Customer Reviews for

Living Violet (Cambion Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

An Original Addition to Paranormal YA

I received an opportunity to read an advance copy of "Living Violet." I was really interested in the plot and the book drew me in from the start. While I thought the premise was original (as original as you can be in the ever-growing paranormal YA genre), there were a f...
I received an opportunity to read an advance copy of "Living Violet." I was really interested in the plot and the book drew me in from the start. While I thought the premise was original (as original as you can be in the ever-growing paranormal YA genre), there were a few issues that I had which made this a 3.5 (or 4, since you can't have half ratings) read for me.

Let me begin by saying I totally hate this cover. I hate HATE that Caleb is pictured because well...I don't find this cover boy cute at all and it totally threw me off when reading the book since I was just picturing THAT dude as Caleb instead of some imagined hottie, and it made the plot a little unbelievable. Since I know that authors rarely even have a say in what their covers look like, I'm not going to detract any stars for this point. It's a personal pet peeve and I wanted to mention it because it made the book a little harder for me to read.

When I did finally get into the book, one thing I really enjoyed was Jaime Reed's writing style. It was really easygoing and fun and Samara was a character who really bounced off the pages. She was realistic, and realistic is good. I also really appreciated that she wasn't a "Bella Swan" - meek and quiet and far too subtle for my tastes. While I can see where Sam would come off as being a little annoying, I really think that in this case, there was enough sass without it coming across as forced or bratty.

Another thing that really made the book for me was the actual premise. I liked the supernatural beings featured, and I really liked Reed's explanations of how they work. The supporting characters in the book really helped move and shape the story and I really enjoyed getting to know them all.

Now, the one thing that I did NOT like (and I kinda mentioned above) was Caleb. Again, maybe this was because of my cover bias but he just DID NOT come off to me like the likeable, tempting guy that Samara is into. At the beginning, he comes off a little skeevy and really, does not make up for it for the rest of the book. He just did not work for me as the male lead, and do sorta wish he had been written differently.

Overall, I decided to rate the book up to 4 stars because I did enjoy reading it, issues aside. I also am curious to read the 2nd book in the series, because it seems like it would focus more on Samara than on Caleb and Samara's relationship. I'd recommend this book to all fans of paranormal YA.

posted by VioletteReads1 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

After reading good reviews of this book I chose to purchase it. The content was very disappointing and I am now sorry I spent my 2.99 for this book

posted by SpyderRyder on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Original Addition to Paranormal YA

    I received an opportunity to read an advance copy of "Living Violet." I was really interested in the plot and the book drew me in from the start. While I thought the premise was original (as original as you can be in the ever-growing paranormal YA genre), there were a few issues that I had which made this a 3.5 (or 4, since you can't have half ratings) read for me.

    Let me begin by saying I totally hate this cover. I hate HATE that Caleb is pictured because well...I don't find this cover boy cute at all and it totally threw me off when reading the book since I was just picturing THAT dude as Caleb instead of some imagined hottie, and it made the plot a little unbelievable. Since I know that authors rarely even have a say in what their covers look like, I'm not going to detract any stars for this point. It's a personal pet peeve and I wanted to mention it because it made the book a little harder for me to read.

    When I did finally get into the book, one thing I really enjoyed was Jaime Reed's writing style. It was really easygoing and fun and Samara was a character who really bounced off the pages. She was realistic, and realistic is good. I also really appreciated that she wasn't a "Bella Swan" - meek and quiet and far too subtle for my tastes. While I can see where Sam would come off as being a little annoying, I really think that in this case, there was enough sass without it coming across as forced or bratty.

    Another thing that really made the book for me was the actual premise. I liked the supernatural beings featured, and I really liked Reed's explanations of how they work. The supporting characters in the book really helped move and shape the story and I really enjoyed getting to know them all.

    Now, the one thing that I did NOT like (and I kinda mentioned above) was Caleb. Again, maybe this was because of my cover bias but he just DID NOT come off to me like the likeable, tempting guy that Samara is into. At the beginning, he comes off a little skeevy and really, does not make up for it for the rest of the book. He just did not work for me as the male lead, and do sorta wish he had been written differently.

    Overall, I decided to rate the book up to 4 stars because I did enjoy reading it, issues aside. I also am curious to read the 2nd book in the series, because it seems like it would focus more on Samara than on Caleb and Samara's relationship. I'd recommend this book to all fans of paranormal YA.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Love!

