Customer Reviews for

Living History

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A TRULY INSPIRING AND REFRESHING BOOK!

I have admired Hillary Clinton for years. I was 17 years old when she became First Lady and felt great disappointment when she was unable to convince Congress to approve a universal health care plan for the United States. (I grew up a military child and knew that the ...
I have admired Hillary Clinton for years. I was 17 years old when she became First Lady and felt great disappointment when she was unable to convince Congress to approve a universal health care plan for the United States. (I grew up a military child and knew that the free medical I received as a dependent was far better than what my cousins received...most of my aunts and uncles were factory workers.)

Because of my age when the Clintons moved into the White House, I thought that I knew alot about her husband's presidency and her service as First Lady. Hearing this book (I ordered the CDs) made me realize just how much I didn't know and gave me a touching insight into her life and the trials she faced as First Lady. So much of their tenure as President and First Lady was eclipsed by events that occurred at the end of their administration. I was awed to hear all that happened and to learn how many personal trials they faced in addition to the normal stresses associated with their roles.

I would recommend this book to both the Hillary fans and her critics. There is much more to Hillary Clinton than the confident and powerful woman she projects in the media. Hearing her story gave me new insight into that tumultuous period in U.S. History and a more profound respect for her as a woman, mother, wife, and politician.

posted by Mel_Biagioli on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

define the word history

If you decide to read this ......book, ask yourself these two questions, what is it that the 'author' wants you to believe? what was the real motivation for publishing this? should you read it?? only you can decide if it is worth your time, personally i found that ...
If you decide to read this ......book, ask yourself these two questions, what is it that the 'author' wants you to believe? what was the real motivation for publishing this? should you read it?? only you can decide if it is worth your time, personally i found that the mix of truth and fiction made this a very difficult book to enjoy, having to guess when the truth was being told and when it wasn't left me cold. i gathered (incorrectly)from the title that is was going to factual, actual history. it read more like a fictional mystery with some real information included just to keep you off balance. just my opinion

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A TRULY INSPIRING AND REFRESHING BOOK!

    I have admired Hillary Clinton for years. I was 17 years old when she became First Lady and felt great disappointment when she was unable to convince Congress to approve a universal health care plan for the United States. (I grew up a military child and knew that the free medical I received as a dependent was far better than what my cousins received...most of my aunts and uncles were factory workers.)

    Because of my age when the Clintons moved into the White House, I thought that I knew alot about her husband's presidency and her service as First Lady. Hearing this book (I ordered the CDs) made me realize just how much I didn't know and gave me a touching insight into her life and the trials she faced as First Lady. So much of their tenure as President and First Lady was eclipsed by events that occurred at the end of their administration. I was awed to hear all that happened and to learn how many personal trials they faced in addition to the normal stresses associated with their roles.

    I would recommend this book to both the Hillary fans and her critics. There is much more to Hillary Clinton than the confident and powerful woman she projects in the media. Hearing her story gave me new insight into that tumultuous period in U.S. History and a more profound respect for her as a woman, mother, wife, and politician.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    The Best - Hillary

    I adore Hillary Rodham Clinton ! This book is a look into the woman behind all the matter. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    This book was a wonderful and quick read. It gave a real inside look at the Clinton Administration and the depth of Hillary Clinton's personality. After reading this Hillary is more of a person and less of a celeberity. I was suprized to find out that she was actually a staunch republican in her early years. Also that religion plays such a big part in her life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    A Good Autobiography Of Hopefully Our Soon TO Be President

    This book is fantastic!!! I really enjoyed her views of life and thigs that went on and Her story of when her husband was president. She is a very strong women and i realy look forward to her becoming president. This is a great read for Clinton fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    awesome read

    Love her or hate, Hillary Rodham Clinton is an extremely intelligent and interesting woman and her incredible story resonates throughout the pages of this (long but fulfilling) autobiography!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Very Good

    Hillary Clinton is an amazing woman and she has my vote in 08

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    A Woman Like Few

    There are no doubts Miss Hillary Clinton is one of the most accomplished women of our time. In her book she shares with the readers her life formation and experiences, rich in details and significance. Just like it happens with her husband, former President Bill Clinton, she is not shy to admit her qualities and flaws, in the very same way that she recognizes and praises the importance of other people, including friends and co-workers, in the solid pavement of her road to success. Many lessons can be learned by reading this book. Certainly, there are those who do not share her points of view. Nevertheless, it is undeniable how much she has accomplished on behalf of the US and their citizens. Also, Miss Hillary Clinton is known and respected all over the world. This did not happen by chance. She has raised a family, gone through very rough times that only the winners are capable to go through and survive, she developed a successful career and now she is ready to very likely become the first woman President of the United States. The more men and women devote their work to improvement, to study and to work diligently, the more they will have to share with all those who rejoice with accomplishments. This and many other life lessons are among the main benefits of reading her biography.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    Highly recommended

