Customer Reviews for

Lizz Free or Die

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    I bought this book after hearing Liz speak at Barnes and Nobles

    I bought this book after hearing Liz speak at Barnes and Nobles in Tribeca. I fell upon it. Needless to say 48 hours after hearing her, I've finished the book. I don't write reviews often but felt I needed to share in hopes others would also pick it up. I read it cover to cover and could not put it down. It had me from the start, scenes of her surrounded by babies and mid-western women in mumus doing nothing but gossiping about husbands and having babies. I love that Barbie with her houses and cars became Lizz's idea of freedom. No mumus. No babies. Life. Freedom.

    I'm a sucker for a good memoir, but this is really a mix of a hysterical read combined with a true heart touching story of how a woman discovers who she is. If you want a fabulous read that will not only make you laugh but inspire, look no further.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Fans of her comedy know Lizz Winstead possesses a sharp, importa

    Fans of her comedy know Lizz Winstead possesses a sharp, important and intriguing voice. "Lizz Free Or Die" proves the co-creator of "The Daily Show" has the writing chops to match. This collection of "messays" (her word) are always compelling, most times funny and occasionally poignant. As an added bonus, Winstead employs a personal vocabulary that is sure to be adopted by anyone intelligent to borrow it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    One of my favorite memoirs in years

    I know this book by Lizz Winstead says it's not a memoir but rather a "collection of essays." But the essays have been assembled in such a manner as to tell a funny, moving and well-rounded story of Winstead's life and that of her family.

    Some essays, like the one about her dogs, had me laughing out loud. Others, while still funny, were also more politically insightful, or in the case of the essay about her co-creation of "The Daily Show," were historically fascinating for any fan of TV, or of that show's amazing effect on our national discourse.

    And throughout, every chapter features the Midwestern bon mots of Winstead and her family; both of her parents are hilarious characters, exhibiting an amazing wit that is so simple and elegant in its construction, I liked rereading their comments and laughing anew each time.

    I thoroughly recommend "Lizz Free or Die." For anyone who's fascinated by comedy or politics -- or just grew up with a maddening yet loving family, it's a must.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Review update

    Earlier I posted a one star review, reporting this book as "boring" as of page 23. Well, I'm now on page 100 and it' s definitely NOT boring! I love it and you will too! (Hey, a person can change their mind!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    This book made my wife and I laugh out loud numerous times. It's

    This book made my wife and I laugh out loud numerous times. It's hilarious and brutally honest. The author spares no one from her scathing (yet insightful) wit, least of all herself. Anyone looking for a book from which they'll walk away feeling as if they just gained a whole other lifetime's worth of knowledge without having to go through it on their own... will love this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Comedian/TV producer/performer/Renaissance Woman Lizz Winstead's

    Comedian/TV producer/performer/Renaissance Woman Lizz Winstead's first collection of essays is laugh-out-loud funny, incisive, tender, laugh-out-loud funny, riveting, honest, biting and laugh-out-loud funny, and kind of makes me wish I had grown up in Minneapolis. It is a wonderful introduction to those who haven't had the opportunity to witness Lizz's humor firsthand. I can't wait for Volume II! Go buy this book STAT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    T Kitty

    I love this book so much i read it four times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Reviewed by ONLY GOOD BOOKS: As I was reading LIZZ FREE OR DIE

    Reviewed by ONLY GOOD BOOKS: As I was reading LIZZ FREE OR DIE last
    night and this morning, laughing hysterically to the point that I had to
    blow my nose several times, I kept thinking, How lucky I am to have the
    kind of work that gives me the time to read books like this. Lizz
    Winstead, a comedian who was co-creator and head writer of The Daily
    Show and one of the founders of Air America Radio, delivers her
    “messays” (essays that are not quite a memoir, but “a collection of
    stories that put my somewhat complicated life into perspective—or at
    least a kind of perspective”) with honesty and comic panache, and her
    insights about being a woman in a field dominated by men kept me turning
    pages well into the night. Here are a few things that stuck with me:1)
    people who dismissed her actually inspired her; 2) she has worked very
    hard and eaten lots of Ramen noodles; 3) when she realized she would not
    run out of ideas, that feeling liberated her. In short, she’s an
    inspiration to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Hilarious and heartbreaking. A truly great read. What is next L

    Hilarious and heartbreaking. A truly great read. What is next Lizz? Bring it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Cats

    Hello
    Rivertalon

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Jaykit

    Scurried thogh a tiny hole in the tree.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Wonderful

    What a refreshing writer. She touches emotional chords with love and humor. I do a lot of reading on my bus ride to and from work and laughed out loud more times than I can count. I'm sure people on the bus think I'm insane. Thanks Lizz, not often someone can make me lose my composure like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    If you are a fan of Lizz Winstead, you will hear her voice clear

    If you are a fan of Lizz Winstead, you will hear her voice clearly in this book. She writes the way she talks, with brutal honesty and biting humor. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You'll laugh til you cry!!!

    review Made me laugh and it made me cry. Just a wonderful book by an amazing woman!! I highly recommend checking it out.






    Critical thinking, Family, Women's issues, The Daily Show, Air America Radio, Contemporary genius

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Very funny, easy read. If you grew up Catholic in Minneapolis o

    Very funny, easy read. If you grew up Catholic in Minneapolis or a surrounding suburb, YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK. Even if you didn't it will make you laugh and cry. My favorite chapter is Two Dogs and a Cup. If anyone has had to deal with health or behavior issues with their pets, they will love her inventive way of getting a specimen sample.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1