Customer Reviews for

Living in Love: Co-hosts of TV's LIFE Today, James and Betty Share Keys to an Exciting and Fulfilling Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Doesn't Provide Much Insight Into Resolving Issues

    Are you more in love with your spouse today than on your wedding day? I'm still in love but I can't say that I am more in love, but wouldn't it be wonderful if we were! James and Betty Robinson say that they are more in love now than ever before and wrote Living in Love to share their experiences and wisdom with us. I loved the introduction of this book. It read like a conversation between James and Betty. It was fun to read and see how they interact together. I was disappointed that the whole book was not written this way. James and Betty did alternate writing sections of the book and giving their opinions and point of view about different subjects, but it lost the connection between them. I think the book would have had more impact if we could have seen more of the interaction between this couple. I also thought Living in Love would give me more insight into James and Betty's lives and how they've work through their differences and problems over the years to have such a strong marriage today. They did share a lot of examples from their lives and I could relate to most of them, but I felt that they just touched on how to resolve the issues they faced. Their answer was always to pray about it, be open to change, and wait for God to change you and/or your spouse. I believe in the power of prayer but I also believe that it takes more work on our part to really change and that was missing from this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Save your marriage

    A great book for marriage couple. Let say your marriage is not working anymore even though you've done so many counselling or compromises yet it end up nothing or you feel like giving up and walk away. I strongly recommend that you read this book. Through this book, couple will learn many tactics on how to handle marriage trials for instance never ending fights, boredom, lost of interest in intercourse, nonsense arguments, dishonesty or lies, disrespect or out of love, unfaithfulness and a lot more marital issues. If you want to get tips on how to handle or save your marriage purchase this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Living in Love: A Must for Any Marriage

    First, I highly recommend this book to any Pastor, Leader, Husband or Wife that is facing a battle in their marriage. I've read a lot of books on marriage but none that have been written with such transparency. I believe this book can and will save and strengthen any marriage where both parties are willing to surrender to God first and then apply the principles set forth in this book to their marriage. God can! God will! I wanted to thank James & Betty Robison having such an honest conversation about marriage. I felt at times as I was reading I was in their living room or doing a Life Today studio interview, speaking with them personally. Living in Love is a treasure chest of proven principles that have been applied and lived out during the span of 50 years of the Robison's marriage. It's takes you beyond the "how to's" and allows you to see a marriage on display including the struggles, the victories and the results of what happens when a man and a woman see their marriage as a covenant before God. I especially gleaned from the chapter on spiritual warfare titled "The Invisible Enemy." Betty's transparency, honesty and testimony in this chapter alone is worth purchasing and reading this book alone. If it were possible I would put this book in every leader and leader's spouse's hand. It is that good and that important. So many, especially in the ministry feel trapped in mediocre marriages, afraid to be honest with their self and others, settling for less than God's best for the married life. This book will motivate you as a couple to move your marriage out of tolerance and towards a marriage of abundance. James and Betty Robison will lead you through the principles that transformed their individual lives and led them into a deeper "into-me-see" with one another. Although I received this book for free from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review I highly recommend that you purchase this book, read it and or give it to a friend. I am!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Living In Love Great read!

    James and Betty Robinson have been married for almost 50 years. The two are co hosts of the T.V. show Life Today, which I have watched time after time over the years. One thing that I notice about this couple is that they look like they are still in love even after all that time.
    This lovely, grey haired couple have joined together to write the book, "Living In Love". Inside they share keys to an exciting and fulfilling marriage. James and Betty get very candid as they write through the pages, sharing their personal testimonies. Everything hasn't been perfect for them, but they have worked together to make it through the storms of life.
    "Living In Love", is broken up into 4 main parts, Beginnings, Commitment, Communication, and Challenges.


    Written in a dialogue format, this book allows you to see situations in their marriage from both perspectives. This is what I love most about this book. Most books on marriage aren't penned this way. To me, it gives validation to the couples authentic relationship. At the end of each chapter, you'll find questions for reflection and discussion. I would suggests reading this along with your spouse an then going over the questions together. You just might learn something about each other!
    Honestly, I didn't expect this book to be as of good of a read. I thought it might be a little outdated because it's an older couple. Boy was I surprised! We should listen more to our elders because they have a wealth of wisdom for us to draw from. The authors love has stood the test of time and they are more in love today than ever. Whether you're are happily married or needing a little help, this is a great resource to add to your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Nothing new

    Book Review:
    Living in Love by James and Betty Robison
    ISBN: 9781400074587

    This book is the 1st person account of James and Betty Robison marriage.
    Overall nothing new in this book, as compared to the countless other marriage books on the market. If you are interested in their personal story, then it is worth reading.
    I feel that Mr. Robison in some aspects has snowed his wife. Her explanation for many of his shortcomings through the years being the result of his upbringing (for example: read Every Man's Battle by Arterburn, Stoeker, and Yorkey-all men struggle with lust at one point or another, regardless of their upbringing).

    Overall the book falls in the "just okay" category, not good but not bad.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    You can get to know them--and maybe yourself

    The first impression: The first impression from Living in Love comes from the two mildly aged faces smiling at you from the cover. The names of the smiling faces are obviously the names written in large print at the top of the cover, showing that this book is centered around them and their experiences. At the bottom of the cover it is emphasized that the couple also has their own TV show. At the very top of the cover is an endorsement from Beth Moore. The very first thing to be found inside the book is several pages of endorsements from a "Who's Who" of evangelical superstars.

    Content: When the reader does get to the table of contents, the impression that the book revolves around the authors is reinforced. This is their story which they are telling to try to help other couples. This story is told in a dialogue manner with clearly marked sections headed by "James" and "Betty" alternating as they give different accounts and analysis from their respective viewpoints. They are honest about their quarrels, weaknesses and struggles which give the book a fresh sincerity. For the first several sections of the book they move through the phases of their relationship, detailing the struggles and growing experiences along the way. In the final section they deal with practical topics that every couple has to face: money, parenting, sex, etc.

    Conclusion: Living in Love is a good book for couples wanting to improve their relationship. James and Betty address relational difficulties that most any couple will be able to identify with. Living in Love could also be useful for a couple in pre-marital counseling to get them thinking about some of the challenges they will be facing before they actually take place. However, this is not a book for counselors or for couples experiencing severe relational crises. There are many other works out there which would be more suited for people in these categories. In all, I would recommend Living in Love as a light, but helpful book for marriage enhancement.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1