BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Living with Honor: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book

A story greatly detailed and makes you feel like you were there.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend!

If Sal is only a "mediocre" soldier, we should all strive for his version of mediocrity. This young man exemplifies what it is to be an American, and better yet, an Iowan. Makes me proud to be from the same state. I cannot imagine having the strength of character to ...
If Sal is only a "mediocre" soldier, we should all strive for his version of mediocrity. This young man exemplifies what it is to be an American, and better yet, an Iowan. Makes me proud to be from the same state. I cannot imagine having the strength of character to do what he was able to do. And he doesn't think he did anything special! His parents raised a great man.

posted by 4024146 on December 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    If Sal is only a "mediocre" soldier, we should all strive for his version of mediocrity. This young man exemplifies what it is to be an American, and better yet, an Iowan. Makes me proud to be from the same state. I cannot imagine having the strength of character to do what he was able to do. And he doesn't think he did anything special! His parents raised a great man.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Amazing book

    A story greatly detailed and makes you feel like you were there.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    As a Vietnam vet who also served in the 173rd "Herd,"

    As a Vietnam vet who also served in the 173rd "Herd," I was proud to see his valor recognized, and the brief TV clips rang true as he disavowed personal glory but emphasized the sadness and regret at losing buddies.....a loss that is never compensated by post-mortem honors.
     His non-stilted narrative accurately reflects the pride of serving as a paratrooper and the physical and mental hardening that is inevitable and indispensable to surviving in combat.   Also his analysis of the no-win dilemma of fighting with hands tied, allies untrustworthy, determined adversaries and unappreciative "beneficiaries" also is reminiscent of  Vietnam and prophetic of the later abandonment of the Korengal valley and ultimate withdrawal (bug-out) from the entire country.   Let us just hope we are spared video of the last troops desperately boarding helicopters on the Kabul embassy roof.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Outstanding: Read This Now

    This is an unvarnished account of the warrior culture that exists in combat and of the deep bonds formed among fighting men and women. It is rough and foul-mouthed and provides real insight into the combat experience for the rest of us back home. It helps us understand some of the difficulties soldiers face in returning to everyday life. And it highlights how much that understanding is needed by those returning to us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    Great stories and honorable tribute to fellow comrades. Writing

    Great stories and honorable tribute to fellow comrades. Writing is a bit rough to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Outstanding reading and book. Sal makes you feel like your one o

    Outstanding reading and book. Sal makes you feel like your one of his buddies who is relating his story of his time spent in Afghanistan. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    A sound look at life in today's military life and experiences! Told from the heart and mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    SPECIFICALLY AND ACCURATELY DESCRIBES THE LIFE OF A FRONT LINE AMERICAN SOLDIER IN IRAQ OR AFGHANISTAN.

    BOTTOM LINE IS THE GRUNT STILL HUMPS THE HILL AND ENCOUNTERS THE ENEMY IN BRUTAL, QUICK, FACE-TO-FACE COMBAT ACTIONS.

    IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR A "FANTASTIC TALE" OF THE COMBAT ACTION THAT PRECIPITATED THE AWARD OF THE MEDAL OF HONOR, YOU'LL NOT FIND IT HERE. GIUNTA MAKES A STATEMENT OF FACT ABOUT "ROCK AVALANCHE" BUT MINIMIZES HIS ROLE.

    HONEST, FIRST HAND ACCOUNT - WELL WORTH YOUR TIME TO READ IF YOU WANT TO GAIN INSIGHT INTO INFANTRY COMBAT ACTIONS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    If You've Ever Loved a Soldier, Read This!

    Giunta takes the reader into the survival mindset of a soldier in a combat zone where the enemy may be the person you're trying to help and danger can come from any direction. He presents a visceral account of the bonding that occurs when your life depends on someone else and his depends on you. He also offers a provocative insight into the dislocation experienced by men and women when they return from war and try to adjust. The author doesn't consider himself a hero, and he tells his story baldly, without hiding flaws or romanticizing the action or the people. The book is gritty and honest, laced with profanity, humor, and humanity. I highly recommend this to anyone who tries to understand the PTSD that our returning heroes face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    This book was well written and riveting. The men and women in our armed forces truly give all to defend this nation and our freedoms. It is a reminder that freedom is, indeed, not free. These men and women gladly put themselves in harm's way to protect our way of life and this republic. I am grateful to each of them and remember them daily in my prayers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Compelling story of the Afgan War and its effects on soldiers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Good

    It was very go

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1