Customer Reviews for

Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2347 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1431)

4 Star

(616)

3 Star

(224)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

I really enjoyed this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

For Entertainment Purposes Only, Of Little To No Literary Value

It is a safe bet that nobody is reading the Sookie Stackhouse series for its literary value. The second book in the vampire series by Charlaine Harris is as poorly written as the first, if not more so. Can we agree that we read the adventures of Sookie for the violenc...
It is a safe bet that nobody is reading the Sookie Stackhouse series for its literary value. The second book in the vampire series by Charlaine Harris is as poorly written as the first, if not more so. Can we agree that we read the adventures of Sookie for the violence and the sex? These novels have their place in our culture, just as big budget blockbuster films do. They serve as a quick, mindless read, finished in a few days. They are the horror equivalent of the tawdry drugstore romance novel with little to no character development, description, or internal conflict. The imagination factor is minimal, the vocabulary is basic, and the language is cliché-filled.

Yet still, they serve their purpose. Living Dead In Dallas finds Sookie Stackhouse working for the vampires, on loan to the Dallas vampires and using her psychic abilities to help locate a kidnapped vampire. Her vampire lover, Bill, and Eric, the leader of the Louisiana chapter of vampires, accompany her on her journey. Along the way, she meets a number of colorful characters who, if the time had been taken to develop them more intimately, may have been interesting. It seems as though Charlaine Harris may have consulted a personality dictionary during her writing, creating superficial characters with little to no internal conflict, at least none that is obvious to the reader.

The story moves quickly through Dallas as Sookie helps to unravel a plot by an anti-vampire league chartered with publicly expressing their hatred for vampires. Sookie returns home to find a close friend's murder still unresolved, and she engages herself in a local sex club to help bring the killers to justice. Harris tries desperately to engage her readers in the supernatural world, weaving different other-worldly creature such as shape-shifters and maenads into the storyline. But she does no unsuccessfully as the characters serve no real purpose for their presence or add little to help the story move forward.

Living Dead In Dallas serves its purpose as mindless , unfocused fiction, the kind you can read in the airport without having to focus too intently on the content. If you miss a few pages out of distraction, you can probably figure out what happened by thinking about how you would have crafted the story. It is less than creative and entirely basic, but it does provide some satisfaction as entertainment only.

posted by Richard_Szponder on February 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For Entertainment Purposes Only, Of Little To No Literary Value

    It is a safe bet that nobody is reading the Sookie Stackhouse series for its literary value. The second book in the vampire series by Charlaine Harris is as poorly written as the first, if not more so. Can we agree that we read the adventures of Sookie for the violence and the sex? These novels have their place in our culture, just as big budget blockbuster films do. They serve as a quick, mindless read, finished in a few days. They are the horror equivalent of the tawdry drugstore romance novel with little to no character development, description, or internal conflict. The imagination factor is minimal, the vocabulary is basic, and the language is cliché-filled.

    Yet still, they serve their purpose. Living Dead In Dallas finds Sookie Stackhouse working for the vampires, on loan to the Dallas vampires and using her psychic abilities to help locate a kidnapped vampire. Her vampire lover, Bill, and Eric, the leader of the Louisiana chapter of vampires, accompany her on her journey. Along the way, she meets a number of colorful characters who, if the time had been taken to develop them more intimately, may have been interesting. It seems as though Charlaine Harris may have consulted a personality dictionary during her writing, creating superficial characters with little to no internal conflict, at least none that is obvious to the reader.

    The story moves quickly through Dallas as Sookie helps to unravel a plot by an anti-vampire league chartered with publicly expressing their hatred for vampires. Sookie returns home to find a close friend's murder still unresolved, and she engages herself in a local sex club to help bring the killers to justice. Harris tries desperately to engage her readers in the supernatural world, weaving different other-worldly creature such as shape-shifters and maenads into the storyline. But she does no unsuccessfully as the characters serve no real purpose for their presence or add little to help the story move forward.

    Living Dead In Dallas serves its purpose as mindless , unfocused fiction, the kind you can read in the airport without having to focus too intently on the content. If you miss a few pages out of distraction, you can probably figure out what happened by thinking about how you would have crafted the story. It is less than creative and entirely basic, but it does provide some satisfaction as entertainment only.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I should have skipped this one

    I did not think the book was horrible, but to me it was not spectacular either. It seems to me that it was written for teens (16+) rather than adults. I did not like how she brought in the maenad early in the book and then did not talk about her until the end of the book. I also think a better introduction of the vampire Godfrey would have helped the book be better. I know it says he enjoyed being with children and killed some, but he was turned into a vampire when he was 16, and to me he is a child himself. Really if you have not matured before you were turned it does not seem like you would want adults. At 16 people who are 30 are "old" and that should have been taken into consideration when writing about him. The plot of this book also seemed to be all over the place. There was the murder of Lafayette, the maenad and all the stuff she was doing in Dallas. I think if the ideas had been better organized I would have enjoyed the book more.
    I liked the mystery of who killed Lafayette, that is why I kept reading. I like how the vampires do not hate being vampires. I like how the main characters have not changed much (if at all) from the first book to the second book. I am going to read the next book. I am also watching the HBO series and like to see the differences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ok Book.

    After I had read the first installment in the the Southern Vampire Series, Dead Until Dark, I went to Barns and Noble the next day and brought this. I would say I was kinda disappointed with Living Dead in Dallas, it took me a couple weeks to finish this book, it didn't really have any depth to the plot, it had no big twist at the end, and there was no climax at all. So in my eyes this book kinda failed in comparison to the first, but I will recommend this book so you will know what's going on the third installment in the series, Club Dead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3