    This book is one of the best YA books I've read in a long time. Its fresh, unique and moves along with a plot that keeps you needing to turn the page. Reed is definitely a writer to keep an eye on.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great new YA series

    This book was a page turner and I didn't want to put it down. Fantastic beginning to a new YA urban fantasy series. I loved the characters. Samara was funny, smart, sarcastic and very likable. Caleb was a very interesting character and his supernatural gift/curse is something I'd only encountered outside the YA genre. I don't wanna spoil it for anyone so I won't say what he is. Just know he's charming and funny and has a sweet tooth to rival mine. The secondary characters were just as entertaining; Nadine was snarky and full of spunk and Mia and Dougie cracked me up.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book even though part of it broke my heart. This book had everything; humor, great character development, enough action to keep you intrigued, romance and witty dialogue. I can't wait to see how the changes in Sam's life will affect her. Really looking forward to the second book in the series, Burning Emerald.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Love it

    Great book! Cant wait for the next one! Kept me guessing

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Awesome addition to the YA paranormal genre

    I read lots of paranormal books and while I love them, I'm always looking for something different to shake up my reading routine. I was very pleasantly surprised and rewarded by Living Violet because there is nothing cookie cutter about this book. There is no high school angst, no love triangle and absolutely no insta-love. Living Violet is original, well paced and a completely enjoyable read.

    I'm a character driven reader and Samara is an awesome main character. The book is told from her perspective and she is very likable. Jamie Reed writes relationships well and I love how she portrays Samara’s relationships with her parents and friends. Samara is a smart, responsible, take-no-nonsense kind of girl and her personality stays true throughout the book.

    By far, my favorite part of the book is Samara’s voice. She is witty, funny and sarcastic. Samara is the kind of girl I would want to be friends with, and as a matter of fact, her honest (and humorous) outlook on life’s situations reminds me of some of my own friends.

    I also love how Caleb’s character is developed. We are not sure about Caleb at first. We know there is something different about him but we don’t know if he is a good or bad guy. I love the unique paranormal elements of the story and the big reveal was worth the wait. I don’t think I have read another YA book about this subject before.

    Living Violet exceeded my expectations and with its diverse and interesting cast of characters, it’s the perfect book to kick-off the Multi-Cultural Book Challenge. I raced through this book and I am dying for the sequel, Burning Emerald, which comes out in May.

    On a side note: I love that the author is lighthearted enough to poke a little fun at the YA paranormal romance genre with the Specter (a fictional novel mentioned in the book) references. There are more than a few lines in this book that made me laugh out loud, in a really good way.

    Content: Some profanity, sexual discussions, attempted rape, kissing and violence.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Best book i ever read

    This book is was soooo good i bought the whole series!!! I hope there will be a fourth pne

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Oh my freakin gosh

    Picked up this book one day at the public library thinking it was going to be an okay book ya know. I started reading and couldn't put it down. I finished this book in one day. I've been looking for paranormal romance novels for a really long time and a lot of them have to do with vampires and immortals I'm not saying they're bad books I'm saying that I was looking for something different and I found this book and Jamie has raised the bar for paranormal. So freakin good!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Best book eva!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was a great book could not put it down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! READ IT GET IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Wow!

    This book had me from the start! :) i love Caleb! I like how it takes Sam and Caleb time to figure out what they have.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    ?

    Wait did sam become a cambion?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    After reading good reviews of this book I chose to purchase it. The content was very disappointing and I am now sorry I spent my 2.99 for this book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Really liked it. Excited to read the next one.

    The book was a real page turner. Whenever they explain Sam as small boobed and a bigger tummy I have a bit of a hard time thinking Caleb would be into that. Other than that I really liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    easy read

    This was a fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Livingroom

    A green shag carpet,a 15' widescreen tv,a lveseat,a sofa,a nice vomfy chair ,andd a coffee table

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Living violet review

    This story had everything. A mysterious boy, family drama, and a female plunged into another word. It was a very enticing read, I plan to finish all the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Anonomuse

    The best book i have ever read and makes want to crave it and want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Omigod, read me ;)

    Its such a good read. I just couldnt put it down. IT SO FUNNY! I love the series. I recommemd to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Very engaging quick read, Cute and funny too!

    Very engaging quick read, Cute and funny too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Very Good

    I really enjoy reading this book i'm so happy to finally find a black author who can write paranormal book it awesome :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Must Read!!!

    Great turn of events at the end, couldn't put it down! Can't wait for the next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5