Customer Reviews for

Living Dead Girl

Average Rating 4
( 445 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(252)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

A breathtaking and chilling read.

On an elementary school field trip to the aquarium, a ten-year-old girl gets abducted. She gets named ¿Alice,¿ by her kidnapper Ray, and leaves behind the sweet innocent girl from 623 Daisy Lane, becoming a shell of a girl who has been both mentally and physically abuse...
On an elementary school field trip to the aquarium, a ten-year-old girl gets abducted. She gets named ¿Alice,¿ by her kidnapper Ray, and leaves behind the sweet innocent girl from 623 Daisy Lane, becoming a shell of a girl who has been both mentally and physically abused to no end, essentially making her a living dead girl.

All Alice wants is to escape from the pain she faces everyday and the only possible way she thinks she can escape is through death. Then an even more horrible thing happens ¿ Ray asks her to find a replacement for her. Now it¿s her task to find another innocent girl for Ray to prey on. Could this be her release, or will Ray dispose of her just like the last Alice?

While this book is completely different then anything else Elizabeth Scott has written, it is just as remarkable. The book leaves a lasting impression on your mind as you read. Trying to imagine everything that Alice has to go through in the book is mind-boggling and it truly makes you realize how horrible people can be and how grateful people should be that they don¿t have to endure the same evils as Alice did. Scott¿s brilliant writing style shone through this dark novel, making it come alive in the reader¿s mind. The emotion that seeps through these pages is absolutely incredible. You¿ll want to scream out loud at the horrors that you encounter and cry out in frustration at the events that unfold. This is truly a haunting and unforgettable novel that everyone needs to read. It gives a one of a kind view into a world not much is known of, and one in which we all hope never to visit.

posted by AndAnotherBookRead on December 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Buyer Be Aware

I read this book in hopes of putting into my classroom library. It is not a book I feel comfortable passing onto my 9th grade students. The topic is not for kids. The book, while well written, stripped away some of my innocence. I read it a year ago and it is still with...
I read this book in hopes of putting into my classroom library. It is not a book I feel comfortable passing onto my 9th grade students. The topic is not for kids. The book, while well written, stripped away some of my innocence. I read it a year ago and it is still with me. I am not sure what to do with the copy I have. Read it only if you have a strong stomach for this very difficult and graphic topic. Elizabeth Scott is an excellent writer and I would love to read something else written by her.

posted by 2464843 on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 446 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    A breathtaking and chilling read.

    On an elementary school field trip to the aquarium, a ten-year-old girl gets abducted. She gets named ¿Alice,¿ by her kidnapper Ray, and leaves behind the sweet innocent girl from 623 Daisy Lane, becoming a shell of a girl who has been both mentally and physically abused to no end, essentially making her a living dead girl.<BR/><BR/>All Alice wants is to escape from the pain she faces everyday and the only possible way she thinks she can escape is through death. Then an even more horrible thing happens ¿ Ray asks her to find a replacement for her. Now it¿s her task to find another innocent girl for Ray to prey on. Could this be her release, or will Ray dispose of her just like the last Alice?<BR/><BR/>While this book is completely different then anything else Elizabeth Scott has written, it is just as remarkable. The book leaves a lasting impression on your mind as you read. Trying to imagine everything that Alice has to go through in the book is mind-boggling and it truly makes you realize how horrible people can be and how grateful people should be that they don¿t have to endure the same evils as Alice did. Scott¿s brilliant writing style shone through this dark novel, making it come alive in the reader¿s mind. The emotion that seeps through these pages is absolutely incredible. You¿ll want to scream out loud at the horrors that you encounter and cry out in frustration at the events that unfold. This is truly a haunting and unforgettable novel that everyone needs to read. It gives a one of a kind view into a world not much is known of, and one in which we all hope never to visit.