    I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone who has the slightest interest in Politics, Presidential eras, and of course, Hillary Clinton. It is very well written and colorful. I didn't know too much about her but through reading her book I now know that she is a remarkable woman

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    2008 Election

    After reading Hillary's book, she will be getting my vote in the 2008 Presidental election. This woman is a hard worker who got to the top for her brains, not who her husband is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Hillary, well-deserved respect!

    As a second year graduate student pursuing a career in politics, it was a pleasure to read 'Living History.' The book was intellectually stimulating and well worth my time. Prior to reading 'Living History,' I admired Hillary¿s fortitude, but after reading her memoirs, I acknowledge her to be a woman to emulate. It was nice to finally see behind the political curtains!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    Hillary tells all

    From the moment I started reading this book I was impressed with the honesty with which Mrs. Clinton tells about her life. A powerful compelling glimpse into the life of one of America's most fascinating women. The manner in which she deals with the hard moments she has endured is inspiring and interesting to read about. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it to all those who have wondered what makes Hillary Clinton tick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    Feminism grounded with passion & purpose awakes !

    How to serve protect..self, the household, the community, the country & the world,... where patriarchial deceit can be defeated by being one with Hillary's sermonings.Its a vital benchmark of logical repute. Yes, the tried and 'cannot fail' of hopes & bonds stokes the fiery femmine resolve, to end vested hierarchy, one day at a time will wed the committed author's innate resolves for alls' much better tommorrow sure to come, theres no doubt after the no put down, read between the lines dreamers alike ! Mrs. Clinton fierce resolves matches this unmet goals all in all !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    Hillary is amazing! I read this book twice!

    I couldn't put this book down. From her childhood through her White House years and Senate run--this book was absolutely enthralling and very humanizing. Senator Clinton is a true American inspiration. I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    Hero

    Ms. Clinton is and always will be my hero. She is a lady of class. The poise that she showed really moved me. The book was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Terrific account of her life and times

    I had no idea that our First Lady was such a spiritual woman... just goes to show that what they say is true. One certain way to remain forever ignorant is to have contempt prior to investigation, which it seems so many folks have with regard to her (why, I cannot say). I like her even more after reading Living History. I just hope she goes on to write another entitled 'Making History: My Eight Years as the First Woman President of the United States.' If anyone can do it, and do it well, I believe it is Senator Clinton of New York. This book was very enjoyable, thoroughly readable, and she kept it to her 'side of the street,' which is to say that she often ended a topic by saying something like 'but the rest is my husband's tale to tell.' I like that. Healthy boundaries. I was also impressed, along with her spirituality, by her perseverance, and her love of family. Keep an open mind, America. This book is entirely worth your time. And she tells it quite well, I thought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Monica lewinsky is lesbian and hilary lovs her because shes are next president and isnt hot like sarah palin is because she is a dick head and should grow some bals even though shes a fema and she killed femimeiam anyway

    Go call 1800 jack a$$ to talk tp her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Amazing book.

    This book gives us, a very detailed and explanitory insight into the life and love of Hillary Clinton. She was really put to the test during Bills presidncey. And yet she was still amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Kyke says......

    Hillary for POTUS in 2016!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    Fantastic !

    It's one of the best books I've ever read! Mrs. Clinton is an example of courage and wisdom. Women from all over the world should follow her example. And yes, you can learn a lot more about the dirty games some Republicans play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Packed With Knowledge!

    What can you say about a book as long-awaited as Hillary Rodham Clinton¿s autobiography, except ¿read it¿? No matter what your political persuasion, you will find something to chew over in this memoir. Clinton fans will love Hillary¿s spirited defense of her husband and her refusal to back down from her claim that a conservative conspiracy was gunning for him during his entire presidency. Conservatives will eagerly sift through her recollections of the Whitewater investigation for slips, omissions and excuses. Mrs. Clinton says her book should be viewed as a collection of her feelings and memories, rather than as a definitive account of the Clinton presidency. More than a simple memoir, this is a fascinating self-portrait of a woman who carved out a successful career in what was formerly a man¿s profession and became one of the most adored and simultaneously most reviled First Ladies in American history.We say: Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7