Customer Reviews for

Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1430)

4 Star

(615)

3 Star

(222)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

I really enjoyed this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

For Entertainment Purposes Only, Of Little To No Literary Value

It is a safe bet that nobody is reading the Sookie Stackhouse series for its literary value. The second book in the vampire series by Charlaine Harris is as poorly written as the first, if not more so. Can we agree that we read the adventures of Sookie for the violenc...
It is a safe bet that nobody is reading the Sookie Stackhouse series for its literary value. The second book in the vampire series by Charlaine Harris is as poorly written as the first, if not more so. Can we agree that we read the adventures of Sookie for the violence and the sex? These novels have their place in our culture, just as big budget blockbuster films do. They serve as a quick, mindless read, finished in a few days. They are the horror equivalent of the tawdry drugstore romance novel with little to no character development, description, or internal conflict. The imagination factor is minimal, the vocabulary is basic, and the language is cliché-filled.

Yet still, they serve their purpose. Living Dead In Dallas finds Sookie Stackhouse working for the vampires, on loan to the Dallas vampires and using her psychic abilities to help locate a kidnapped vampire. Her vampire lover, Bill, and Eric, the leader of the Louisiana chapter of vampires, accompany her on her journey. Along the way, she meets a number of colorful characters who, if the time had been taken to develop them more intimately, may have been interesting. It seems as though Charlaine Harris may have consulted a personality dictionary during her writing, creating superficial characters with little to no internal conflict, at least none that is obvious to the reader.

The story moves quickly through Dallas as Sookie helps to unravel a plot by an anti-vampire league chartered with publicly expressing their hatred for vampires. Sookie returns home to find a close friend's murder still unresolved, and she engages herself in a local sex club to help bring the killers to justice. Harris tries desperately to engage her readers in the supernatural world, weaving different other-worldly creature such as shape-shifters and maenads into the storyline. But she does no unsuccessfully as the characters serve no real purpose for their presence or add little to help the story move forward.

Living Dead In Dallas serves its purpose as mindless , unfocused fiction, the kind you can read in the airport without having to focus too intently on the content. If you miss a few pages out of distraction, you can probably figure out what happened by thinking about how you would have crafted the story. It is less than creative and entirely basic, but it does provide some satisfaction as entertainment only.

posted by Richard_Szponder on February 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2366 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 119
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I really enjoyed this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Series

    I have enjoyed this series. I mostly read crime scene, murder mystery, court room drama books and, in between, I like to break it up with light hearted, funny reading like Janet Evanovich and Gemma Halliday books. This series fits right in! I have been entertained. And for me, that's what counts :)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For Entertainment Purposes Only, Of Little To No Literary Value

    It is a safe bet that nobody is reading the Sookie Stackhouse series for its literary value. The second book in the vampire series by Charlaine Harris is as poorly written as the first, if not more so. Can we agree that we read the adventures of Sookie for the violence and the sex? These novels have their place in our culture, just as big budget blockbuster films do. They serve as a quick, mindless read, finished in a few days. They are the horror equivalent of the tawdry drugstore romance novel with little to no character development, description, or internal conflict. The imagination factor is minimal, the vocabulary is basic, and the language is cliché-filled.

    Yet still, they serve their purpose. Living Dead In Dallas finds Sookie Stackhouse working for the vampires, on loan to the Dallas vampires and using her psychic abilities to help locate a kidnapped vampire. Her vampire lover, Bill, and Eric, the leader of the Louisiana chapter of vampires, accompany her on her journey. Along the way, she meets a number of colorful characters who, if the time had been taken to develop them more intimately, may have been interesting. It seems as though Charlaine Harris may have consulted a personality dictionary during her writing, creating superficial characters with little to no internal conflict, at least none that is obvious to the reader.

    The story moves quickly through Dallas as Sookie helps to unravel a plot by an anti-vampire league chartered with publicly expressing their hatred for vampires. Sookie returns home to find a close friend's murder still unresolved, and she engages herself in a local sex club to help bring the killers to justice. Harris tries desperately to engage her readers in the supernatural world, weaving different other-worldly creature such as shape-shifters and maenads into the storyline. But she does no unsuccessfully as the characters serve no real purpose for their presence or add little to help the story move forward.

