Customer Reviews for

Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Great Devo!

    Totally geared towards the man who has an interest in sports, this devotional scores big as a great spiritual tool. Simple concepts on marriage, fathering, and more, Living Life in the Zone is a definite winner and I recommend this for a daily devo for men who want to grow in their walk with God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Faithful Folios tv dot info review

    Vertical Reach = 3.5
    Dr. Joe Pettigrew and Kyle Rote Jr. draw out the importance of a relationship with God and give an example of a man dependent on God in each devotional. What they don't provide is detailed transparency about their personal worship and prayer time with God.

    Ministry Message = 4
    To live life in the zone one must have an authentic and active relationship with Christ. Daily time with God in prayer and His word are integral to making this happen.

    Craft = 4
    Great exposition. Spot on use of sport history in a conversational tone. Engaging narrative about athletic examples.


    Aesthetics = 4
    Eye catching cover with bold sporty colors which is very topic appropriate. Appeasing content layout good for easy reading and relevance.

    Dollar$ & $ense = 3.875
    This book would make a great gift affordable gift for the sport and God loving or curious man in any and every woman's life. The cover is nondiscriminate and the material is broken down into the language and categorical thinking patterns most men will find beneficial. Any church or men's ministry would find a 40 day journey with this sport themed devotional a victory for the cause of Christ!

    Due to it's being an older release it is being sold for $5.69 on amazon right now. I'm not compensated for these reviews, I just know an good buy when I see one! I love talking about AFFORDABLE good books online.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Read to be inspired

    A book that takes you on a 40-day spiritual journey that makes you look at your life from a spiritual perspective. Reading through this book you see how professional sports personalities can live spiritual lives even with the busy schedule they have with their professional careers.
    Not being "into" sports should not deter a person from reading this book. Even though you may not be a sports fan you can still relate to many of the ideas put forth in this book. I found myself looking forward to reading about each of the different sports personalities mentioned in the book.
    This book offers a true inspiration for any reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Recommend to Christian Sports Lovers

    Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Game Plan for Men by Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew is an invigorating bible study centered around one thing that most men can relate to, which is sports. This devotional is organized into the 40-day format that seems to abound in Christian devotionals of today, but is further divided into seven sections each day. These include a thought of the day, the coaches' corner, and a timeout section, which provides thought-provoking questions around the theme of each day's study.

    While it may seem seven subdivisions would be too many, each of these sections provides structure and insight to grow in one's faith. One in particular, the section entitled play makers, is what really gives this study substance. In this section, the authors have found anecdotes from past and present sports greats, including coaches like John Wooden and Bobby Bowden as well as former players like Roger Staubach and Allan Houston, to drive home the message in ways that men understand. If you are a sports enthusiast, you will be inspired to spend time getting to know God through this study.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    7 out of 10 stars

    This is the book for men. Not just a book, but the book. Though I am not a man by any means, I was able to get through it and enjoy it immensely -- I honestly cannot say I've ever read a book quite like it. It captures forty days of a man's life -- your life -- connecting one to both God and sports.
    Starting from Day One, it accounts you to your spiritual and mental well-being. Included, are uplifting quotes and scriptures to help you through your own self-identity and self-preservation, and fantastic stories from athletes we all know and look up to. The connection to the celebrity sports figures is really want helped me realize the potential of the motive of this book: to discover "The Secret" for happiness in life, and to lead a successful one.
    What I found difficult is some of the concepts used -- naturally, I didn't completely comprehend the "male" aspects of the narrations. But the overall message was universal and it was this: You can be greater than you think you are; you can aspire and attain higher goals thank you think to be; and the world around you can be helped to achieve a higher degree of perfection.
    Rote uses a combination of inspiring words and concepts that are easily related to, to advocate spending more time with God and finding connections within oneself in sports. The 40-day game plan is very step-by-step and self-explanatory; it doesn't feel like reading an overwhelming self-help book...it feels like reading your own journal. It is not one of those books where you can read it and voilà, your life is perfect; it's one of those books you read over and over again to tweak and orient your life as you know it until you achieve that satisfying perfection. Keep this one close to your heart because the more you read it, the more improvement you'll see.

    Overall, 7 hearts- A few flaws here and there, but wouldn't mind rereading. ???????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Stop Being an Average Christian ... Live Your Life In the Zone!

