Customer Reviews for

Living Up the Street

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

if you are nosy then you will love this book!!

I am a kind of person who likes a lot of drama and I like to know about others interesting personal life. I like memoirs and autobiographies because I like to read how other people made it through life. Living Up The Street is a great example of a young kid that grows u...
I am a kind of person who likes a lot of drama and I like to know about others interesting personal life. I like memoirs and autobiographies because I like to read how other people made it through life. Living Up The Street is a great example of a young kid that grows up until he becomes a young man. It is a beauty how this small child tries and tries and surpasses any obstacle that Gary confronts in his life, house, and, neighborhood. This book takes place in a neighborhood like our regular neighborhoods and it tells us how Gary makes friends or despises people at the same time. It allows us to recognize our regular surroundings like broken down homes and streets. While you are reading this book, you could connect your own personal experiences and compare it to Gary's unpredictable life. At first I thought that the main character was a girl because he had many creative ideas and he likes so many girly things, but then I discovered that he was a boy. For example, Gary entered the crafts contest and I think that many boys these days would never enter a so-called 'Girls contest¿. In addition, he tried to enter the beauty contest, but instead he put his brother in the contest and he decided to help him out. After his childhood was over, he started working as a real man in the hot sun like picking up grapes and cotton from plantations. Then I began to realize that Gary was a man. This is an excellent book and who ever wants to join me reading it again I will help them. Many people will find this book a great impact in your life or probably it will bring just memories about your childhood and how you were such a troublemaker in your neighborhood. This book will cause you laughter and it will because you to think because you need to think way back. It will get your fanciful mind working much more. This book will have so much comparison and interesting things about you that you will not want to stop reading this book and you will find it so engaging that you will read the entire book the same day you get Living Up The Street.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I expected a little more...

In the book Living Up The Street there was a young boy who is growing up and is encountering all kinds of obstacles. He has to deal with not being picked for the baseball team, dealing with siblings, and facing bullies. This book shows that everyone goes through problem...
In the book Living Up The Street there was a young boy who is growing up and is encountering all kinds of obstacles. He has to deal with not being picked for the baseball team, dealing with siblings, and facing bullies. This book shows that everyone goes through problems in their life and that no one is perfect. The author Gary Soto does not do a great job of engaging the reader. In this book you can easily predict what is going to happen next, so it is not very interesting or suspenseful. One thing I like about this book is that i can connect to some of the things the little boy has to go through. For example I know what it feels like to be treated unfairly either becasue you are a boy or a girl, or just not what someone is looking for. Also I know what it feels like trying to deal with siblings.I am not sure if this book takes place during the Civil Rights Movement, or if it is just a time when all races and ethnicities stayed seperate. I think that anyone that likes to read a book in one sitting may like this book, because to understand it clearly you have to read it all at one time.

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    if you are nosy then you will love this book!!

    I am a kind of person who likes a lot of drama and I like to know about others interesting personal life. I like memoirs and autobiographies because I like to read how other people made it through life. Living Up The Street is a great example of a young kid that grows up until he becomes a young man. It is a beauty how this small child tries and tries and surpasses any obstacle that Gary confronts in his life, house, and, neighborhood. This book takes place in a neighborhood like our regular neighborhoods and it tells us how Gary makes friends or despises people at the same time. It allows us to recognize our regular surroundings like broken down homes and streets. While you are reading this book, you could connect your own personal experiences and compare it to Gary's unpredictable life. At first I thought that the main character was a girl because he had many creative ideas and he likes so many girly things, but then I discovered that he was a boy. For example, Gary entered the crafts contest and I think that many boys these days would never enter a so-called 'Girls contest¿. In addition, he tried to enter the beauty contest, but instead he put his brother in the contest and he decided to help him out. After his childhood was over, he started working as a real man in the hot sun like picking up grapes and cotton from plantations. Then I began to realize that Gary was a man. This is an excellent book and who ever wants to join me reading it again I will help them. Many people will find this book a great impact in your life or probably it will bring just memories about your childhood and how you were such a troublemaker in your neighborhood. This book will cause you laughter and it will because you to think because you need to think way back. It will get your fanciful mind working much more. This book will have so much comparison and interesting things about you that you will not want to stop reading this book and you will find it so engaging that you will read the entire book the same day you get Living Up The Street.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    A reviewer

    The book I read was Living up the Street by Gary Soto. The genre is non-fiction. The true reason that I selected this book was because it seemed shorter than the rest of the books. It turns out that I did like the book because it was interesting and funny. One of the funny parts I read was when a boy named Gary was trying to show his younger brother Jimmy how to walk for a talent show contest. This book is not long but is not short. I don¿t think I learned anything from this book. I am sure that this book was made just for people to enjoy. While I was reading this book, I felt that this book was funny, interesting, hurtful, and sad (like saying aww). There was this one time that I couldn¿t put the book down because of how interesting it was. This book is just about a family¿s life living in a California barrio. This book wasn¿t difficult for me. The vocabulary in this story is not hard like for a ninth grader not to understand. I would recommend this book because this book was interesting ant it will make you want to read more and more of the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Fall in Love

