Customer Reviews for

Living with Confidence in a Chaotic World: What on Earth Should We Do Now?

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Nathan

    Shardclaw: I'm Nathan. Sandyfeather: Disgusting, creepy, ugly, p e r v e r t e d nathan. Blizzardpool: He's not ugly. He's all the rest though. Roseshadow: Yep. He's REALLY disgusting. Shardclaw: :( Checkerfern: You guys are mean. Roseshadow: Just saying. He's my bro. Doesn't your bro stink???!! Checkerfern: No... Sandyfeather: Cause hers is mature cause he's twenty four or something.Shardclaw: Hey, we're supposed to be talking bout me :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quick-paced, but not new

    Dr. David Jeremiah reminds Christians of the importance of being grounding in a thorough knowledge and application of the Bible.

    This quick-paced book is divided into the following ten chapters:

    1. Stay Calm
    2. Stay Compassionate
    3. Stay Constructive
    4. Stay Challenged
    5. Stay Connected
    6. Stay Centered
    7. Stay Confident
    8. Stay Consistent
    9. Stay Committed
    10. Stay Convinced

    If you follow Dr. Jeremiah's other ministries regularly, this book will not add a great deal of new insight. However, it is a concise summary of some of his latest thinking.

    Full disclosure: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Not bad....

    Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World written by Dr. David Jeremiah is a follow up to the book What in the World Is Going On? In this book, Dr. Jeremiah brings comfort and hope directly from the bible, answers questions, but most important, he showcases God's love and power.

    I was excited to get this book. It was sold in the bookstore at our old church, people seemed to love it. I, on the other hand, couldn't get into it. It's a good book, don't get me wrong, there is a ton of facts, and it is biblically based. There are some great historical facts that are enlightening as well as a few stories about "real people", it is well written and does not waver on biblical principals. There just wasn't anything in it that I couldn't get from my bible. I think it would be perfect for someone who is still trying to find their way around the bible.

    I hope that you check this book out and see for yourself!

    *I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I am not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Book Sneeze review

    Product Description
    Practical instruction for living a confident life in a world filled with chaos and crisis.

    In the New York Times bestseller What in the World Is Going On? Dr. David Jeremiah summarized ten prophetic clues that are coming true in our own generation. In light of these chaotic events, how can we continue to live a life of commitment and confidence? Looking through the lens of the same verses that speak of Christ's return, Dr. Jeremiah now points us to the habits we must establish that will form a pattern for living with certain hope in our uncertain times. They include how to stay:

    Centered in Christ
    Committed to the Word
    Compassionate toward others
    Connected to the church
    Consistent in your walk
    Calm in your heart
    Certain of His coming
    Confident in your faith

    About the Author
    Dr. David Jeremiah is the senior pastor of Shadow Mountain Community Church in El Cajon, California. He is the author of several best-selling books, and his popular syndicated radio and television Bible teaching program, Turning Point, is broadcast internationally. David and his wife, Donna, have four children and ten grandchildren.

    In this book the reader is challenged to stay compassionate, constructive, centered, and confident; living life with the guidance of God's Word. This is a book that I will read again, and this time, I will have the highlighters and pen out to take notes. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has issues dealing with stress in today's world.

    Please note that Thomas Nelson Publishing has provided me a complimentary copy of this book for my review; however, the opinions are my own. I have not been required to publish a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Good, if you can overlook the apocalyptic messages

    Disclosure: I am reviewing this book as a part of the booksneeze.com book review program.

    The economy is in a mess. People are losing their jobs, homes, and life savings. Violence is on the rise. Natural disasters seem to be stronger and faster. Morality is down. Dr. David Jeremiah aims to address how we should live in such troubling times.

    While he does a fantastic job of pointing to specific verses from the Bible on how we can "weather this storm with a calm heart," I often got the feeling that he was trying to scare the readers into thinking that the Apocalypse was upon us. Two examples:

    Just before Jesus Christ returns to earth, keeping the promise He made to His disciples, this troubling time will finally arrive. And, my friends, it's quite possible that we have entered the early stages of those events.