    Living Dead In Dallas serves its purpose as mindless , unfocused fiction, the kind you can read in the airport without having to focus too intently on the content. If you miss a few pages out of distraction, you can probably figure out what happened by thinking about how you would have crafted the story. It is less than creative and entirely basic, but it does provide some satisfaction as entertainment only.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Living Dead In Dallas

    What do I have to say about the author Charlain Harris and one of her many Sookie Stackhouse books Living Dead In Dallas? I only have one word that comes to mind. Phenomenal. Let me tell you if you're not really a big reader and you're looking for something to spark you interest this is the book to pick up for sure. It sure rekindled my love of reading and many times I found it extremely hard to put the book down. I was so hooked that I went out to buy the whole Sookie Stackhouse series. The genre is Fantasy/Mystery but I found it to be so much more than that. This book has everything you could possibly want in a book. It's got of course fantasy, mystery, adventure, light comody or humor, detective, drama, a bit of gothic, and you can't forget the romance with a splash of the supernatural. I mean really, what more could you ask for in a single book? The story starts off in a little town called Bon Temps in Louisiana where the main character Sookie Stackhouse lives, a beautiful mind reading outcast. Working in a local tavern and shunned by all "normal" men she is ecstatic when a tall dark and ever so handsome vampire strolls in to have a drink and forever change her life. Bill Compton. Little did she know exactly what their entanglement would get her? Soon after finding her friend and co-worker murdered she is summoned to Dallas Texas to do some investigating work for the Area 5 sheriff, Eric Northerman, whom she owes so is duty bound to do what he asks of her. Her assignment was to find out what happened to a missing vampire that has been kidnapped through her mind reading abilities. Going around Dallas reading other human's minds sounds easy enough right? Wrong. She finds herself in a whole lot of trouble many times over with many, many close calls of near death, fights, beating and even kidnapping. Through this whole worldwind of trouble and mayhem with her loving vampire by her side she somehow pulls it all off. Sookie and Bill find out what had happened to the missing vampire and some things she wished she didn't know (or rather hear). She then returns home to do some investigating of her own. She closes the murder case of her co-worker/friend. All seems well for the moment and she's turned into quit a survivor. I don't know what else to say about this book, except, you just have to read it. It's got something for everyone. You'll fall head over heels for the characters and the crazy things that happen. I employ you to read this book and tell me otherwise but chances are you'll find it as hard to put down and I did.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    Fun!

    This book is fun! It's a great story told in an interesting way. This book made me want to read others in the series. Much better than the show on HBO.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A really fun read

    I am pleasantly surprised with the Sookie Stackhouse series thus far. I have not seen the show. Book one was a little slow, but I have been thoroughly entertained with both Books 2 & 3. I recommend it to anyone who wants a fun, light read. Definitely not for kids.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Very good second edition to the Soukie Stackhouse Series

    I started to read this series after some co-workers were talking about the True Blood series on HBO based on the books. I got the first one for Christmas and have read the entire series to date. This book picks up where Dead Until Dark leaves off and the characters develop even more. The story keeps you hooked and moving to the last page. If you are looking for a good series to read this is it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    Better than the show

    I have really enjoyed the series so far can't wait to get the next book. I really loved the show but the book have blown it out of the water. I would suggest it to anyone who loves vampires or love stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    This series is great so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Couldn't put it down!!!

