Customer Reviews for

Living with the Dead (Women of the Otherworld Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Living With the Dead by Kelley Armstrong

    Now how do I rate Kelley Armstrong's latest in her 'Women of the Otherworld' series? "Living with the Dead" isn't about just one woman. In a lot of ways it's not even about one couple, it's really about two men, two women, a ghost, and the question of what is love.<BR/><BR/>Robyn is a woman who recently lost her love, her soulmate, to a senseless and stupid crime. She spends her time now just going through the motions of living and keeping a scrapbook about good samaritans who are killed for their deeds, furthering reinforcing the futility and stupidity of her husband's death. When, through no real fault of her own, she becomes embroiled in a battle between two supernatural factions in LA, she ends up running for her life with no idea of why she's become a target.<BR/><BR/>Hope is Robyn's best friend and she and her werewolf boyfriend Karl have come to LA to do a story, but really to check on Robyn. These two will have to use all their abilities (she's half demon) to keep Robyn alive long enough to figure out who's after her and why! Then we also have a cop necromancer thrown into the mix. And with Robyn's dead husband joining the search for Robyn and her pursuers, the mix is set.<BR/><BR/>If you're looking for a pure romance, don't look here. If you're looking for a mystery with paranormal elements, an unusual love story that will make you ponder what love is and is not, a story about when and how grief affects different people, and a story about just how whacked out some fringe groups can get...then really pick up "Living With the Dead". You may not exactly be smiling at the end of the book, but you will be panting for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    WOW

    I have no idea where the bad reviews came from, but this book is one of my favorites. It takes off on a run and sprints to the end. Very entertaining. If you are a fan of the series, this is not going to let you down at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    How irritating

    Awful. Main character was so annoying. Whole book stunk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    I had a hard time with this book and found it to be deeply distu

    I had a hard time with this book and found it to be deeply disturbing and dark. The villain is a sociopathic clairvoyant who is 19 years old. Everything she does is for her own desires and betterment, everyone else is expendable. She is ruthless and sick in her actions. She seduces a 16 year old disabled boy and his 15 year old brother and causes great pain where ever she goes. She doesn't care what she has to do or who she has to do it to, to get what she wants. The details are very disturbing.
    It is a page-turner, well-paced and never boring but the Point of View changes so frequently that I found it difficult to keep up with the characters, who they were and how they fell in the story.
    The end had way too much death and destruction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    If you like this series your going to enjoy this one as well. It deals with some of the lesser known chracters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Enjoyed the story, but it wasn't one of my favs in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Enjoyable Series

    I started these books as a relief from my other type of reading material. Throughly enjoyed the authors style and the story lines, became hooked and purchased all of the books within a month! I have pre-ordered the new one and am waiting patiently!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Superb

    Another GREAT book from Kelley Armstrong. Each novel give a better look into the lives of characters. Here is a much better glimpse into the lives of Hope Adams and Karl Marsten. A twisting tell of who "actually" did it?!? New characters and supernatural powers are discovered in between the pages here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Not+a+favorite

    I+love+the+series+and+was+unable+to+put+any+of+her+books+down%2C+until+now.+I+had+a+hard+time+getting+into+this+book+and+the+ending%2C+though+good%2C+wasnt+enough+to+make+up+for+the+hours+of+boredom+trying+to+finish+it.+I+hope+the+next+one+is+back+to+her+normally+fantastic+standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    great read

    Continuing in her otherworld series. This book has a few twists added to it's scifi type mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Armstrong lives up to her rep!

    i just finished this book and its very good. i couldnt put it down but since i started the series i havent been able to put any of her books down. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    The Dud =(

    I suppose every writer just like every actor has a flop well this was Kelley Armstrong's fail. I had to force myself to sit a read this book, it was a struggle and I absolutely love the Women of the Otherworld series I have them all. I don't even wait until the newest book comes out in paperback that is how big of a fan I am, so saying that this book was a huge dud is not only truthful and sad but disappointing in the extreme, yeah it picks up at the VERY end but really to drag things out like she did was just well, boring as all get out. If I was scared to by her next book this one was so bad but thankfully Frostbitten ROCKED. That being said I'll never re-read this book like I normally do with my favorites, this one if you must read I would borrow it from a friend or go to the library and rent it don't bother to buy it, seriously save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Check out this wonderful Series!!!!

    I've enjoyed every book so far, can't wait to purchase Frostbitten, Waking the Witch, Men of the Otherworld and Women of the Otherworld. I love all the wonderful characters: Clay, Elena, Jeremy, Jamie, Savannah, Adam, Paige, Lucas, Eve, Kris, Anthony, Toni, Hope, Karl, Finn and Robyn. It's refreshing to have each book hone in on each character's lives, their struggles, love and aspirations. Hopefully Waking the Witch isn't the final chapter in this great series. There has to be more going on with all of the main characters. Elena and Clay opened this world to me and each book brought in two to three more characters that I love. No spoilers here, you need to pick up this complete series and be amazed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Read in the Urban Fantasy Genre

    I snatch up Kelley Armstrong's books in Women of the Otherworld series as soon as they come out. I'm always confident I'm going to have an engrossing and entertaining read, and this book is no exception. It's a departure from the other novels. Almost all the other books are written from a female first person point of view: though each book tends to have different narrators--a werewolf, a witch, an angel, a necromancer. This book is written in third person though and the perspective is shared between different characters, though this book, like the previous book, "Personal Demon," does center around Hope Adams, a half-demon who has to struggle with her nature in a way others in Armstrong's world are spared. I think that makes Hope among the most interesting of Armstrong's heroines, and like her other books this was an engrossing and entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worst of the Series

    I hated the new writing style.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    One of my favs

    I wasn't too sure about this one, especially the writing style, but I have to say, this is one of my favorites in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    Not my favorite, but worth the read.

    I really like Kelley Armstrong's serious Women of the Otherworld. This book, however, got a little to confusing at times. It switched back and forth between characters too much or else there were too many character's point of view used. I didn't think I was going to be happy at the end but leave it to this writer to both find a way to end a story yet leave you knowing there's more to come. I've come to like the relationship between Hope and Karl. It gives you a different look into the lives of the Warewolves. And how Kelley Armstrong keeps coming up with new supernaturals is great. It's like a going for a journey and finding new roads to go down and explore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Great read!

    This is a great addition to this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    I acually liked it

    well when i read the reviews from everyone else i really wasnt lookin foward to reading the book but then i read it and i actually really liked it!not as good as the other books but good.the only thing i reall didnt like about it was all the different point of views i think about 5 different point of views adele's,robyn,finn,hope,and colm.but you get used to the point of views.but what i liked was the end the best that i couldnt stop reading! :]]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12