Customer Reviews for

Living History

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Interesting Recap

With the forthcoming election, I thought a review of her autobiography deserved a review. The book contains a concise recap of events during the Clinton presidency from Hillary's standpoint. Although you do get a sense of the frustration the Clinton's lived through du...
With the forthcoming election, I thought a review of her autobiography deserved a review. The book contains a concise recap of events during the Clinton presidency from Hillary's standpoint. Although you do get a sense of the frustration the Clinton's lived through during that time period, I would have liked to learn more about the emotions this complex person encountered, as well as what makes Hillary tick. Nevertheless, Senator Clinton is an amazing lady . . . an example/role model for women in our country.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

define the word history

If you decide to read this ......book, ask yourself these two questions, what is it that the 'author' wants you to believe? what was the real motivation for publishing this? should you read it?? only you can decide if it is worth your time, personally i found that ...
If you decide to read this ......book, ask yourself these two questions, what is it that the 'author' wants you to believe? what was the real motivation for publishing this? should you read it?? only you can decide if it is worth your time, personally i found that the mix of truth and fiction made this a very difficult book to enjoy, having to guess when the truth was being told and when it wasn't left me cold. i gathered (incorrectly)from the title that is was going to factual, actual history. it read more like a fictional mystery with some real information included just to keep you off balance. just my opinion

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    define the word history

    If you decide to read this ......book, ask yourself these two questions, what is it that the 'author' wants you to believe? what was the real motivation for publishing this? should you read it?? only you can decide if it is worth your time, personally i found that the mix of truth and fiction made this a very difficult book to enjoy, having to guess when the truth was being told and when it wasn't left me cold. i gathered (incorrectly)from the title that is was going to factual, actual history. it read more like a fictional mystery with some real information included just to keep you off balance. just my opinion

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Creative Writing

    The book contradicts history as recorded when it occurred by several different sources. The lady has earned an A PLUS for creative writing. Hard to believe so much of it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    A good role model for aspiring young women?

    One thought kept occuring to me as I read this sometimes intriguing mixture of self-promoting fact and fiction(i.e. leave in what builds your image, leave out or paint over that which doesn't) was this: is Hillary portraying herself as a good role model for young women with aspirations to leadership and 'greatness?' Is she an inspiring portrait of 'the rugged individual' who thinks for herself and strikes out in new and daring directions? Can you feel the soul of a strong woman, or only the tough bravado of someone who has substituted the lust for power for lost love? I looked for candor and self-revelatory passages, but found only rationalizations and beautifully camoflaged denials. As I neared completion of this perplexing book, by chance a friend loaned another book by a very strong woman that I would never have found on my own. And talk about synchronicity: it was the perfect counterpoint to Hillary's story! It is an enthralling epic published by a tiny, unknown press in the hinterlands of British Columbia, about a 22,000 mile odyssey ON HORSEBACK all the way from Tierra del Fuego to northern Canada, carried out by a true renegade Swedish girl in her twenties! And here, in these pages, I discover most unexpectedly what I thought I would find in Hillary's book: a true portrait of female 'rugged individualism' and a most inspiring and positive role model for freedom-loving women with vision, drive, AND soul!, Strange how you often find what you're seeking by looking in all the wrond places first. Then, whamoo, there it is: the diamond in the rough you almost missed! Give it a read. She deserves Five Stars for the book and her amazing life! It's called: 'Riding Into The Wind: On Horseback Out of Patagonia, A Life Journey,' by Elly de Broen Foote.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    A waste of my tax refund from Bush

    I cannot believe that Mrs. Clinton can edit this book as she did,(she was not the actual authors). She has to have been blind on many of the subjects; her, of wanting the reader to believe that she was nidifugous and never knowing. The reading of other Clinton stories are to the contrary that she was quite arrogant with the Secret Service domineering of what went on not only in the White House but in their lives day to day. The only one that might have been myopic was their dog -- if he could only talk. She obviously wants reader sympathey for her upcoming advances in the political arena.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    Not bad

    While the book is entertainingly written, Ms. Clinton has lied so often it is hard to enjoy this book as history. Clinton is not unique in this, most current politicians that write use their writings not to tell the truth but to further their careers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Not great at all.

    I was very disappointed. I was not impress with the book. I really thought it would be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    Nothing worth reading

    I just finished the book after spending a good part of my afternoon reading it. I picked it up this morning expecting something phenomenal, with the $8 million up front, and all the appearances, the interviews, and media hype. My recommendation? Don't even bother. The memoirs are really nothing special and all the juicy parts have already been all over the press. All the rest is just a bland recap of the life of someone who is pretty much uninteresting. Not the worst she could do, but nothing near what should be expected from a popular senator and possible future presidential hopeful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Hillary - Her version of the truth

    What a fluff job. Little she writes squares with other's observations or with published facts. Already, people like Dick Morris are proving she is playing fast and loose with the truth. This is pure Clinton - poor little me the victim. It's all about positioning herself and stroking her ambition, not about telling the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Liar

    Its hard for me to beleive that Mrs. Clinton never knew about the affair with Monica untill Bill told her. She is either one of the most naive people ever living, or she is just happening to leave things out. Hillary should have a real Biography written and start putting in the campain funding scandels, and exsactly how many affairs Bill REALLY had. come on Hillary the American Public is not as naive as you think it is. This Book is a insult to the intelect of the American public.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    May be a good textbook!

    This book is more like a textbook that you read in history class. I was bored by most of it. I was expecting more. I do appreciate all the hardships that the Clintons have undergone for our country though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1