    And while writing about meteorological warfare:

    The last book of the Bible indicates that catastrophic disruptions in earth's meteorological patterns will wreak havoc on the world during the Great Tribulation.

    Maybe he's right. Maybe Christ is about to return, but I couldn't get past the idea that Dr. Jeremiah is just using scare tactics to sell a book. That said, he makes some very good points and gives Biblical examples about how we should live, regardless of whether the Apocalypse is upon us or not.

    Maybe I'm being oversensitive about the "Christ is about to return" message. Maybe I'm reading too much into it. I just don't think that Dr. Jeremiah has the authority to predict when Christ is returning. I do recommend reading this book for the overall message, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Thomas Nelson Review on Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World

    In these times where so many people are having difficulties in their lives, whether it be emotional, family, financial or any other issue, it is good to know and remind ourselves that God is here and He has a plan. He knows what is going on even when we feel we are spinning out of control. The Bible tells us all of these things if we look close enough. This book does remind the reader of this and also has some good stories of survival and dependence on God. I did not feel that there was really any specific advice on how we can apply this to our modern day life. I did find myself making myself read the entire book instead if being engrossed and not wanting to put it down. But overall, I feel it is a good book and has some great points and stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Modern problems addressed

    This is the first book I've read by Dr. David Jeremiah.

    I felt that Dr. Jeremiah was almost cheating the readers of this book by trying to simplify what we need to do to live with confidence in today's world until Christ returns. The subject matter and writing itself kept my interest but I was turned off by having everything I need to do start with the letter "C". Sometimes authors, especially self-help authors try to boil things down to simplistic terms when the world doesn't work that way.

    Here's the chapter titles:

    Stay Calm
    Stay Compassionate
    Stay Constructive
    Stay Challenged
    Stay Connected
    Stay Centered
    Stay Confident
    Stay Consistent
    Stay Committed
    Stay Convinced

    A part of me just felt like maybe if the author wasn't confined to the letter C that maybe the book could be more relevant and interesting to readers who are otherwise turned off by overly neat and tidy writing style. Where would the subject matter and stories presented in this book have gone if they didn't have to meet a letter C criteria?

    Although I had some issues with the neat format and use of alliteration in this book, all of the material presented in this book was interesting to me because it dealt with our modern issues of being a Christian while the world is changing more rapidly than ever. Those interested in trying to better understand how to deal with our modern problems should be able to take some sound advice from this book. I look forward to reading more by this author. But please, Dr. Jeremiah, leave the alliteration to children's poems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Living with Confidence

    The book claims to be "Practical instruction for living a confident life in a world filled with chaos and crisis" and contains lessons about re-connecting with God and his message, with particular emphasis on the current worldwide financial crises.

    The book did not really do a great deal for me. The theology was sound, if a little cliched, and the ideas were good. I just felt as if it was better suited as a series of sermons than a single written book. Take note as well that while the book is not exclusively for US citizens, the language shows is a definite prejudice that way. All the statistics are based on the US only, and the author refers to "we" as being US citizens.
    Read it and see what you think; take out some good ideas; but don't expect anything groundbreaking, unless you haven't read many other books of this kind in the last 10 years.

    (I reviewed this book as part of the Thomas Nelson : Book Review Bloggers Programme. )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Living with Confidence...

    What impresses me most about this book is its up to the minute, right now references to things and current events happening in the world. Sometimes it is hard for Christians to grasp someone like David Jeremiah discussing Twitter, but the relevance of this book makes it appealing to those suffering from the economic crisis we have today. This book gives hope to those who might have lost it in these tough times. Dr. Jeremiah shows Christians how to change their perspectives of the world, and to remember that this is not our final destination. We have another home, our true home, Heaven, waiting on us. Written in typical Southern Baptist sermon outline with alliterations galore, his concepts are simple but powerful, and thought provoking. This would make a great reference book for pastors in preparing sermon material, or for a Christian who needs an extra dose of hope for today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1