Customer Reviews for

Living History

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A TRULY INSPIRING AND REFRESHING BOOK!

I have admired Hillary Clinton for years. I was 17 years old when she became First Lady and felt great disappointment when she was unable to convince Congress to approve a universal health care plan for the United States. (I grew up a military child and knew that the ...
I have admired Hillary Clinton for years. I was 17 years old when she became First Lady and felt great disappointment when she was unable to convince Congress to approve a universal health care plan for the United States. (I grew up a military child and knew that the free medical I received as a dependent was far better than what my cousins received...most of my aunts and uncles were factory workers.)

Because of my age when the Clintons moved into the White House, I thought that I knew alot about her husband's presidency and her service as First Lady. Hearing this book (I ordered the CDs) made me realize just how much I didn't know and gave me a touching insight into her life and the trials she faced as First Lady. So much of their tenure as President and First Lady was eclipsed by events that occurred at the end of their administration. I was awed to hear all that happened and to learn how many personal trials they faced in addition to the normal stresses associated with their roles.

I would recommend this book to both the Hillary fans and her critics. There is much more to Hillary Clinton than the confident and powerful woman she projects in the media. Hearing her story gave me new insight into that tumultuous period in U.S. History and a more profound respect for her as a woman, mother, wife, and politician.

posted by Mel_Biagioli on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

define the word history

If you decide to read this ......book, ask yourself these two questions, what is it that the 'author' wants you to believe? what was the real motivation for publishing this? should you read it?? only you can decide if it is worth your time, personally i found that ...
If you decide to read this ......book, ask yourself these two questions, what is it that the 'author' wants you to believe? what was the real motivation for publishing this? should you read it?? only you can decide if it is worth your time, personally i found that the mix of truth and fiction made this a very difficult book to enjoy, having to guess when the truth was being told and when it wasn't left me cold. i gathered (incorrectly)from the title that is was going to factual, actual history. it read more like a fictional mystery with some real information included just to keep you off balance. just my opinion

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    Unadulterated, Megalomaniacal Drivel

    Pew. I cannot believe the self serving, history twisting tone of this book. In fairness I read it through all the way, though my urge was to toss it in the trashbin by the second chapter. In reading a broad spectrum of both political and historical books, this one could be best filed under histerical, if it wasn't so scary! I have read many of the recent Presidents books, as well as those on or about the First Wives and have generally found them all informative and enlightening. Most are able to show there is a human side to someone who may hold a politicaly opposite viewpoint. But not this book. All Mrs Clinton managed to do is further polarize my opinion of her. If revisionist history is your bag, then buy it. Otherwise take the money you would have spent and donate it to a childrens charity

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    What a Joke

    If you buy this book and expect to get anything more than the usual Clinton cover up this is the book for you. I would not waste my money. I am very glad I read one someone else had. I am an avid reader and could hardly get through it. Just another way to keep the Clinton name in the headlines. I will NOT add this book to my collection.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    TOO LONG

    How can anyone have so much to say and say nothing. The audio book is way too long. It took everything I have to get through it all. She certainly is full of herself and really goes through life with HER blinders on. I actually am insulted that she seems to think that SHE represents woman of today. How dare her be so pontifical.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    Fact or Fiction

    Having read this book I wonder what she was doing for eight years as this book is complete fiction. What happened to health care she definitely did not improve it as rates have soared and coverage has dwindled. Where was she when her husband was having affairs ( I didn't know really doesnt cover it) Ever time Bill is lying he bites his lips even a casual observer notices this yet the worlds smartest woman doesn't? It is fanciful reading, but it has nothing to do with fact.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2003

    Absolute Drivel

    The only reason I give this one star is because there isn't a lower rating. I'll admit I'm not a Clinton fan (Bill or Hillary) but I found this book abandoned on a beach chair in Hawaii and now know why the last person abandoned it! I perused each chapter but couldn't find the time to devote to anymore than that. Hopefully if you plan to read this you'll find, like I did, an abandoned copy on a beach somewhere. I left this one there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    She did not write this book.

    This clear attempt at sympathy and playing the poor wife. Please this was a real charactor with a cleaned up story. Just another attempt by the leftist to distort the truth. This is my honest take on this book which should be posted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Why bother!