    As what I think is an average Christian male with average concerns and issues I've been looking for something to help me become more than average but to excel. For many years I have desired to take my life from being average to being exceptional. The only problem has been how to do that?

    Then i picked up a copy of the book Living Life in the Zone by Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew and suddenly my life is, for lack of a better term, in the zone! For probably the first time in my life I am beginning to see the possibilities in my life and going from an average, adequate Christian to one that exhibits God in all areas of my life.

    Interestingly enough I am not really much of a sports fan and so when I first saw the title of this book and the content (which uses sports analogies, athletes, and coaches to express the message) my first thought was to pass. But something in my SPirit urged me to give the book a second glance. The description on the back of the book asks the question "can we hope to elevate our game and enter the Zone?". After reading this book I can give an enthusiastic YES!

    Broken down into a 40-day devotional the book discusses issues like legacy, image, self-worth, parenthood, marriage, and more. This book helps to bring the readers life into focus and living our lives the way that Christ intended. I will say that this book suceeds in a big way.

    I have loved the journey "In the Zone" has taken me on, but I wish that it was more than just 40 days and would last the entire year. I fully plan to use this book over and over again and even buy copies for my friends and family.

    Even if you aren't a sports enthusiast, like me, I firmly believe that after reading this book you too will find yourself right in the middle of "The Zone".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Change Your Life! Become Not A Better Man But A Great Man!!!

    iving Life in the Zone -A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men by By Kyle Rote and Joe Pettigrew Would'nt You Like To Be A Better Man? A Better Person? Better Husband? Better Father? Living Life In The Zone by Kyle Rote and Joe Pettigrew Can Help You Accomplish That. I Wanted To Wait Before Reviewing This Book Until I Could Get Well Into The 40 Days. I Must Say Men If You Don't Read Any Other Book This Year You Must Read This One. It Is Dead On It. If You Follow These Very Well Laid Out Encouraging Steps.You Will Become A Better Man Through The Guidance Of Jesus Christ. It's Simple And Easy To Follow . You Will See A Change Before You Know As Well As Other People Around You . A Must Have ! A Great Bible Study To Do Also. Get This Book !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    Billy's Book Review of Living Life in the Zone

    I have read a lot of devotional books in my time- some on my own and some with my wife . But nothing has sent me on a spiritual journey like I have with reading "Living Life In The Zone". This is a must read for any man who is planning on having a family or who has one. This 40 day-day journey in discovering a fulfilled life the way God has intended us to have.This book lists everything from putting God first and a saying like "True Happiness is found only in Jesus and in his word. We are to be a part of the fallen world but not controlled by it". We really need to stop and take time to to see what is important to us and what happiness really is. This book helped to open my eyes to that. And there are many selections. They range from loving your wife and building her up, there is one for the kids, about friends, about work, about dealing with daily stress. Each selection has a thought of the day ,the coach's corner,the game plan,play makers,time out, and Today's Assignment. This book is well thought out and written for any man from any walk of life to pick up and read. This is a must have for any man to read over and over again, because you will always take something away from it no matter how many times you read it. This book is now part of my daily Devotions .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    Living Life in the Zone by Kyle Rote Jr

    this i a cool 40 day devotional that incorporates real life christian men who are in the sports field. it is an interesting read, and i though I'm not much for sports, i found the message to be rather refreshing. I'm thinking about bringing the book up as a possible men's group study for church. might be beneficial for most men, as it deals with personal, family, marriage professional. etc.. id recommend this to a friend or family member.

    (this copy was given free by Thomas Nelson company to be read for review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    Living Life in the Zone - Perfect for Sports Fans

    So far, I have really enjoyed this devotional. It is definitely a great way to get athletic males and sports-lovers to read. It takes sports analogies and examples and applies them to biblical principles. I believe this book would be a great "stocking stuffer" for the sports fan in your life.

    One thing that I did not like was the various Biblical references that were in the book. Rather than using the King James Version of the Bible, multiple versions of the bible were referred to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Living Life in the Zone by Kyle Rote Jr and Dr Joe Pettigrew

    Living Life in the Zone is a 40-day spiritual journey for men. Especially appealing to guys who relate to sports and its intricacies, this book is filled with stories from giants in the sporting world. It's designed to help the average fella tackle the giants in his own world, even as he grows his faith.