    Book Review Living Up the Street, by Gary Soto, is the greatest short novel. I fell in love with it since the beginning! It is very entertaining due to the events done by the characters. Even during the first chapters, he is showed as a kid, that in his limited position, for just a little of fun, he is willing to pay the cost. I was awed due to the way the author wrote the story. He captured in detail, the impassioned way the protagonist exceeds for a better future as he grows. While he had to live up dealing with his father¿s death, having to work at an early age, and in badly economical issues, he realizes he did not want this type of lifestyle forever. It is showed that he was born in an area of discrimination and in his own family before him, they never made anything out of themselves in life. The compassionate character learns how to grow up and becomes optimistic about having the desire for a good place in life. There are a variety of bumps he encounters with on the way, that make this story very unique indeed. For example, he is not given much support in following his dreams, and yet he is leaded into wrong roads along the story. He shows many characteristics that connect to the real life too. I recommend you read this book because no matter what type of reader you are, I assure you that with Living Up the Street, there are many things included in this literacy, you can connect with, get into the story, and love it to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    read this...

    Living up the street is about how a Mexican boy works and has his adventures. He works in many places as in fields to make his own money. His life style is different than most of the kids in real life since he depends on himself and nobody else. He had to work for many hours in fields since he does not have his parents anymore. I would recommend this book to other people who like to read about independent people who make their own choices. It is very interesting and does not get boring like other books, so in my opinion it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Highly recommended book

    'Living up the street' was my second book choice. This book was written by Gary Soto. I can relate to this book because like Gary Soto I am also a Mexican-American. Gary's way of living is more similar to most Mexican families because of our culture. That's how we eat, act, and dress. Most Mexican-Americans live growing up in the streets maybe because of economical issues. I enjoyed this book because it was very amusing how Gary Soto sometimes just acted overall sometimes without thinking about it. He acted like that when he wanted something desperately. Like when he wasn¿t living at his house anymore and started working at a tire factory. This book is great! Gary goes through many adventures. One time Gary and his friend fooled a drunk man into buying a beer bottle from the trash can filled with water from the garden hose. It wasn¿t difficult for me to understand this book because there was language that I did understand, I would say maybe that all of it. Lesson learned from this book is to live life, as it is, not doing any bad actions. My interest level was high because it was about Gary Soto¿s childhood full of adventures. I recommend this book to be read in class because it teaches life lessons and I recommend it to students that like to read about a Mexican-American living his life on the street.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Good Book

    Living up the street has been a great book. It might be small and thin but that doesn't always mean that it's a short and easy book. The author of this book has written great books like 'Of a Summer Life'. Living up the street is a great biography book that might be a little hard but won't give you many problems. This is a very interesting book because it talks about how a boy lives around his neighborhood. My opinion of this book is that it's a great book and I recommend it because it has fun characters that will make you laugh and make you cry I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    good book

    The book living up the street is about a Mexican American living in L.A. and growing up there. The struggles that a Mexcian had to face to get money and different things like that. I reccomend this book to Mexican Americans because I am personally Mexican so I identify myself with this book. If you are interested in learning something about how Mexican Americans were a couple of years back you should read it. If you are looking for a book to identify yourself with then this is a good book. I personally enjoyed this book because I know the struggles that mexicans go through every day. Not just Mexicans but in general people that are not from here. The book is not long and it's a type of memoir. It talks about the life of Gary Soto. I recommend the book to whoever wants to know a little about Mexican American culture and their way of thinking towards anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    WOW! This bok is truly amazing

    Over the summer, I read the book Living up the Street. To five you a brief summary, it was about the struggles and stereotypes that an everyday Hispanic has to go through. This is why I liked the book. Even though I did not have personal connections with the context, I still had an understanding. This was a great book. I would mostly recommend this book to Hispanics or people that are going through a daily struggle that involves facing stereotypes. The author of this book is Gary Soto.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    A really good book

    Over the summer, I had to read three books for my summer reading project. My first choice was Living Up the Street by Gary Soto. Gary Soto has written another good book called Taking Sides. The main characters of this story are Gary, his mother, brother, sister. Gary grows up very poor he barely sees his mom. Almost all his family is Hispanic. During the whole story, Gary is very naïve. He did not really care how he looked. This book might be difficult if you do not understand Spanish. There are some parts where there are Spanish words involved, but other than that, I really recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1