Customer Reviews for

Living Dead Girl

Average Rating 4
( 449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

A breathtaking and chilling read.

On an elementary school field trip to the aquarium, a ten-year-old girl gets abducted. She gets named ¿Alice,¿ by her kidnapper Ray, and leaves behind the sweet innocent girl from 623 Daisy Lane, becoming a shell of a girl who has been both mentally and physically abuse...
On an elementary school field trip to the aquarium, a ten-year-old girl gets abducted. She gets named ¿Alice,¿ by her kidnapper Ray, and leaves behind the sweet innocent girl from 623 Daisy Lane, becoming a shell of a girl who has been both mentally and physically abused to no end, essentially making her a living dead girl.

All Alice wants is to escape from the pain she faces everyday and the only possible way she thinks she can escape is through death. Then an even more horrible thing happens ¿ Ray asks her to find a replacement for her. Now it¿s her task to find another innocent girl for Ray to prey on. Could this be her release, or will Ray dispose of her just like the last Alice?

While this book is completely different then anything else Elizabeth Scott has written, it is just as remarkable. The book leaves a lasting impression on your mind as you read. Trying to imagine everything that Alice has to go through in the book is mind-boggling and it truly makes you realize how horrible people can be and how grateful people should be that they don¿t have to endure the same evils as Alice did. Scott¿s brilliant writing style shone through this dark novel, making it come alive in the reader¿s mind. The emotion that seeps through these pages is absolutely incredible. You¿ll want to scream out loud at the horrors that you encounter and cry out in frustration at the events that unfold. This is truly a haunting and unforgettable novel that everyone needs to read. It gives a one of a kind view into a world not much is known of, and one in which we all hope never to visit.

posted by AndAnotherBookRead on December 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Buyer Be Aware

I read this book in hopes of putting into my classroom library. It is not a book I feel comfortable passing onto my 9th grade students. The topic is not for kids. The book, while well written, stripped away some of my innocence. I read it a year ago and it is still with...
I read this book in hopes of putting into my classroom library. It is not a book I feel comfortable passing onto my 9th grade students. The topic is not for kids. The book, while well written, stripped away some of my innocence. I read it a year ago and it is still with me. I am not sure what to do with the copy I have. Read it only if you have a strong stomach for this very difficult and graphic topic. Elizabeth Scott is an excellent writer and I would love to read something else written by her.

posted by 2464843 on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Short and haunting

    No uplifting story or happiness in this one. You can expect this story to haunt you. Also, short book at just 130 pages.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Absolutely terrifying.

    I will never see things the same again. After watching a lot of Law and Order: SVU, I thought I'd be prepared for this book. Wrong. This book made me want to cry. Be warned, and enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2015

    Sad

    This one will break your heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Alright

    Yes, this book is morbid, and yes it doesn't really have a plot. The sad truth is that this actually happens. Kidnap, and rape. In real life there doesn't need to be a plot for things like that to happen. Not meant for teens for sure, but then the book is not really MEANT for anybody. I will say the book was well written though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Sgt.kitten

    I can see how alice feels .im only one year older than her i realy didnt like the events but this is everyday life and could happen to anyone i think thats what realy scared me (or its because i read it after the jessica ridgeway case)was that it could happen to me or you if your not careful but i could see why it would get good rating because it seems so real and i could see why it would get bad ratings i dont suggest it if you dont have a strong stomach or your over emotional i think that its for ages 14 and up i kinda wish i hadnt read it though it scared me lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Still shaking my head...

    Book was mesmerizing, read it in one sitting! NOT FOR YOUNG READERS! Very disturbing, yet unfortunately true to life. Never read this author before this, but I'm interested in reading her other books to see how they compare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    ?

    Does this book ahve anything to do with Go Ask Alice? Reply to Nerdy_Girl . Thx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    Once upon a time Alice was a little girl who disappeared. Once upon a time her name was not Alice. Once upon a time Alice was just like you. But that was a long time ago. Before Alice knew how lucky she was before she became a living dead girl in Elizabeth Scott's Living Dead Girl (2009).

    Five years ago Alice was taken by a man named Ray. Five years ago Alice was not Alice. She was ten years old and could still be the little girl Ray wanted in his home. In his bed. But now Alice is fifteen. She knows Ray is ready to release her, the same way he released the first Alice, and she longs for that moment when everything will end. But first Alice has to find her replacement, something Alice readily agrees to if it means Ray will finally let her go.