    So, why did I want to read a book that is specifically written for men? I suppose I was curious to peer into the baffling world of our sports-saturated spouses just to see whether (a) I could better understand my own husband and (b) unearth a few faith nuggets for myself. I did find the real-life stories from such legends as Kurt Warner and Tony Dungy interesting and the entire book was well written. It was separated into easy-to-digest segments and designed to be studied over the course of 40 days. I kept thinking it is a book my husband would enjoy and a men's small group could readily embrace. I confess that I got a little exhausted by the relentless sports titles and analogies, but that's OK, since the book was never written with me in mind. Still, I did walk away from it with energized faith, saying "Put me in, Coach!"

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Living Life in the Zone - a book review

    Living Life in the Zone - a 40-day Spiritual Game Plan for Men
    Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew - authors
    Thomas Nelson - Publisher

    When I picked this book - I would have to admit that the title intrigued me. a game plan for men? The teasers even said it would help me become a better father and husband - well, that was the grab for me. I think of myself as a good husband and hopefully great father - but I wanted to be sure. hence my reading the book. My only worry - '40-days?' I could read books in so much less, so how would I pace myself?

    Rote and Pettigrew's approach to the program was simple - start with a thought for the day, then proceed to the coach's corner to listen to the lesson before getting to the game plan - mention a few playmakers (examples) and leave you with an assignment (your practice). If it sounds like a very sports-minded approach. it is.

    I have to be honest, though the lessons (Coach's corner) were important; and I did learn a couple of tips; the playmakers sections were too U.S.-centric for me. I mean, most of the time, I did not know any of the people being talked about - you see, I'm not a really sports-minded individual, so these stories. though important as examples, were not hooking me. Had they been about some NBA great, maybe I'd recognize and appreciate them better.

    That said, to use a sports analogy myself - I fumbled in the 30-yard line. I set the book aside and read other things. but I would go back once in a while, pick up the book - and this time. read selective lessons - ones that would appeal to my wants and needs. And if the playmakers stories were interesting - that would be a bonus. I specially appreciated the book 's zones on how to relationship with children and wife. the others were okay too - but ones I could do without. guess they weren't priorities.

    I guess I was the wrong audience for this book (not a sport enthusiast - strike one, not an American exposed to the local sport - strike two, and not a big follower of 40-day programs that half-interested me - strike three). Hence I struggled to read it from cover to cover. Would this have been different if they made a different play? Say, use well known international figures to fit the book's examples? Most definitely.

    That said, I must still say that the book is helpful as a guide for men in looking for a more spiritual life.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Get Yourself In The Zone!

    If you're a guy who goes to church and likes sport, then 'In The Zone' by Kyle Rote and Dr. Joe Pettigrew is for you. If you're a guy who likes sport and thinks they might want to go to church, then this book is also for you!

    A simple and straight forward forty day plan of reading and discipleship, complete with real life examples and advice from a host of our most successful and respected athletes and coaches, is the perfect way to spend the first ten minutes of your day.

    Each day of 'In The Zone' is split into easy sections outlining a concept, providing a clear message on how this will impact your life, and detailing how great sportsmen have negotiated the same concerns and decisions which you face on a daily basis.

    'In The Zone' covers four key sections of your life, marriage, children, work, and faith. Daily scriptural references relate the power and strength of the Bible to each day's topic, but these aren't overly theological and are packed with relevant connections to the reader's life.

    Whether you spend ten minutes, or an hour, a day reading 'In The Zone' by Kyle Rote and Dr. Joe Pettigrew, this is a book that you're going to read again and again - better still, read it and the pass it on to a friend or relative so they can gain the benefit of its impact.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Got 40 days to grow into a Godly Man?

    f you're a church going guy, if you like sports, and if you want to grow closer to the Lord, You need to get this book! Some days it is not always easy! This book is really a discipleship manual that focuses on helping you live a victorious Christian life! The book itself is designed to be a 40 day 'Spiritual Game Plan' so right away we see that biblical number that the Lord uses to bring His people through trials so that His purposes can be fulfilled!