    Unfortunately, the publishers reviews which I read prior to purchasing the book were from the more liberal side for the media. The book was the same Bill and Hillary self praising and excuses we had during their 8 years in Washington.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Blarney, without the charm.

    Given a copy by a friend at work. I found it a very difficult read. Did not complete the book, but basically went through each chapter looking for highlights. Final conclusion. This woman has an enormous ego and hunger for power thatâ¿¿s barely under control. As for the book itself: Ghostwritten by romance novelists and marketing executives. Reviewed by Clinton groupies. Pushed by Democratic sycophants. Fawned over by inhabitants of Berkeley, Hollywood, Academia and Lalaland. Pure propaganda and tripe. Sorry, but that's pretty much it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    REVEALING AUTOBIOGRAPHY?

    I thought this would be an intimate expose of what went on 'behind the scenes' during Hillary's years with Bill. But it was nothing but more cover-ups. She was so shocked to find out about Monica. Really? Because he'd never done anything like this before? She was hurt? I don't think this thick-skinned woman hurts too often. Total waste of time. Don't bother.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    Don't waste your money!

    This woman is a hero in her own mind. She was in cahoots with Bill all along the way, and the lies, White Water, mysterious deaths.. The list goes on and on. You can't ignore it unless you do so intentionally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    is it fiction ?

    Aftersome of her antics in the white house can she be believed?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    Amazing!

    Considering we had 8 years of 'I don't recall, Ms Rodham-Clinton filled over 500 pages. Between her 'gulping for air' and 'shocked and saddened' we can see she clearly did not write the book. The only thing I can say is if you do not trust the Clintons, you will not like the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Side stepping History

    There are three former democrats that Hillary doesn¿t bother to mention by name in her boring campaign brochure; Billy Dale, Juanita Broderick, and Kathleen Wiley. Billy Dale is depersonalized as ¿head of the travel office¿. Hillary describes the malicious prosecution she inflicted on him as a big misunderstanding. If you wish to donate to Hillary¿s run in 2008 then buy this ghostwritten book. This is a memoir from a woman who spent eight years unable to recall anything concerning her legal transgressions. Her $8 million advance seems to have cured selective parts of her amnesia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    Sucking the air out of the democratic party.

    A 'friend' of mine lent me the book. After reading some of her 'made for TV' dramatizations, I knew she didn't write this book. I washed my hands and I prayed that God would forgive me. This woman will never be president. America will never tolerate a woman who stayed married for political purposes. Pathetic Hillary, simply pathetic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    NEITHER NEW NOR NOTEWORTHY

    Ms. Rodham-Clinton has nothing new to say. One reviewer remarked that it reminded her of Forest Gump being in the right place at the right time. It reminded me of Forest Gump as well, but for a different reason - if what she says about Mr. Clinton's philandering is true, then, like Forest, she had no idea about what was happening around her. I am left to wonder why someone chooses to write a book about 'Living History' and then claims to have been oblivious to major events of both personal and historical significance. 'Run, Hillary, Run!' This self-serving, poorly written drivel is obviously another attempt to advance her political goals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    why?

    While basking in the fawning attention of seemingly illiterate journalists, reviewers and television talking-heads Hillary--wealthy beyond the imagination of the average American yet not beyond whining over her victimization at the hands of an ephemeral (and VAST) 'right-wing conspiracy'--now presents another useless tome of drivel to be consumed by those unconcerned with truth or reality but fervently obsessed with their membership in the village of oppressive left-wing intolerance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    A shrewd and hatefull woman

    How can any part of this book have credability when Mrs. Clinton has proven time and again by her actions that she will do anything that will give her more power? This is a book of fiction written to further a political career.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Too Much Hype

    Old news, nothing that hasn't already been said, except for her belief in how gullable she thinks the public is about her being shocked by Bills infidelity. DON'T waste your money, or time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Nothing new

    I hoped for more from the first lady and was very disappointed in her lack of insight into what was going on around her. I found the book boring for the most part with an appearant void of anything noteworthy or ground-shacking in the read. I've read it all before, with different spins or viewpoints. I was really disappointed in the book. Not a book I would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Utter TRIPE!

    Predictable, self-serving PR to pave the way for a continuing political career. Total and utter tripe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3