Customer Reviews for

Living Buddha, Living Christ 10th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Rose By Any Other Name ....

I am reminded that there are many ways to say the same thing. The sayings of the gnostic Jesus, the traditional Jesus, the Buddha. We have often interpreted the message to suit our institutional needs, but the message really was always the same, regardless of the messen...
I am reminded that there are many ways to say the same thing. The sayings of the gnostic Jesus, the traditional Jesus, the Buddha. We have often interpreted the message to suit our institutional needs, but the message really was always the same, regardless of the messenger: Love one another.

This is a beautiful book, easy to read, portable, easy to carry with you on your lunch break. Read it sitting outside with the birds singing as spring approaches. Read it in bed before falling off to sleep. But by all means read it. And give thanks that people like Thich Nhat Hanh were given life, and reminded us how to live it.

posted by JimmyMac on March 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Agree with NookWormGD

This is ridiculous. Buddha would drop to his knees and follow Christ if he were to meet him. Not even worth the money. All this is doing is suggesting that people believe in both...

posted by 9377090 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Rose By Any Other Name ....

    I am reminded that there are many ways to say the same thing. The sayings of the gnostic Jesus, the traditional Jesus, the Buddha. We have often interpreted the message to suit our institutional needs, but the message really was always the same, regardless of the messenger: Love one another.

    This is a beautiful book, easy to read, portable, easy to carry with you on your lunch break. Read it sitting outside with the birds singing as spring approaches. Read it in bed before falling off to sleep. But by all means read it. And give thanks that people like Thich Nhat Hanh were given life, and reminded us how to live it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Reawaken the Holy Spirit within you

    Whether you are a buddhist coverting to christian or a christian converting to buddhist, this book will definitely open up your heart, calm your mind, and enrich your soul. Most importantly, it will reawaken the 'Holy Spirit'--the Living Buddha and the Living Christ within you...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    Simple yet profound

    I recently began practicing Buddhism, and this book was one of the catalysts for me. The analogies between Buddhism and Christianity are interesting. I was impressed with his simple, common-sense approach. A very engaging writer. I plan on reading more of his works.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Hanh never disappoints

    As a beiliver in the Divinity of Christ and the teachings of Buddah I found this book to be a woulderful bridge that assisted me in my desire to make a connection between the two "religions".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Easy Read

    It easier for us to point out each others flaws but from reading the book i found that we really are more alike than we would all like to think. Its a humbling feeling. There is no need to be better than, i think we can exist and let others believe what they will as long as we all respect one another. I finish the book and just re read it. Im going to keep reading it until it truly all sinks in. I dont want to miss a thing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Great read for spirituality

    This is an easy read that makes connections with christianity and taking spirituality to a better understanding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book for People of All Faithis

    Excellently written book about similarities of Buddhism and Christianity. Written from a perspective of inclusiveness it is this book is well suited to reader interested in starting a study of either Buddha or Jesus. May be a bit to "deep" for some readers but otherwise I recommend it highly.
    Excellent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Living Buddha, Living Christ offers a deep and rich insight

    Living Buddha, Living Christ offers a deep and rich insight into the similarities between Buddhism and Christianity. It’s quite surprising how similar the two religions can be. One would think that out of all the modern-day religions, if anything these two would be the least bit similar. However Living Buddha, Living Christ really shows the beauty of both. Just as Thich Nhat Hanh wrote, “We have different roots, traditions, and ways of seeing, but we share the common qualities of love, understanding, and acceptance.”
    As an atheist, I’ve always been interested in Buddhism, and its formation of a religion around existential beliefs. I’ve also always been a bit wary of Christianity. After reading this book, I gained a newfound respect and enjoyment of both religions. I think that because I’ve been raised in a society where the youth tends to rebel and go against their religious roots, I’ve always held a sort of grudge against Christianity and only acknowledged the things that I hated about it. Perhaps it was the comparison to Buddhism, a relatively peaceful and calm religion, that did it for me, but I’ve gained an appreciation for both, and a keenness to do something about it.

    Miriam AG

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    A must read! Makes you think.

    Well written. Wish I could be this well centered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Amazing book- changed my perspective on life...

    Amazing book- changed my perspective on life...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Agree with NookWormGD

    This is ridiculous. Buddha would drop to his knees and follow Christ if he were to meet him. Not even worth the money. All this is doing is suggesting that people believe in both...

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Good for Christians and Buddhists alike

    A great look at the ways that Buddhism and Christianity overlap in ideas and philosophies. A very enlightening read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Living Buddha, Living Christ

    Very insightful, this book aided in clarifying my thoughts regarding misperceptions I have had through the years. It has helped open my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Pet room

    This room is filled with tumnels and beds and stuff

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Goldenheart

    I want to the deputy. I fight for justce. I am a faithful christian. And you know my description.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Leaders den

    Leaders den

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2