    What I liked about this book is the depth in which I was able to use it to study. It was not your average "I'm going to read a verse and a poem and then I'll be all set for the day" Bible study! This book challenged me every time that I opened it! To be honest it was hard to put down!

    I also liked the consistency of each chapter. As I mentioned above, each chapter is broken down into sections that are consistent. I looked forward to reading the Coach's corner in each chapter that I read to see what the "coach" would have to say! It's written in such a way that any man could easily relate to it. The book does not hit you over the head with scripture, but instead allows you to step back and see how biblical teaching touches you daily life and how you can incorporate it in your daily life!

    I was provided with a complimentary copy of Living Life In The Zone: A 40 Day Spiritual Game Plan for Men by Kyle Rote and Joe Pettigrew from Thomas Nelson Publishers to review and I would highly recommend this book! What a great birthday, anniversary or even a Father's Day book for any man looking to live a more Godly life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Life in the Zone

    All men think they are better than they are! In our world today, we are surrounded by men that portray an image of themselves that is masked with power, position, pride and arrogance and we celebrate it and want more of it. Yet this is not the way of Jesus. In this book by Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew, they have presented an amazing 40 day journey for men to strip away what keeps them from living life in the zone of where God wants them to be.

    When I recieved this book I was a bit skeptical because I have seen "40 day" books before and they have left me unfulfilled and have been more shallow than I would have liked. Not with this one.

    This book really showed me what a Godly character and life full of integrity should look like and how I was not living the life in the zone where God desires me to be. It is divided into four areas that all men must deal with on a daily basis - marriage, children, work and faith. If there is one major thing I learned from this book is that all of life is spiritual. The stories from famous athletes, coaches and other men really encouraged me because their stories are not very different than my story. We are all broken and in need of someone greater than ourselves to reconcile us back to God, and that person is Jesus.

    I would highly recommend getting this book for your husband, father, friend or pastor. I am a member of Book Sneeze, Thomas Nelson Publishing book review program and the thanks goes to them for allowing me to read and review this book.

    Matt Nash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Living Life in the Zone

    I am definitely not a sports fan but I can see that the layout of this book, Living Life in the Zone ((Kyle Rote Jr and Dr Joe Pettigrew) would appeal to all who are.The layout according to sports terms is very clever.
    What man wouldn't be interested in The Coach's Corner, The game Plan, Play Makers, Time Out and Home Field Advantage.
    For the first time, I understand why men don't generally do Bible Studies. The layout is all wrong for them. Bible studies are generally written for women. In fact devotionals generally are too.
    I thought that I wrote my new book- Heartfelt, 366 Devotions for Common Sense Living for everyone, until a man pointed out that this was not so! It was for women only!
    A book written for men, to men, to appeal to their way of thinking, can only be a good thing!
    It is a reasonable length (40 days). The studies are thought provoking
    and will give readers a fresh perspective on the Word.
    I would give it as a gift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Great Devotional For Guys Who Like Sports

    Living Life In The Zone by Kyle Rote Jr. & Dr. Joe Pettigrew

    A 40-Day Spiritual game Plan For Men

    This book is a 40 day devotional written by men for men. The "Zone" is the place we live in when we put Christ first and others before us.

    The book is divided into four sections: Marriage, Family, Work and Faith and uses sports stories and analogies to make great connections to spiritual growth and health.

    My thoughts:

    Initially, I wasn't overjoyed to read through a 40-day devotional. That is, until I read day one, and then day two, and then day three. Before I knew it I had read through 10 days in one sitting.

    This book is right up my alley.

    As a sports fan and man who truly wants to grow in my relationship with God and with others this is definitely a great challenge and encouraging devotional to move in that direction.

    I read through this in less than three days. My favorite parts were the tasks at the end of each section. I stopped and pondered each and made notes in my journal. This isn't just a collection of heartwarming sports stories, but a great motivator, a real in your face sports book that paints pictures of REAL MEN just like us and their struggles and successes.

    If you're a sports fan, or you know a guy who is, pick this book up for them, they'll get a lot out of it.

    As part of the BookSneeze.com program, I was provided a complimentary copy of this book to review by Thomas Nelson publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    Give this book to the man in your life

    have just finished a quick read of a quality book that if you are a Christian man, you should pick up. This book is Living Life in the Zone, A 40-Day Spiritual Game Plan for Men. We all remember Michael Jordan's great games and when he or the announcers would say he was "in the zone," that area where everything just clicked and he could not miss a shot. This book aims to place our Christian lives in that area, the area where we can hopefully avoid having that "bad game," where we end the day not feeling like a Christian at all.

