BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Living History

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A TRULY INSPIRING AND REFRESHING BOOK!

I have admired Hillary Clinton for years. I was 17 years old when she became First Lady and felt great disappointment when she was unable to convince Congress to approve a universal health care plan for the United States. (I grew up a military child and knew that the ...
I have admired Hillary Clinton for years. I was 17 years old when she became First Lady and felt great disappointment when she was unable to convince Congress to approve a universal health care plan for the United States. (I grew up a military child and knew that the free medical I received as a dependent was far better than what my cousins received...most of my aunts and uncles were factory workers.)

Because of my age when the Clintons moved into the White House, I thought that I knew alot about her husband's presidency and her service as First Lady. Hearing this book (I ordered the CDs) made me realize just how much I didn't know and gave me a touching insight into her life and the trials she faced as First Lady. So much of their tenure as President and First Lady was eclipsed by events that occurred at the end of their administration. I was awed to hear all that happened and to learn how many personal trials they faced in addition to the normal stresses associated with their roles.

I would recommend this book to both the Hillary fans and her critics. There is much more to Hillary Clinton than the confident and powerful woman she projects in the media. Hearing her story gave me new insight into that tumultuous period in U.S. History and a more profound respect for her as a woman, mother, wife, and politician.

posted by Mel_Biagioli on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

define the word history

If you decide to read this ......book, ask yourself these two questions, what is it that the 'author' wants you to believe? what was the real motivation for publishing this? should you read it?? only you can decide if it is worth your time, personally i found that ...
If you decide to read this ......book, ask yourself these two questions, what is it that the 'author' wants you to believe? what was the real motivation for publishing this? should you read it?? only you can decide if it is worth your time, personally i found that the mix of truth and fiction made this a very difficult book to enjoy, having to guess when the truth was being told and when it wasn't left me cold. i gathered (incorrectly)from the title that is was going to factual, actual history. it read more like a fictional mystery with some real information included just to keep you off balance. just my opinion

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    Good enough but lots of Political Dogma

    I read this book and unlike rest of the people who wrote their opinion here, I am not a Republican, neither a democrat. Infact, I am not even an American. Therefore, I suspect that I don't take American Politics and its first families personally in a manner in which most Americans do. Yes, the woman is tenacious, she is power hungry but perhaps if there is one woman who stands a chance in American History to become President, Hillary Rodham Clinton has to be it. For all her drawbacks, she delivers on a book which tends to speak of a personality &/OR character which is relentess, tenacious and highly ambitious in nature. Ofcourse, she didn't write it! But can we hold this against her? Yes, she tends to 'simply' forget the things that may go against her and remembers those which may be hard-core cribbing against the Republican Machinery. And I am not just saying big issues and stuff... I am talking about the nitty gritty details of the tea, the mother and what did he/she have to say about Newty, the son Gingrich. Hell folks, she is a politician, SHE IS SUPPOSED to be this way! If she was so humble not to do this, she would not be a politican. But I advice all and sundry that she might just end up in the Oval Office and sit behind the same desk where hubby Bill had his 'slight' CIGAR episode (don't worry, the book doesn't give these details... the CIGAR details came from a friend in high places called Kenneth Star) You never know, politicians... whom are we kidding here! But give the woman credit, folks, she is powerful, she is ambitious, she has stood the test of time and she had taken more criticsm in 8 years than any of us would possibly welcome in our lifetime... and she prevailed when her enemies didn't!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pivotal History

    “Living History” by Hillary Clinton is a captivating book that tells various events that powerfully played a part in Hillary Clinton’s Life. Hillary Clinton opens her heart to reveal pivotal circumstances that played influential agents in her life. Among the following are some of the excerpts of circumstances that Hillary Clinton shared:
    Page 23: Hillary shares how she was actually at a speech of Martin Luther King Jr. that was titled “Remaining Awake Through a Revolution.”
    Page 39: Hillary describes her first meeting with Dean Acheson.
    Pages 60-61: Details are shared about an exciting trip that Hillary Clinton and Bill Clinton took to England. This was also the country where Bill Clinton had asked her to marry him.
    Pages 172-178: Vince Foster, a close friend of the Clintons, took his own life. Naturally, Vince Foster’s death was painful for Hillary Clinton to bear. Hillary Clinton mentioned that she poured herself into her work to cope.
    Pages 210-211: Multiple photos of Hillary Clinton’s life milestones are shared. The photo that stood out the most for me was photo 42 (featuring the Clintons practicing their dances for the Inaugural Ball).
    Pages 370-371: More photos are included, with one picture that featured her surprise forty-sixth birthday party.
    Page 372: She mentions how Condoleeza Rice helped Chelsea Clinton to feel welcome at Stanford University.
    Page 461: Hillary Clinton confesses to feeling concern about some of the members of Congress that bragged about never leaving the states.
    Page 523: She shares her victory of U.S. Senator.
    “Living History” by Hillary Clinton is a compelling book for the many who are interested in reading about some of the early influences that shaped Hillary Clinton throughout her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    A good Thank you Letter to all!

    While this book was insightful, it seemed like a very long Thank you letter to all who helped Hillary and Bill. It was enlightening to learn from Hillary why she and Bill cared so deeply about many issues. I was hoping for more excitement...but not a bad read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    This book is about family, value, and love for people

    I enjoyed reading this book. It helps me to understand the First Lady's back ground and hoe she was raised and expectation that shape her life and her political view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    the 'witch' is hunting

    Hillary is hunting for redemption,and will find it in 2008 as our first woman president.She should have titled the book 'Living the Life-Not the Lies'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    Good read

    The book was okay. No big surprises. You either believe Hillary or you don't. With all the hype, one would expect more, yet it delivers in areas where I thought it wouldn't. All in all, it was worth the time. The writing is great, actually. It reads quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Ok but no one cares about anything else but what Mr.Clinton did

    I'm sure the book is ok. And I'm sure that her life before Bill was no different then any other person growing up and meeting a man. But we want to know what was going on in the White house. Mrs.Clinton knows every reader wants to know the truth not a fairy tale the truth. Mrs.Clinton needs to only speak on what happened and whats going to happen now. But on a lighter note I hope she will become our next president. Now that's what we need to read or hear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    Note to the first 'reviewer.'

    First of all I gave 3 stars as a neutral rating because I, like you, have not yet read the book, which brings up the question of how can you give it 5 stars if you haven't read it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    Blind Blonde Ambition

    When Bill was governor of Arkansas Hilary wasn't a blonde. Someday she may not only be our first female president with spouse Bill, the former president, as First Gentleman, but she will be our first blonde political babe in the White House. This book is her Profiles in Courage and Audacity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1