Customer Reviews for

Living Well with Hypothyroidism: What Your Doctor Doesn't Tell You... . That You Need to Know, Revised

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    13 Million People Need This Book.

    There's an epidemic of hypothyroidism in this country, affecting at least 13 million men, women and children. Many of these patients have been frustrated by their doctors' failure to properly diagnose or effectively treat them. Mary Shomon is the ideal patient advocate -- a hypothyroid patient who has not only been there and done that but also been motivated to thoroughly research this subject and present health-saving information in plain English. Shomon is also one of the few thyroid experts who has clearly identified soyfoods, soy milk and soy infant formula as contributors to the epidemic of thyroid problems experienced in this country. This is the #1 book I recommend to clients with thyroid disease or thyroid-related health problems such as infertility, fatigue, brain fog and weight gain.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2000

    Jam-packed with useful information!

    I think I have read every thyroid book on the market and didn't expect this one to contain any life-changing information... I was VERY pleasantly surprised! I not only learned a great deal (Mary Shomon writes from a patient's standpoint and gives a wonderful perspective on the subject), but I enjoyed simply reading the book. I especially appreciated the suggestions provided by others who, like me, are suffering from Hypothyroidism. The resource section at the end of the book is outstanding - absolutely one of the best compilations you'll find. I have frequented Mary's website often, and this book is another extension of her work. Thank you, Mary - we appreciate you!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ALMOST EVERYONE!!!

    Too many people are affected by misdiagnosed illnesses out there, that could have been corrected with their thyroid being treated for hypothyroidism. I am one of them. Dozens of specialists from different fields, too many pills, doctors wanting to do surgery, when all I needed was for ONE to LISTEN to what was going on with my body, REALLY LOOK at indepth bloodwork, and say everything points to HYPOTHYROIDISM.Finally one says, "No one has put you on thyroid medicine?!" Nope. With in a few days my body was responding!!! This doctor thinks we might be able to take me off those other meds ( for high cholestrol, migraines, & fibromyalgia ) in 3 months. The way I feel after just 1 month, I think she just might be right!

    If not you, it can be a loved one or a friend that is being affected by hypothyroidism. People do not understand what the thyroid is much less how much it effects your body and its functions! I lost several years to it. Too many Doctors do not understand it and its symptoms! But they will act like they do!

    Mary Shomon's book is a gift of knowlege that I wish doctors would read. You can use this knowledge to give yourself a fighting change in the " practicing art of medicine" and please, keep searching for a doctor who will LISTEN to you!! This book can help you to finally be able to have a life that is "Living Well With Hypothyroidism"

    Ms. Shomon relieves you, that you are not crazy, not alone,and that there are just TOO MANY doctors out there that do NOT understand the thyroid!! THANK YOU!!! Those crazy symptoms and complaints, that list that seems endless, can all be from hypothyroidism. Her information is clear, and not heavily full of medical jargon, so the average person stays involved reading gaining valuble knowledge. Getting this book is well worth the investment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Living Well with Hypothyroidism is a must read!!

    I have almost read this entire book cover to cover and I have learned so much about hypothyroidism. I have been living with this condition for several years, popping my Synthroid pill every morning and never giving it much thought. Mary Shomon presents a comprehensive look into hypothyroidism - the potential causes, symptoms, medications, etc. She puts everything right out there. She understands that every person is different and does not push a single viewpoint. I am experiencing some side effects from synthroid and from what I learned from this book, I am ready to make a switch (I didn't know I had options before I read this book). It is a must read for anyone who wants to learn more about this condition.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    First year thyroid patient

    Great book to get started with. I know very little about thyroid disorders and 'Living Well with Hypothyroidism' helped me learn the basics of thyroid related problems and what I should expect throughout my treatment. I knew something was wrong with my body but my doctors dismissed my symptoms as being something else. It was my thyroid all along! Shomon's book is extremely helpful especially since she is a thyroid patient herself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Caught my eye for certain! Apropro!

    This book helped me in ways I would not have thought possible, and with this new insight gave me the courage to request the much needed referral to an endocrinologist I should have been seeing 2+ years ago!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2000

    A Must Read!