    Despite how cold and calculating as Alice has had to become, the search is not easy. Could it be that Alice isn't willing to be Alice anymore?

    This is a haunting, grim, miserable little story. At 170 pages it is a fast read which is good because if readers stop too long to think about what is really happening to Alice it becomes too devastating to bear. That said, the actual writingof the story is much less traumatic than I would have expected.

    Living Dead Girl has received a lot of accolades as a great book for teen readers (reluctant or otherwise). I don't really get it myself and find it a hard one to pitch simply because it's such a depressing book. Alice has been so irreparably broken by the time we meet that it is nearly impossible to harbor any hopes for her; her situation is hopeless.

    Nonetheless, Scott's writing is compelling and Living Dead Girl offers a uniquely accurate insight into what it really means to be a victim too afraid to speak out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    I liked it

    It was really good. :D Kinda strange but a great short read scary and crazy how realistic it actually is though! I recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Very disturbing

    The book was so disturbing that it was kind of hard to enjoy; you cant really enjoy this type of story, anyway. Honestly, if you are not mature... do not read this because it is a bit graphic and it involves details that even i dont know if i wanted to read. It is about a kidnapping and the only reason i read on was because i was hoping that the kidnapper would just drop dead .. he was so disgusting. The ending was also not very satisfying.. they could've given more details. Basically, all in all, i think te author gave too much upsetting, and i hate to use the word again, disturbing details and not enough uplifting ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Good story, but horrible grammar

    I loved the storyline, but i often got confused because punctuation and grammar was really weird and lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Good book!!!

    This book was really good so i would have to give it a two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Speechless... Almost...

    How do I rate such a thought, feeling, and nightmare provoking book? It truly did haunt my dreams and every time I reached for my Kindle, I was afraid and skittish - dreadfully anticipating the next words I would read and knowing the inferno that would be delivered would scald my imagination.

    Does that make this an outstanding book since my emotions were right at the surface of the pages? Or does it mean that I didn't like it, since the deeper into the journey I traveled the more I had to force myself to read the nightmare that the poor "Once upon a time" girl lived?

    That is the tightrope that I find myself walking, trying to make my way to an actual decision... So, with that, I will call a 3 out of 5 star rating my safety net.

    Living Dead Girl is, thankfully, a shorter book than most others I've read. As the pages turned and "Alice's" story was painfully stripped naked and bared to the reading audience, the harder it became for me to continue; though as the book neared the end, the pages were nearly turning themselves, looking for the release and the peace they (and I) so desperately needed.

    Thank you, Elizabeth Scott, for such a soul ripping read. Thank you for putting perspective on any "bad day" that I might have had and will probably have in the future. Thank you for bringing "Alice's" tale to light. Thank you for the Living Dead Girl's ending. I hope the conclusion provided as much closure for you as it did for me - I can't imagine the hell you went through while writing and perfecting this tale for us. It absolutely makes me want to open my eyes and soak every detail of every person I see in public - if I EVER see anyone that is even remotely close to resembling an Alice, I will scream for her...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Meh...

    This book was a fast paced and intriguing read at least. It was very disturbing, and I liken it to a train wreck.. because you simply cannot look away. However, I thought it was written very poorly. If executed a little better, I would probably read more books written by this author. Unfortunately, I wanted to scream when I was done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Different

    Sad and really made me think about life. Just finished it and i feel like crying. I feel soo lucky and appriceative about my life now. Honestly don't know what else to say pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    uhhhhh

    its nit really as good as everyone is saying,its more like the same thing over and over again and the ending did not really tell as much as i would have liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    This book made me angry.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I read it within one night, because it was not easy to put down. I expected a great ending, a real resolution to the story and an unforgettable life lesson. So the ending left me extremely disappointed. The writing is awfully confusing at times, for correct punctuation is not used in a lot of the sentences. They can be difficult to figure out, some of them take repeated rereading in order to understand the story. When I finished the book I was left feeling as if reading it were a waste of time. It is definitely emotional, and others will very much enjoy it, but I am personally not very satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good/Addicting

    Living Dead girl was very addicting. I coulnd't put it down till i found out what happens to Alice at the end! It was also very graphic and disturbing. Now that i have finished all of my friends are reading it and they all love it as well. I recommend it to anyone above 12 years of age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    .

    This was very sad because there are children going through this kind of situation. I found "Alice" a little hard to root for but unless you are the victim I guess you can't judge. Although the ending was sad I was glad that it ended the way it did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3