    41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    I received my copy of LIVING DEAD GIRL right before it came out in September. I read it the same day, and promptly hid it in a huge stack of other books, hoping to forget about it. I didn't. I came across it last week, and sat down and read it again. This time, I knew that, just like before, I'd never forget it, but I finally decided I was ready to write a review on the story. <BR/><BR/>Alice has lived with Ray since she was ten. Now that she's fifteen, she knows her time with him is about to come to an end. The only question will be how it will happen - whether Ray will kill her, or whether she'll kill herself. <BR/><BR/>You see, Alice wasn't always Alice. She was once a girl with a mom and dad who loved her, until the day Ray abducted her during a school field trip. Although they don't live far from her childhood home, Alice has only once made an attempt to escape, and that was right after she was abducted. Ever since then, she's become the emotional/physical/sexual slave that Ray has turned her into, and she does what she's told, when she's told. <BR/><BR/>When Ray sets his sights on Lucy, a replacement girl, Alice couldn't be more thrilled. Her time with Ray is finally, finally coming to an end, and all she can do is experience immense relief. She may have a moment's doubt about setting up a small, young girl to go through the same torture and torment she has endured, but basically, that overwhelming sense of relief is all she can bring herself to feel. <BR/><BR/>Events unfold quickly, and the ending of the story is not a resolution so much as a beginning to an entire new set of complications. <BR/><BR/>I hated LIVING DEAD GIRL, in a way that made me love it. With a storyline that could have been ripped from today's newspapers, the feelings and emotions that it will invoke within you are myriad - horror, sympathy, outrage, disbelief. When I heard a similar story in the news about a year ago, my first thought was how a child who had been abducted could so willingly stay with their captor. What I learned through the pages of this book is that fear - the kind of fear many of us have never known, and will hopefully never have to know - is a huge motivator. <BR/><BR/>Alice lives by fear. Fear of eating something she's been told not to eat. Fear of talking to someone she's been told not to talk to. Fear of bathing when she's not been told to bathe. Fear of saying something, anything, in the wrong way, or at the wrong time, or with the wrong tone of voice. Fear, plain and simple, can cause people to do all sorts of things. <BR/><BR/>Elizabeth Scott is to be thanked for writing a story that brings the issue of child abduction to light. As Alice says, there are three life lessons: No one will see you. No one will say anything. No one will save you. Unfortunately, she's all too often right. I hope that after reading LIVING DEAD GIRL everyone will see, everyone will speak, everyone will be compelled to save. <BR/><BR/>Hope for Alice may be gone, but there are many Alice's out in the world, and thanks to this story, they don't always have to live in fear that no one will save them.

    28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    Buyer Be Aware

    I read this book in hopes of putting into my classroom library. It is not a book I feel comfortable passing onto my 9th grade students. The topic is not for kids. The book, while well written, stripped away some of my innocence. I read it a year ago and it is still with me. I am not sure what to do with the copy I have. Read it only if you have a strong stomach for this very difficult and graphic topic. Elizabeth Scott is an excellent writer and I would love to read something else written by her.

    21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Real life- Face it.

    Many people give this book bad reviews,
    I believe those are the people who don't face the facts of life.
    The person who wrote about this is a realist, and this happens in our society. It might be sick and twisted, but it's real. If you like books about life, you'll love this book. People need to understand we don't live in a fairy tale world as many of them wish.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Very realistic, and an eye opener

    First of all, i just want to sy that i'm 14. I don't see why people are angry at the contents of this book, because it tells of real things that happen every day? This book was an amazing story! I even told my mom about it, and she said that you have to be mature to understand and not call the book disgusting. Although it's graphic, its REAL. Im very happy with it because it opened my eyes as to how evil some people can truly be.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read With Caution.

    I've seen and heard nothing but bad about this book. From how disgusting, unfit, and disturbing it was for readers. I had to see for myself. Like Ray (The God-Like Monster) the cover lured me towards something... there are no words. Horrific? Yes. Disturbing? Yes. Unimaginable? Yes. Unrealistic? Unfortunately, no. The things that happen to this young girl are all-too real things that many people have endured with similar or (tragic enough) worst results. After reading this book, I felt every kick, punch in the face, tug of the hair...every sense of pain 'Alice' has. The wrath of a disturbed man with a disturbed past. Please do not get mad at the book that wishes nothing more than to inform you of something we all should be aware of despite how much we don't want to be. Do not get mad at details that most likely match up to a 'T', the life of a young 'Alice' who's 'Ray' is no different from the one you will encounter in this read. This is not an easy read and has at some point, robbed me of an innocence but with good intention. Be careful.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A review from a teenage girl

    I've read some of these reviews after reading and the book, and I'm disappointed in how people give it such a low rating just because of the fact it isn't for children, or even teens for that matter. Elizabeth Scott is not a good writer. She is unbelievable. There's something and unforgettable and absolutely impressive about how she can convey so much emotion into just a few words. Admittedly, it can be disturbing at some times, but there's also something very amazing in just how Elizabeth Scott can make you feel like that with simple words and a few line.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Unforgettable