    This is the must read book for people with any type of thyroid disease, but especially those of us who are hypothyroid. It is the single, most comprehensive source I have seen in my 43 years of struggling with this illness. No doctor, no single web site, no article, nor any other book so simply and easily provides the solid, researched information as is found here. The author herself is a thyroid patient. This woman knows what she's talking about, and she fairly presents all sides to various aspects of treatment. I can't recommend this outstanding book enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2000

    OUTSTANDING BOOK OF INFORMATION

    I am a Thyroid Patient and would like to rate this book. The book includes everything you need to know to be knowledgeable about Thyroid Disease, from symptoms to how to feel well. Information is provided in a well organized format. If you're new to Thyroid Disease this book is an excellent introduction. If you're more experienced with Thyroid Disease, this is a great book to have because it provides a lot of information that your doctor doesn't tell you. And in plain English that you can understand! A worthwhile book to read for anyone with Thyroid Disease.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This is an important book for anyone who has Hypothyroidism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2002

    I am not lossing my mind

    I have been in treatment for hypothyroidism since 1994, I have never had my doseage increased and have complained about the nagging feeling in my throat. I knew I needed to change doctors but now I know what to look for in a doctor. Thanks you, this book was very helpful and written for everyone to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    What a Wonderful Book!

    I felt like I belonged. Any questions you have are answered. The book gives encouragement because you know other people are going through what you are going through. You aren't lone in your suffering anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    An important book...

    Whether you're newly diagnosed or an old hand at dealing with hypothyroid disease, this author's radical notion that we deserve to live WELL with our disorder is important and empowering. Mary Shomon discusses many controversial issues that most traditional doctors would prefer to avoid, including: who is really at-risk for developing hypothyroid disease, remaining symptomatic with 'good' lab results, unfounded medical biases that interfere with the development of appropriate treatment plans and the efficacy of T3 therapy. This book combines frequently complicated medical and scientific research with absorbing personal accounts by people who have hypothyroidism in a readable, understandable format. And, consistent with Mary's overall message, she includes an indispensible 17-point plan for living WELL with hypothyroidism. This is the book we've been waiting for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    Excellent reference for hypothyroidism!!!

    Outstanding book on hypothyroidism! I received the book as soon as it was published, and have read it a number of times and have referred back to it a numerous times with concerns I had. A must book for everyone with hypothyroidism!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    Helping Yourself

    Finally, a book that explains how to help yourself live a healthier, happier lifestyle even though suffering with this debilitating disease. Living Well With Hypothyroidism gives us hope and answers. This book is written so anyone can understand it. Wouldn't it be wonderful if more Doctor's would read this book... they would learn from it! Thank you Mary!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT'S MAKING YOU SICK?

    This book is resourceful, well written, and, will tug at you if you have been through the tremendous pain of being diagnosed hypothyroid or know someone who has. It gives tips on therapies, alternative treatments, and the myths and rumors that abound in the medical community about this insidious, yet little known disease. If you are sick and can't find a reason why, and have been diagnosed with depression (even if there's nothing to be depressed about) check out this book. It won't be the answer to everyone, but will be a godsend to those it helps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    cant put the book down

    Wow Finally a person who understands Hypothyroidism. I finally felt like i wasnt alone anymore. I have been fighting this hypo for 7 years and now with all the information i can and will feel better. I took some of the information with me to my doctor and now he has started me on cytomel and i am feeling better. Also he listens now even if I am in the normal Lab range if I am above 2 he will up my medication. Thank you Mary for writing a wonderful book and now many hypo will understand there are alot of us out there and we are not crazy. please everyone that is hypothroid buy this wonderful book. PSS I have lost 3lbs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    Deserves to be a best-seller

    This book deserves to be a best-seller because of the incredibly helpful information it gives to thyroid patients and those who suspect they might have thyroid problems. It advocates patients taking charge of their health, finding a doctor who will consider alternative treatments, and making other changes in their daily lives to increase their well-being. For the first time since being diagnosed with hypothyroidism ten years ago I feel hopeful that I stand a chance of feeling better in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2