    Dividing the everyman's life into the areas of husband, father, friend, and co-worker, this book offers ways in which we can hopefully fulfill these roles in a way that would be pleasing to God. The book is divided into short daily thoughts and suggestions that would take little time each day to read. Being a sports-themed book, this book focuses each day on one story from the lives of famous athletes and/or coaches. It pulls no punches when discussing the negative aspects of some of these people's lives. Some of the names you may recognize include Bobby Bowden, Charles Barkley, Tony Dungy, Archie Manning, and Bear Bryant. If you are from this part of the country, a name you may recognize would be Clay Dyar. He is the focus of one day and even though I have known him personally since childhood, his story still amazes me. It will inspire and amaze you too.

    Overall, for a Christian man, this book could not hurt to take for a spin and attempt to live out the 40-day plan. For the purpose of this review I read it quickly but I intend to work the plan they have laid out. This book could also be used as a great tool for a men's study group and I intend on forming a group to try this at my church. The book does drift off into some purpose-driven talk at times but the simplicity of this book quickly draws itself out of going down that road too far. This book would make a great gift for wives or children to give their husbands and fathers this upcoming Valentine's Day.

    To read this or other reviews on my website please go to www.thispilgrimland.com

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Living Life in the Zone

    I found this book to be great for men who are driven already. The focus on athletes, coaches etc and their walk with God is a strong testimony to those young men who play already. The book event thought it was devised to be done over 40 days was a quick read and sometimes I felt cheated and went ahead and read more lessons so I felt that I got something out of it.

    As a married man I felt the book was directed toward me more than if I was a single, however again it wasn't a "home run" for books especially a devotional for me. I would recommend this book to any married man who loves sports because they may be inspired by something in the lessons, by someone they may know or heard of. I would also recommend this book be use a group study with someone in charge of it who has a sports background.

    In using it in a group study I would challenge the leader to reallg dig the "meat and potatoes' to teach the lesson because the book simply can't do it on it's own. I'm not saying the book is bad, I just don't think it's a devotional everyone will benefit from. I did take that when you trust God in all areas of your life you will be blessed beyond measure, and that in my opinion is simply awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Finally, A Devotional for MEN

    It's a New Year, and time for New Years Resolutions. Right? Well, no. Normally, I don't make resolutions. It prevents me from failing to keep them. Instead, I make commitments. Not resolutions. Not things that I will do EVERYDAY, but rather things that I hope to get done during the year. Last year, I committed to read through the Bible, and I did. Sure I missed some days, but I actually finished the reading nearly a week early.

    This year, I have committed to expand my Bible study beyond just reading the Bible, into doing something a little more -- involved. Enter Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew with their 40-day devotional, Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men. I received the book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Review Bloggers Program and began it immediately. Like many Christian devotional books, Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men follows a 40-day plan, calling on the Biblical significance of a forty day period (see Noah, et. al.). But Rote and Pettigrew do something that I haven't found in many of the devotional guides and Bibles that I've researched -- they tailor their devotional to the life of a man.

    Calling on their vast experience of working with the men of professional sports as part of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Rote and Pettigrew present the life of a man in terms that men can understand. They cover topics such as living a healthy Christian life at work, loving an imperfect woman, dealing with daily stress, and even the oft-taboo topic of improving your sex life from the perspective of a Christian man. I have tried to carve time out of my day every day to spend a little time in the Word under the tutelage of Rote and Pettigrew, and found deep insight into things that I have just taken for granted for years. By spending just fifteen minutes a day pondering the thoughts and words of such pro sports greats as Roger Staubach, Joe Gibbs, John Wooden, and Coach Tony Dungy, I've found myself trying to live more like the man God wants me to be.

    It's only a 40-day devotional, and won't require a major commitment on your part to get through this little book. But it just might cause you to make some major commitments you hadn't considered before.

    Jeff Cole is an author, blogger, and a member of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers Program. http://brb.thomasnelson.com

    http://www.averagejoeamerican.us

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2