions. But, he also mentions, or infers, that buddhism is not a religion. Rather it is an understanding or a way of living. And when you apply this way of living with your spiritual and daily life, then you have a match made in heaven. I am a devout catholic, but I practice buddhism every day. It helps me calm my anger and harness all of that energy, and turn it into something useful, like love. So if you are looking for some way to pick your life up or to just be happier, I really reccomend that you read this book.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    A stretch at best

    I am a practicing Buddhist, and great fan of Thich Nhat Hahn, but am also a devote Christian. I do not believe that Buddhism offers the same kind of spiritual salvation that Christianity does, however, I also am convinced that Biblical Christianity falls far short of providing the necessary tools to find the kind of salvation that Buddhism offers. Ancient and modern forms of Christian prayer do not help us effectively listen and recieve God's guidance as well as Buddhist practice. Real trial and error, and life experiences will show you this. Any assertion that one cannot recieve wisdom outside of the Bible is based solely in fear and indicates a lazy mind.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    Worth Study but also understanding

    Buddhist have a wide array of beliefs as do many followers of any religion. Although the views in this book have merit and at times make excellent points, I felt that serveral times there was bias. I do enjoy that this book is a buddhist teaching both buddhist and christians alike about Christ and his teachings and the fact that many relate to the the teachings and practices of Buddha. its one of those, 'from another point of view' books. It has helped me a great deal with my religious and spiritual conflicts and has allowed me to express a more open view of all beliefs. A sudden understanding that in the end we all believe the same basic idea.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Great read for spirituality

    This is an easy read that makes connections with christianity and taking spirituality to a better understanding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    A must read! Makes you think.

    Well written. Wish I could be this well centered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Amazing book- changed my perspective on life...

    Amazing book- changed my perspective on life...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Agree with NookWormGD

    This is ridiculous. Buddha would drop to his knees and follow Christ if he were to meet him. Not even worth the money. All this is doing is suggesting that people believe in both...

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Living Buddha, Living Christ

    Very insightful, this book aided in clarifying my thoughts regarding misperceptions I have had through the years. It has helped open my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Pet room

    This room is filled with tumnels and beds and stuff

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Goldenheart

    I want to the deputy. I fight for justce. I am a faithful christian. And you know my description.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Leaders den

    Leaders den

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2