    It only took me 3 days to read this book! I'm addicted,i will be setting more very soon!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Excellent Follow-Up to "Dead Until Dark"

    After reading "Dead Until Dark" I couldn't wait to read Charlaine Harris's follow-up book "Living Dead in Dallas". And just like the first novel Ms. Harris' failed to disappoint. Even though these books are in the horror genre, the main characters have a great amount of sex appeal that keeps the reader wanting more....If anyone is a fan of the television series (Season 2 is loosely based on this novel)they will be most definitely satisfied with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sookie's at it Again

    I came to the Sookie Stackhouse series a little belatedly, but what a great find. Charlaine Harris is the queen of total escapism; the kind of books I like to call "brain candy". Not a lot in the way of deep reading, nothing philosophical or life-changing, but who doesn't need books like that now and again? In this book, she incorporates witches with vampires and werewolves, and I'm please that she did research on the topic of witches and wiccans beforehand to get her information accurate. And I'm still trying to figure out how she makes Sookie such a little sexpot without ever making her whorish. Pure talent.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Addicited!!

    I am sooo addicted to the Sookie Stackhouse Series!!! I first heard of it when I started watching TrueBlood on HBO, which I am a HUUUGE fan of! I had NO idea that TrueBlood was based on these books! I LOVE movies/shows that are based on books!!! Of course, the books are usually better...I was so excited to read these books!! If you are an adult Twilight Fan and looking for something a bit for adult, this series is it!! They are so much fun!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good book-- pages missing!!!

    So the book is written well, it keeps good pace and is interesting.. not exceptional but quite good.. now the annoying thing!! Pages 199-230 are missing from my edition! This is incredibly inconvienent and annoying once you're better than halfway through reading it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    Another great book in the series. Now that I have read all of the books in this series and seen the first series on HBO, I can't wait to see what HBO does with this book in the second season.

    For anyone who loves the HBO series, I urge you to read the books. The books are so much better than the series (although I love the series on it's own merit). Sookie and Bill have to travel to Dallas as a favor to help another vampire sheriff find a missing vampire. While there, Sookie gets involved with the Fellowship of Sun. Here she meets not only other vampires but werewolves and another telepath as well and starts to understand there's a bigger world of secrets out there than she thought. This was a great, fast-moving story and I read it in about three evenings. The book doesn't disappoint for anyone who loved the first book and left you wanting to start the third book as soon as you closed the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still Not Awesome...but wasn't bad..

    I thought this book was okay, and I would reccomend it to other people. I am going to read the third book and see if it gets better...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great Sequel

    I thought this was a great continuation of this series. Eric orders Sookie to go to Dallas so that another vampire could use her "services." A vampire in the Dallas group has gone missing and Sookie soon finds out that a radical church/cult has taken him so that he can go into the light with another vampire. Sookie of course tries to save him and ends up in trouble. I love Charlaine Harris' world of vampires, weres, and shifters and how all of them fit together. I love Sookie and Bill and their relationship and it gets pretty steamy in this book. I didn't really like the whole Manaed plotline but the rest was great, I can't wait to read of the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    Fun Read

    I read this book after reading the first Sookie novel and am really enjoying this series. I was happy that this book was less graphic than the first and had a better story line. The first book seemed to move too fast but this one was at a much better pace. In Living Dead in Dallas, you get to know the characters more indepth and begin to truly care about them and what may about to happen. It was a fun, quick read and I am really happy that I discovered this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the first book

    The writing got better. A lot of sexual tension as in the first book.
    More supernatural creatures, more action, better story than the first book.
    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Number Two Does NOT Disappoint!!!

    This is the second book in the Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire series for Charlaine Harris. It's probably one of the best sequels I've read in this type of genre.
    Bill and Sookie go to Dallas on official vampire business, and stay in a hotel that caters to vampires. That, in and of itself, was strange enough, but then they meet up with a group that hates vampires and wants them gone. The group is sort of like a church, but think more of the cult type. Some more shapeshifters also make an appearance, and a maened.
    There's a lot that goes on in Dallas, but even more is going on when they return home. There's been a murder, the law of the town has been accused of the murder, there's a group having sex/orgy parties that may have actually committed the murder and Sookie has to figure it all out while managing not to get hurt or killed herself by the maened or the crazy cult group.
    This is also the book where Tara makes her appearance for the first time, though she's not quite the same as the TV series, and Eric, the sexy vampire that lusts for Sookie, actually manages to get closer to Sookie.
    I really hope True Blood follows the books. This would most definitely be an exciting TV show!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2366 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 119