    When Alice was ten years old, she was kidnapped by a stranger, a man named Ray. Of course then, her name wasn¿t Alice. She was a little girl with friends, family, and a life, but now she has lost it all in exchange for Ray. For five years, Alice has endured physical, mental, and sexual abuse, but there¿s nothing she can do about it. She has no way of escape from this life, not even death, or else the family from her old life, her life before Ray, will be killed. Alice is stuck in the empty life Ray has created for her, forced to be a little girl even as she grows up physically. But when it becomes apparent that Alice¿s body is no longer that of the little girl Ray wants, Ray surprisingly doesn¿t kill Alice. Instead, he orders Alice to find him a new little girl for him to love. Can Alice follow through with this horrible command, and does she think this will finally free her from this forsaken life? And if she does find a new girl to replace herself, will she be able to live with it? Living Dead Girl is a truly haunting and unforgettable story. It¿s about a girl who¿s trapped both in a cruel physical environment and a mental cage. Alice¿s story is such a sad one because of how she changed due to the abuse she was subjected to. Alice¿s feelings and emotions, though limited due to the damage caused to her by Ray, are so vivid and make the reader want to save or help her in any way possible because of her vulnerability. This story confronts an issue not addressed in any other book I have read, the very real threat of kidnap, rape, abuse, and murder. It is so unique that this story has been written from the perspective of the victim, yet so incredibly sad at the same time. It really makes you hate the sociopaths in the world such as Ray that are able to commit such atrocities such as these. Living Dead Girl is emotionally raw, shockingly good, and a book that can only be experienced through reading the story for yourself. While it¿s not right to like a story such as this, I think Living Dead Girl should be read by everyone, if not for enjoyment then to inform readers. It is a short but fast read, beautifully written and impossible to ever forget.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Disturbing

    This book is not for children. It tells the tale of a young girl kidnapped by a pedophile when she was 10. It's now 5 years later and written in her voice of despair. Sad and horrifying that people can do such awful things to others. Poor Alice.......

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    Unforgettable

    i read this book within a few hours. I've read books with this subject matter before and i thought i would be able to handle this but it was too much. very emotional and heart wrenching. this girl goes through a lot of hell...and i won't spoil much. but it is an amazing book. i love it but the events in the story are...upsetting.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    Very Concerned Parent

    My daughter picked this book out in the B&N store. Nothing on the cover of the book alerted me to the contents. After the first few pages she brought the book to me crying. I begin to read the book and was so shocked! This book is not appropriate for Teens (the category in which is resides). After reading the reviews online I am very concerned that so many people found this book worthy of 5 stars. Reading a book detailing sexual assault, oral sex, and kidnapping is not what I consider excellent reading.
    Parents beware, this book is explicit, dark, and more than disturbing to any child, teen and adults.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    Not appropriate for young teens

    I am a mother and I would not want my child to read this on her own. This book should be read aloud with ample discussion with a parent or in a classroom. The book was clearly written for young adults but the type of violence depicted as well as the complicated emotions of the main characters may be hard for a lot of teens to understand. A lot of other reviewers say that this happens in real life and we need to educate our children, etc. but this is not the most common type of sexual violence that our children would most likely encounter. I don't think we should shelter our kids but I believe this book is not the way to educate. Also, I don't think that there was any kind of warning or message that could help prevent an abduction or teach, it is a gritty realistic depiction of a child who was stripped of all of her will to survive as well as her empathy for others. Not all stories need a happy ending but there should at least be an opportunity to learn.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    No way!!

    I read a the first few chapters of this book. It was too disturbing to read the rest. This book is definitly not for teens. I would have to say 18 and up. I can't believe that this book is put in the teen section.It's incredibly graphic and heart wrenching. I don't reccommend it.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Short and haunting

    No uplifting story or happiness in this one. You can expect this story to haunt you. Also, short book at just 130 pages.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Not good

    The writing was okay but the book is horribly depressing and i hate the ending

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Beautiful

    I was shocked when I read this. The details are horrifying, and most of the topics gruesome, but hauntingly brilliant. Once you start, you can't stop, and every page reminds you of the terror this girl is living with up until the very last page. Twisted, but amazing and strange, this book captivates you and won't let go until 'Alice' is free.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Amazing.

    This is a book that will stick with me for my entire life. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Breathtakingly Real and Enchantingly Horrifying

    This book was amazing. I read it in a few short hours, and was absolutley taken by it. The way the author writes, and has you picture Alice is so disturbing yet enticing. This is a real in depth look in to the mind of an abused girl, who was taken from her simple and nice life.

    Alice teaches you to never take anything for granted, never to trust blindly, and to fend for yourself.

    Don't be naive and listen to the bad reviews. This is a disturbingly beautiful read, but I do not reccommend it for 15 or under. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Anonymous

    I didnt enjoy this book i guess i didnt have the stomach for it it really hurt my heart.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Absolutely terrifying.

    I will never see things the same again. After watching a lot of Law and Order: SVU, I thought I'd be prepared for this book. Wrong. This book made me want to cry. Be warned, and enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 446 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23